Battle #1 Complete

Believe it or not I finally made it home.  It took 8 days and 3 hours for me to complete step 1 of this journey, but I will mark it down as a win for me.  I arrived home at 2 p.m. today.  Thank you so much for all the prayers, comments, cards, visits and gifts.  It really is amazing all of the love everyone is showing myself and my family-Karen and I overwhelmed with gratitude and emotion.  I am so thankful to be back home.

The overall plan was for me to leave Sunday night or Monday morning at the latest, however set-backs happened several times.  First the surgery didn’t go as planned.  I had a distended bowel and part of my colon had looped and grafted to itself.  Second due to all the extra cutting, my pain was much higher than they expected.  Third I reacted poorly to the Vicodin on several occasions.  It was constant choice on my part to try and guess if I wanted to handle the pain or the side effects of the drugs.  Another part that didn’t go as planned was he couldn’t biopsy the liver due to all the extra surgery.  He visually located one tumor on the liver and was pleased that it had not sunk into the liver.  I guess that makes me a confirmed “visual” stage 4 cancer patient.

Due to all the setbacks it took a lot longer than I was mentally ready for.  In the end I came to peace with it, but it was a mental tear down at times.  I still have a lot of healing to do over then next couple weeks before the chemo treatments begin.  As Dr. Belzer said “a tear would e devastating to you”.  2% of his surgeries end up with tears or leaks in the stitching.  If that happens I will get terribly sick and will need another emergency surgery to repair the leak and then the process will start over again further delaying the chemo treatments.  So for now it is a lot of rest, small movements and small meals.

I need to give a special thanks to the ownership, General Manager and Pictura employees for the gift of 4 weeks of PTO.  I had only earned 2 weeks on my own but during my last few hours of work last week I got a call from Paul explaining the gift.  That has to go down as the best gift I have ever received-yes it even beats the 81 Berlinetta Camero my Dad got me in 1986, and that is saying a lot!

Believe it or not I am in a cold sweat right now and need to lay down-not much for stamina yet.  I or Karen will update the blog and my progress soon.

Good night and God bless,

Chris

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Battle #1 Complete

  1. Todd Welch

    Keep the blog posts coming Chris, we’re checking them daily. Marissa ends her prayers every night with a special prayer for you. Steve and I will be over on Saturday to play the Wii, I mean, keep you company. 🙂

  2. Aunt Val & Uncle Eli

    Congratulations!! We’re happy to hear you are home with your family. Chris, you’ve always been very special. You and your family are in our prayers. I also check the blog everyday to check on your progress. Thank you Chris, Karen, and Sarah for keeping us informed. Be sure to get lots of rest in between the ‘Wii’ games.

    God Bless you with his healing power.
    We Love You.

  3. Jon and Cindy Ness

    So glad you’re home, Chris. Jon and I are praying day in and day out for your complete healing. Be patient with your healing and remember that it is God’s timing. Something we were told and kept us going with Noah is, every day the doctors have a wish list of steps forward and plan on also having steps backward. They said slow progress is still forward progress – count those days as blessings.
    If there is anything we can do from a distance, let us know.

  4. karla summers

    Hi Chris,
    I am happy to hear ur home again, sounds like ur lil guys really missed u and I’m sure Karen too. Sorry to hear it was a rough surgery and the pain was so bad, hope u are feelin’ better. U and ur family are in my prayers. U got a Wii, lucky duck !!! I check ur site everynite before bed, so keep in touch.

    God bless and hope u sleep well
    Karla

  5. Marian Sandell

    Thankful that you made it home–you’ve only been to my house once, but I love your mother, Karen, deeply–and have been very concerned about you, so have been following yor progress every day. Also, I was a nurse in this field and have seen many patients recover fully from this type of operation–so my best to you, and you have been in my prayers, also.

  6. Pat Groeper

    Chris, congratulations! We are so thrilled and thankful to have you home. Home is where the true healing will began both physically and emotoinally. You will need to sit quietly and listen to the voice that whispers to you of wellness,of comfort,of love of friends both (new and old) and family and of our LORD. Perhaps strength doesn’t reside in having never been broken but in the courage required to grow strong in the broken places . Chris, as you go along on this new journeyThe Lord is with you everystep of the way he is working through all of the incredible pleople that surround you and are there for you every step of the way. Keep reaching out to all that want to be on your journey because this is the Lords way of of bring you through this journey! Whising you and your entire family the light of God’s warnthand love to surround you everydaynad confort all of you with his healing! LOVE and PrayerPat

  7. Bob Fallen

    Congrats on the arrival back home, Chris. Just remember, you’re still the patient so rest as much as you can and build up your strength. Besides, now you have an excuse for laying around all day completely ignoring yard work and other chores. Your illness is going to be a long war, but your arrival home signals a battle victory. Keep fighting.

  8. Chris Manor

    Chris,

    Great to hear you are back home!! Good luck with your recovery. I am through the Cities just about every day, so if you or Karen need anything, nust let me know. I know that you have had a lot of offers, but use me to run errands or things like that. You have a great family and from the replies that I have seen, great friends too. Let us help — it will speed your recovery. We will keep you in our prayers.

    Chris

  9. Beth Gould

    I am so glad that you are home. I hope you will get good rest so you can be on the road to recovery as quick as possible. Tim and I are thinking of you every day and saying a prayer. Lot’s of love and hugs from us!! We miss you and your smiling face very much, when you are better we want to stop and see you.

    XO!

  10. Paula Pilrose

    Hey Chris,
    Wanted to add my best wishes too. Like Bob said, remember you are the patient, so be patient with yourself! We’re all thinking and praying for you so just take it slow and easy and get better!
    Thanks to your wife and family for keeping up this blog, really helps for us to be able to follow your progress.

  11. Dawn Heller

    I worked with Dr B last night and he told me he had sprung you. Congrats!! Home is the best place to heal. Rest up and enjoy your time before the next battle. Dr B tells me you men need a little extra TLC after surgery. It looks like you will be getting lots of that in the next few weeks.
    Take care and let me know if you need anything else. We will be thinking and praying for you.

Leave a Reply

