40 Years Young

Today is my big 40th birthday.  Maybe 4 months ago this would have meant something, but cancer has a funny way of putting things into perspective.  We had a quiet day and night at home.  Karen’s sister and brother-in-law were awesome enough to take the boys for a few hours.   Karen and I got a nice dinner and a chance to really express how the last 3 weeks beat us down.  It was time for that long overdue conversation, needless to say there were plenty of tears.  Right now I am feeling pretty good and I told Karen there was no stopping me.  I talked the doctors into getting me off 1 of the drugs they sent me home with.  I was having lots of side effects and it was delaying my healing.  Every few hours I feel a little better and my strength is coming back quicker than I thought.  Praise God!

Beware everyone this 40 year old is coming back physically and mentally stronger than before!

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “40 Years Young

  1. Miriam Ring

    Happy Birthday Chris! I am so thankful to hear you are home now. Please know that you have a lot of people holding you and your family in prayer, and what awesome support that can be.
    Peace,
    Miriam

  2. Pat Groeper

    CHRIS,
    I USE TO THINK THAT LIFE WAS HILL AND VALLEYS- YOU GO THROUGH THE DARK TIMES AND THEN YOU GO TO THE MOUNTAINTOP , BACK AND FORTH. I DON’T BELIEVE THAT ANYMORE RATHER THAN LIFE BEING HILLS AND VALLEYS, I BELIEVE THAT IT’S KIND OF LIKE TWO RAIL S ON A RAILROAD TRACK, AND AT ALL TIMES YOU HAVE SOMETIMG GOOD (YOUR FAMILY, FRIENDS) FOR WHICH YOU CAN THANK GOD.!! AND SOMETHING BAD IN YOUR LIFE (CANCER). YOU HAVE TO LEARN TO DEAL WITH BOTH THE GOOD AND THE BAD OF LIFE.
    CHRIS , YOU HAVE DONE JUST THAT!! PRAISE GOD FROM WHO ALL BLESSINGS FLOW!
    HAPPY MOMENTS – PRAISE GOD
    DIFFCULT MOMENTS – SEEK GOD
    QUIET MOMENTS – WORSHIP GOD
    PAINFUL MOMENTS – TRUST GOD
    EVERY MOMENT – THANK GOD

  3. Beth Gould

    Your strength is amazing. You have been through more that any one person should endure. I am so glad that you are home and that you are your road to real recovery. I am also so glad that you and your wife had some time alone to talk and be yourself. That must have been so wonderful after all those day’s in the hospital. It is amazing how the most simple things in life are the most beautiful. You have such a great support system and so many people that love you and are praying for you. I have called on all of my troops so you have many that you do not even know praying for your recovery. I know how draining this has been for you. Like I said, your strength is amazing. You truly are an inspiration to everyone. Continue to get some good rest! Much love!

Leave a Reply

