Taste and See that the Lord is Good!

As of 8:15pm there were 3,402 views of Chris’ blog. Amazing! The most views in one day ever for the best Brother, Husband, Dad and Son we know! We thank you for all your prayers!  We are feeling them and they have been answered! Praise be to God that Chris made it through the night and all of today.  He rests easier tonight than last night.  His breathing is consistent and stable which is a large change from last evening and overnight.

He has been able to communicate more in the past 6 hours than the previous 20. Some of the family will be staying again tonight. We expect that with all these prayers he will make it through the night and hope that he will be blessed with at least another few days with us. Chris won’t let his independence go! He keeps swinging his legs over and tries to jump out of bed. We keep putting him back in. I outweigh him now so he better watch out!

Psalm 34:8

8 Taste and see that the LORD is good;
blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.

Thanks Kathy (Caffy) for the verse. If you have spent any time with Chris recently he has probably said something similar to this verse. I know my sister Jen made a life changing commitment on Wednesday due to a conversation with Chris. Love you Jen! He would like everyone to taste and see that the LORD is good. Chris will be blessed in Heaven for how handled and witnessed with the life he lived. He would ask that you to try it too.

Love to all of you,

Dave on behalf of the Baty/Stratton Family

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Taste and See that the Lord is Good!

  1. Jeannie

    Every time it seems like “this must be it” it’s not it. I’m so happy Chris is still with us to awake to another day. Where there’s life there’s hope, even though sometimes it’s just a shred. Please give Chris my love and a big hug. Love and thanks to the family for keeping the blog updated so beautifully too. Prayers for a better day tomorrow!

  2. Anonymous

    Lord, it’s You who has brought me to this day
    Who has carried and kept me in Your care
    I look back and I see you in all my years
    And so forward I go, knowing You are there

    May my feet never stumble and never stray
    Nor grow weary upon this rocky road
    For the path I am on is a narrow way
    But I know You are with me so on I go

    May my eyes ever fixed on Your kingdom be
    As my heart every longs for Joy to come
    For my hope is in things I cannot see
    But because of Your promise, I press on

    Christ before me to guide me on my way
    Christ beside me so I am not alone
    Christ within me to give me words to say
    Christ behind me to bring the harvest home

    May each word from my lips be a song of good news
    Every touch of my hand a gift of grace
    Every beat of my heart be a prayer to You
    And the sum of my days be a life of praise

  3. David & Michelle

    We will continue to pray for him. I know he is so blessed to have all of you come together for him and to have all the most loyal friends.
    With all our Love and prayers
    David, Michelle and Liz Rinkey

  4. Randy & Kelli

    Thanks for the update Dave. We are praying that Chris feels well enough to communicate anything else he wants or needs to say. Jake wants us to tell Brenden and Jaxson that he is very sad for them and is thinking about them (the letters to heaven were too much for him too, I think). We are also praying that you guys are holding up okay down there. It’s been a tough couple weeks for everyone, and much more so for the immediate family. So hang in there Batys, Strattons, and Priems.

    Love

  5. Jeanie Johnson

    This is going to be long but I think it is the sum total of the life the Chris has lead….it was written by Roy Lessin it’s titled “The Servant’s Reward”
    One day, when you are in heaven, someone will come up to you and thank you for the way you touched their life with hope and encouragement. The person’s words will take you by surprise. Soon another person will seek you out, then another and another.
    As you listen to each one’s story, you will begin to discover all the ways that God used your life when you were completely unaware of it. You wll find that it was not only the big things you did, but also through the small things–through a spoken word that was not planned, a spontaneous act of kindness, a loving attitude, or a simple prayer of concern.
    To your joy, you will discover that in all these ways and more, God used you to deposit an eternal measure of His love into many needy hearts.
    Love you Chris – Jeanie (Gina’s Mom)

  6. Kaci Callens

    We keep praying for you uncle Chris, We Love you.
    Kaci

  7. Vicki Starbeck

    Love and prayers to all the Baty/Stratton family. Chris is such an amazing man, that it doesn’t surprise me that he’s waiting for everyone to make a life changing commitment before his time on earth is done. I believe the Lord is giving him extra time to take care of this! I continue to pray for peace and healing for Chris in whatever way the Lord wants to do that. Be blessed, family. BE STILL AND KNOW I AM GOD …..

  8. Pat Trautman

    My sentiments are so much the same as all those written above. God is still using Chris. And yes there is still hope, not just for Chris, but each and every one of us that are checking this blog. Christ is the giver of all hope, and He knows the number of all our days. May each member of Chris’ family and his friends, be used by God in the days to come, that Chris’ legacy will never die, but be extended to all we come into contact with. I pray for peace for each one now, and boldness in days to come to extend God’s love as Chris has done. You all are in my prayers for whatever healing that needs to be done. God is holding each one of you in the palm of His hands. He will never leave you. Keep clinging to Him. Blessings to each and every one of you.

  9. PAT

    CHRIS continues to fill the unforgiving minute /With sixty seconds worth of distance run!! TAKE PEACE IN JOUSHUA 1:9 CHIRS HAS LONG BELIEVED THIS VERSE & LIVED IT THROUGH OUT HIS JOURNEY!

  10. Cheryl Stainer

    AWESOME!!!! I am praising God right along with the angels for Jen! Thank you Holy Spirit for moving in her life. I pray that you would give Chris more opportunities to share his faith and your love with others.

    So thankful to hear that Chris is doing a little better. We are continuing to lift the whole Stratton and Baty families to the Lord. We know that you are doing emotional gymnastics and struggling to process and cherish everything going on in your lives at this time.

    Sincerely,

    Cheryl Stainer

Leave a Reply

