A Word from the Patient

Good Morning All!

Karen must have paid Dr. Sielaff a bunch of money to put this surgery off so I would be home on Valentine’s Day.  I think her and my nephew Zane must have worked out quite the deal so I wouldn’t miss Zane’s big birthday party on Saturday.

Yesterday was a bit disappointing, but not all bad.  Dr. Sielaff and his team now know exactly what we are dealing with.  It was good to find out that there was no new tumors both on the liver or elsewhere.  He actually biposied part of the intestinal lining as he saw some white spots on it, those turned out to be negative.  Also it was good news, as Sarah noted, that one of the largest tumors he found was non-cancerous.  That knowledge will give him more options when we head for surgery next time.

Prior to surgery yesterday Dr. Sielaff came in and visited with myself and the rest of the family.  He had decided that this surgery should be done in two phases.  The first phase would be removing the left lobe and possibly making a couple other cuts.  The second surgery would be going after the remaining tumors.  The reason he felt it would be necessary to do it in two phases is that he felt he wouldn’t be able to cut that much off in one surgery and have myself and my liver survive.  What he discovered during the laproscopic portion of the surgery was that the tumors had grown over the past 6 weeks while I have been off chemo.  He projected it would take 6-8 weeks for me to recover from the first surgery.   That length of total time would give the tumors that hadn’t been removed and hadn’t been treated with chemo. too much time to grow even larger.  He consulted with my Oncol0gist and several doctors on his team before making the decision not to operate.  What he and we are hoping is that by going back on the chemo we can further reduce the size or number of tumors so that he can do the entire surgery at one time.   The six remaining tumors are still on all sides of the liver, so ideally we would get them narrowed down to one side or the other.  Dr. Sielaff said he still plans to do surgery and expects me to be back at Abbott in 3-4 months.  I like that positive thinking.

The plan is to get back on the chemo probably next week.  I will talk to Dr. Duane today.  Dr. Duane may set me up with a different chemical mix.  Dr. Sielaff actually felt that the chemo could have done more and should od more than it already has.  I started with 12 tumors and am down to 6 so I don’t think it has done too bad so far.  My life is still in God’s hands but it is in Dr. Duane chemistry set for now.  I would guess we will do 3-4 treatments every two weeks and then do another scan to see how well the new chemical mix is working.

I thank you for all the prayers and good thoughts for myself and my family.  Thanks to Pastor Pat and two of my guardian angels(Pat G. and Vicki S.) for joining my wife and family in the waiting room yesterday.  This is a time for patience and it is time for this cancer to realize I am a very patient person.  Sit back and enjoy, this battle is far from over and I am feeling stronger than ever.  I think this Vicodin helps.

In God’s hands,

Chris

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Word from the Patient

  1. Paula

    Hey Chris, good to hear your voice – your optimism is always reassuring! Enjoy your Valentine’s Day.

  2. Pat Groeper

    HEY THERE!
    A LITTLE POKING HERE AND THERE CAN’T KEEP YOU DOWN FOR LONG!! YES YOUNG MAN YOU ARE IN GODS HAND AND GOOD HANDS THEY ARE!!! IT IS ALWAYS SO VERY UPLIFTING FOR YOU TO GET RIGHT BACK TO BLOGGING AND LETTING US ALL KNOW THAT THE FIGHT IS STILL ON WE ALWAYS NEED TO HEAR A FEW COMFORTING WORDS FROM OUR EARTHLY LEADER (YOU)!!
    KAREN IS A SLY ONE ISN’T SHE! NEVER KNEW VALENTINE’S DAY MEANT SO MUCH TO HER! WE NOW EXPECT FIREWORKS FROM THE BATY HOUSE ON SATURDAY!!! WE ALL WILL BE COUNTING ON YOU AND FAMILY CELEBRATING BIG TIME !! LOVE AND MANY PRAYERS FOR ALL OF YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

