“And now a word from our sponsor”

Can’t get enough about cancer?  Feel free to read on about the “sponsor” of this blog.

Last Friday night during my latest chemo battle I watched the “Stand Up To Cancer” special on all of the three big TV networks.  It was a Jerry Lewis style telethon packed into a one hour time slot.  It was an aggressive fund raising campaign that was filled with an A-List actors/actresses/musicians.  There was a live proctal exam, a taped delayed mammogram, part of a tape delayed Colonoscopy of the famous (or infamous, depending on your perspective) basketball player-Charles Barclay. My favorite line from the whole show was, “I can’t believe Fox decided to try and program against this.”  I didn’t get to see it in its entirety but here are a few facts I picked up from the show and other places this week:

  • Colon Cancer effects 1 in 6 American Men.
  • 1 in 8 American Women are diagnosed with Breast Cancer each year.
  • Genetic Susceptibility accounts for less than 5% of Colon Cancer patients (I just happened to be one of those lucky one’s who fell into that 5%).
  • 4000 people die from Cancer each day.
  • More Americans die each year from Cancer then World War 1 and World War 2…Combined!
  • There are 12 million cancer survivors living in the U.S. right now.
  • 90% of the people diagnosed with Colon Cancer are over the age of 50.

If you want to take a look at the website from the show, here is the link:  http://su2c.standup2cancer.org/

Colon cancer is Preventable, Treatable and Beatable so go out and get your Colonoscopy now!  I know of 10 different people who, since my diagnosis, have gone in and/or are going in to have their colonoscopy done.  I am happy to report that none of them have had anything but a couple/few benign polyps removed.  You know the old saying, “misery loves company”-not applicable in the cancer world.   I would love for no one else to get sick from this disease.  It turns my stomach each time I hear about someone’s recent diagnosis or battle.  If you haven’t been checked, do it.  If you are over the age of 50 it is routine, recommended and you need to get it done.  If you are younger than 50 you need to sell your case to your doctor on why you need it done.  In some instances the doctors have given in right away and signed off on it, others have been refused.  You need to be persistent.

Enough about the sponsor(cancer) of this blog.  I have worked over 9 hours each day of the past 3 days and have been feeling good.  Hopefully the rest of the week goes as well as the first part has gone.  Football season finally made it back so all is well.

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to ““And now a word from our sponsor”

  1. Beth Gould

    I was with some people from Pictura last night for dinner and we were talking about you a lot. We were talking how strong you are, what an up beat person you are and what an inspiration you are to everyone you know. You are truly an amazing person and I admire you strength, witty sense of humor and your love for life. Thinking of you today and always! Much love!

  2. Aunt Val & Uncle Eli

    Good Morning Karen, Chris, and lil’ Guys,
    I check your blog daily. I not only enjoy reading how you are doing, but also your stories that you have for us, like this one ‘and now a word from our sponsor’. It’s great. You are right, every time that I hear of someone diagnosed with cancer, my heart goes right to my toes. I am thankful to say that Eli is now one of those 12 million cancer survivors. He is 9 months cancer free, and the port comes out next Wednesday.
    Keep up the great attitude and make sure you get all the rest you need. If there is anything we can do for you and your family, please let us know.

  3. Jane from HomeForce

    Just recently heard of your illness… though I know that is too mild a word for what you are going through. Fervent prayers are being offered for you and your family. I so enjoyed working with you at Varsity and still am sad that you left us. I always appreciated your conscientiousness, wit, knowledge and friendliness. You made it fun to come in and get work. I wish you great strength and comfort as you battle this horrible enemy. God bless you and your wonderful family.

Leave a Reply

