9p.m. phone call

Well my heart stopped for a few minutes.  I got a call from Dr. Duane, my Oncologist, at 9 p.m. last night.  A cancer doctor calling you at home that late?-yeah I was a little freaked out and was thinking the worst.  He started out telling me that he just finished reviewing my PET scan results from earlier in the day.  He said that everything looked very similar to my CT scan from earlier in the week, except for a 3 mm spot found in the lungs.  Colon cancer usually spreads from the colon, to the liver and then to the lungs, so that was disconcerning.  But… Dr. Duane said he doesn’t believe that it is cancerous, rather that it is scar tissue from a previous bad cold I might have had(later I thought it could be a result of the infection I had in the hospital while trying to recover from my 2nd colon surgery).  Dr. Duane said that sometimes our technology is too good and picks up everything-including stuff we don’t need to worry about.  In summary he said, “I don’t see anything from these scans that would prevent you from having surgery.”  He said that we will just watch the liver spot over time to see if anything happens.  So overall good news-although Dr. Sielaff(the Liver Surgeon) still needs to sign off on it at our next appointment on Tuesday.  The reason Dr. Duane called me so late was he was trying to save me a trip into his office for today, as the news was nothing surprising.  I am still trying to absorb the adrenaline rush from that “non-surprise” last night.  Once again your prayers are much appreciated and have been answered.  Thank you for your faithfulness!!!  I will post something next Tuesday once I hear from Dr. Sielaff and his thoughts on the surgery.

Conservatively celebrating in Lakeville,

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “9p.m. phone call

  1. Judy Emery

    GOOOOOOOOO Chris!
    This is excellent news!
    🙂
    Judy

  2. Kent & Joy Bahr

    We’ve been waiting for the results. We echo Judy’s comments! Go Chris! Yahoo! One step at a time! We are glad they continue forward! Bahrs from Nymore

  3. Taisa Diedrich

    Dear Chris,
    What a shock to get that call but how good of your oncologist! I am sorry you got a little bit of discerning news, but your doc is right, the PET scan does pick up EVERYTHING! I will definitely pray for you and keep you in my thoughts as you wait for the surgeon to call next Tuesday. I can tell, from the little I spoke with you, that you have a strong spirit and faith. That means so much during a time like this, so please stay strong!!!! I will check back on Tuesday and hope you receive the news you are hoping for.

    Taisa Diedrich – Team Betty Boop

  4. Pat Groeper

    CHRIS,CHRIS,
    DON’T FORGET THE JOURNEY YOUR ON WE ARE ALL ON WITH YOU AND ALL THOSE HARD CURVES AND UNFORGETABLE POT HOLES WE ARE RIGHT THERE WITH YOU AND SO IS THE LORD!!!
    CHRIS , THE LORD HAS TRUELY BLESSED YOU WITH WONDERFUL DOCTORS AND INCREDIBLE FRIENDS AND THAT WONDERFUL FAMILY OF YOURS!!! WE ARE ALL PRAYING THAT DR.SIEFAFF WILL ALSO GIVE GOOD NEWS AND YOU ARE ON YOUR WAY AGAIN! ALL OUR PRAYERS AND LOVE ARE WITH YOU EVERYDAY !

  5. I am final, I am sorry, but it not absolutely approaches me. Who else, what can prompt?

Leave a Reply

