It’s what’s on the inside that counts

I got to view my latest scan this past Friday, and things are significantly different vs. Sept. 2nd.  My Dec. 15th scan showed major changes.  I would estimate that 40-50% of the tumor coverage has disappeared.  Praise God all of your prayers are working!  On July 8th Dr. Belzer reviewed the original scan and told my Dad, Dianne(mother-in-law) and myself that my Stage 4 colon cancer could be incureable.  Since that time hundreds of people have praying for me and over me and here I stand today with no cancer in the colon and almost 50% of it gone from my liver.  I still have a long ways to go but I wanted to tell everyone the good news and celebrate a little with all of you today.

The tentative plan moving forward…My oncologist recommends that I meet with my liver surgeon within the next two weeks.  He feels that the surgeon may want to set up a surgery date around the first week of February to remove the remaining tumors.  Also there is a chance that they will use a procedure called radiation abalation during the surgery.  Radiation abalation is a procedure in which they put little needles into tumors or areas where cancer tumors used to be and then microwave the cells killing them.  This is all very tentative as I haven’t met with this surgeon since last July and he needs to assess how successful he can be once he opens me up.

Why not stick with the chemo vs. doing yet another surgery, you might ask.  Surgeons feel like their most successful tool in fighting cancer is cutting out anything that has been touched by the disease.  Also if the surgeon opens you up they get to visually see exactly what is going on inside your body vs. relying on a scan.  Lastly, chemo can have some permanent side effects.  Every two weeks I lose some feeling in my fingers.  If the fingers get cold they sting and hurt until I get them heated up again.  That loss of feeling can become permanent if you are on some of the chemo drugs too long.  I have been blessed that I have been able to ride these drugs out so far.

So I maybe adding some more scars to my abdomen in the near future and that is probably a good thing.  I am really torn on being excited for another hospital stay.  It seems every time I get in the hospital I struggle to get back out.  More scars for Jaxson to worry about on me.  I’ll have to teach him it’s what’s on the inside that counts-especially when it comes to cancer patients.  Hard to explain all of this to a 4 and 6 year old.

I want to leave you with a small bit of a poem written by Terry Esau from his book “Surprise Me”.  The poem is a dialogue between two guys.

You like the danger of walking in storms?

Life is a storm.

So you just walk straight through it?

If I wouldn’t, it would walk through me.

In His Grip,

Chris

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It’s what’s on the inside that counts

  1. Loren Schomaker

    Hi Chris
    Happy New year.
    I will get into the office sometime soon, looking forward to seeing you.
    Loren

  2. Pat Groeper

    CHRIS AND FAMILY,
    THANK YOU FOR TAKING ALL OF US ON THIS MOST BLESSED JOURNEY WITH YOU. WE ARE NOW ALL PIECES OF YOUR LIFE AND ALL SPIRITUALY CONNECTED THROUGH YOU. WHAT A BLESSING FOR ALL OF US!!!!!!
    “CARRY EACH OTHER’S BURDENS, AND IN THIS WAY YOU WILL FULFILL THE LAW OF CHRIST.”
    CHRIS,TO HAVE HAD YOUR FACE PRESSED RIGHT UP AGAINST THE GLASS OF YOUR OWN MORTALITY WITH THE COURAGE AND GRACE THAT YOU HAVE IS TRUELY A STORY OF EXTREME INSPIRATION AND BLESSINGS.
    MAY THE STRENGTH OF BODY AND SPRIT BE ALL OF OUR BIGGEST BLESSING FOR THE THE NEW YEAR!!!

  3. Lisa Coleman

    Chris,
    We heard about your cancer from Randy. Just a quick note to tell you we are thinking of you and praying for you (well, Brad is not a pray-er, so I’m praying twice as hard :)). Happy new year!

    Love,
    Lisa Coleman

  4. Andrew

    Chris,

    HAPPY NEW YEAR! – so far anyway!
    Glad to hear things slowly looking upward.

    I hang out with another close friend quite often who is also battling something similar. She complains about the fingers going numb and turning white once in a while as well. Keeping them warmed with a heat pad or a hot mug of coffee/cocoa/water seems to help.

    Count a few more prayers heading your way from this end.

    Cheers!
    -Andrew

Leave a Reply

