It’s never easy

So I met the Liver Surgeon today-Dr. Sielaff.  Dr. Sielaff was recommended to me from another surgeon who said that if he had what I had, this was the guy that he would want working on him.

It looks like I will probably have a Liver Surgery, but it does come with some reservations(I will explain the “probably” down below).  The 7 tumors that I have left are still located on multiple areas of the liver.  The hope was that the chemo would have killed off all the tumors either on the right or left lobe-no such luck.  For the surgery to be successful the surgeon will have to cut the left lobe off (it has the biggest tumor left).  He then will have to make wedge cuts and cut off the remaining tumors.  He then will radiate any remaining areas he cannot cut.   He summarized all this by saying, “We are pushing the envelope with this surgery and it will be difficult”.  Basically it means my liver just makes it inside the boundaries of him feeling he can be successful. He pointed out that the other patient we saw in the waiting room had almost the exact same diagnosis/procedure and it was successful.  Ready for the kicker?  He said that my liver and gall bladder  have a congenital defect.  Haven’t I heard this before?  That is what Dr. Belzer said about my Colon.  Also that is what they told my Mom when I was born with a pyloric valve that didn’t open and I had my first surgery when I was a newborn.   My liver is shaped weird because it is intersected by the gall bladder.  The doctor said it has no effect on how I daily function, but it will effect what he does during surgery.

Earlier I said I will probably have surgery.  The doctor ordered two more scans be done before we move forward.  The first scan, called a PET, is similar to a CT scan but seems to do a better job of detecting cancer cells.  If the scan picks up signs of cancer anywhere else, then we won’t do surgery and just continue on with chemo.  During my two colon surgeries and my 3 CT scans they haven’t seen any other signs of cancer anywhere else.   The second scan is a similar to the others I have had done, but this scan further breaks down how my gall bladder and liver function together.  I can’t remember the name of that scan but it will further help the doctor be prepared for surgery.

So we are moving forward.  No chemo for now in preparation for the scans and surgery.   The two scans I need done will be in the next 3 weeks.  They want to wait 4 weeks since my last chemo treatment(Dec. 26th) before they do the scans.  We should have the scan results a day after the scan is performed and then if everything checks out,  they will schedule a surgery about two weeks later.

I guess it is just never going to be easy with me and this battle.  No problem. I am up for it and won’t lose.  After all,  I have all of you on my side wishing me good thoughts and praying for me.

Thank you for taking the time to read, pray  and walk this journey with me and my family.

Chris

p.s.   Next post-let’s talk about this Colon Cancer fundraiser thing that is coming up april 19th.  I need to ask Sarah if we can bet on this 5K race thing?  All my money is on Nathan (thanks again for running in my honor last Fall).

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It’s never easy

  1. Beth Gould

    Thinking of you! Stay as strong as you have been! Everyone is behind you. Much love!

  2. Pat Groeper

    CHRIS,KAREN AND BOYS,
    WE ARE ALL HERE PRAYING AS HARD AS EVER AND MOST IMPORTANT GOD IS RIGHT THERE WITH YOU!
    AS ALWAYS YOU KEEP INSPIRING US ALL! SOME TIMES WE HAVE HAD WHIP LASH FROM THE CURVES ON YOUR JOURNEY BUT NONE THAT YOU HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO WITH STAND AND YOU WILL WITH STAND THIS ONE TOO. AND WE ARE ALL RIGHT HERE A CALL AWAY OR AND E-MAIL .WE ARE ALL SENDING HUGS AND PRAYERS TO YOU,KAREN AND THE BOYS.

  3. Andrew

    3 weeks here, 2 weeks there. Long intervals of just waiting around huh? Well, more time for thoughts and prayers to take effect. Plus the sheer volume of them will go up.

    Here’s a few more.

    PS – did you ever get around to watching any of the DVDs I sent you? The Firefly one is kick ass. Hope you liked it. Can I say “kick ass” on this forum? I guess I just did….

    twice.

  4. Jon Opsal

    Chris, it’s been a little while since I’ve checked in with you. I wanted to let you know that you and your family are in our prayers – stay strong and positive

Leave a Reply

