Quick Update

I met with Dr. Duane and we went over the game plan moving forward.   Dr. Duane was very happy to see that Dr. Sielaff  accepted me as his patient and agreed to do surgery on me-pending my PET Scan.  The plan is to have an MRI at Methodist on Jan. 23rd to get a better view of my liver and gall bladder so Dr. Sielaff will have no surprises during surgery.   Jan. 29th I will have my PET scan done to make sure there is no cancer elsewhere in my body.  If the PET scan only shows cancer in/on the liver then he will go through with the surgery.  I am going to call Dr. Sielaff tomorrow to see if they want to pencil my surgery date in, now that my scans have been scheduled.  Again, if I am “lucky” enough to have surgery it will be during the latter half of February.  They said I would be in the hospital for 5-7 days after the surgery(in my world probably closer to 10-14 days) and then 4-6 weeks recovery time.  The nurse said that she was guessing that I could probably handle going back to work part time about 3 weeks after my surgery.  The only restriction I will have is not lifting anything over 10 lbs. for the first 6 weeks.

“Get Your Rear in Gear”, April 19th is the day of the event.  Team Baty Sisu already has raised over $500 and has more than a dozen people already signed up.  If you want to join us you can choose to walk or run the 5K.  I will be in the walking group as I doubt my body will be ready for any type of running at that time.  The cost for signing up for the event is around $25.  On January 26th they have a kick off meeting that Sarah and I will be attending.   You can start raising money now just by directing people to the fundraising link on the side of this page.  The kickoff event, I believe, is open to anyone who wants to attend-you may have gotten an email if you have already sigend up for the 5k.  Sarah and I will gather all the info. from that meeting and then post what we find out.

Thanks for all your support!

Chris

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

