Happy Belated Valentine’s Day

Life is good.  I have been enjoying these past 4 days recuperating from my mini-surgery.  For the first time this morning I woke up and didn’t have any significant pain from the three holes they put in me.  My abdomen has three new woulds and several green purple bruise marks from the work they did.  Karen’s mom was nice enough to stay with us through this coming Tuesday morning.  Talk about being spoiled!  The guys in the family having been moving slowly.  Brenden started the week off with the flu and Jaxson ended the week off with Strep Throat.  All of that combined with me walking around on vicodin added up to Grandma extending her stay.  Karen has worked every day since my surgery so it has been alot of Grandma and the boys hanging out together.  Brenden and I did rally enough to go to the birthday celebration yesterday at Dave’s house.  Zane, the perfect nephew, turned two yesterday.  Zane is the kid that was predicted to have all kinds of abnormalities based on his ultrasounds.  Here we are two plus years later following lots of faithful prayers and the kid is perfectly normal.  The only thing abnormal is that he has phenomenal hand eye coordination for a two year old.  I love Brenden, Jaxson, Caden Kaci and Kylie to death but I can tell you right now Zane is going to probably be better than all of them when it comes to sports.  The birthday boy was showing off his ball handling skills again yesterday. Spending time at Dave’s place also gave me time to get caught up with a fellow cancer patient-Jill’s Mom Sharon.  Sharon is another Stage 4 patient.  It is her story to tell, but briefly I will tell you that she was diagnosed in Nov. with small cell carcinoma.  She has had one surgery and is also on chemo.  She looked great despite the heavy treatments she has been receiving.  My Step mother Debby didn’t make it but is also doing well since her diagnosis of Breast Cancer and her subsequent surgeries and treatments.  Debby right now is cancer free.  A year ago we had no cancer in our family and today it seems like I am surrounded by it.  That being said we are all doing well and are very strong.

Tomorrow I head back to work.  Tuesday I meet with my Oncologist to lay out the next plan of treatment.  I can’t wait to see what they have in store for me next.   I did talk to my doctors nurse on Friday and she said I wouldn’t be back on the chemo for another 10-12 days.

I am loving life and enjoying all this family time right now.  The boys are getting spoiled with all this Daddy time.  Thank you for all your prayers!  May God bless you all.

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Happy Belated Valentine’s Day

  1. Vicki Starbeck

    Chris – I am so glad that you’ve had lots of family time. Those are lifetime memories. You have such a wonderful, supportive, and positive family. You have all been blessed, as have those of us who know you. See you at Pray for the Cure next week! Oh, the stories you have to tell! God is Good, All the Time! All the Time, God is Good!

  2. Marian Sandell

    I’ve been hoping positively for you to come around–you do have a supportive family–even us on the West coast. It’s not fun to have more chemo, but with your attitude, you’ll do fine, I’m sure. Exercise is helpful, too. Dick used the clear aloe vera on his hands, which helped a lot, and rinsed his mouth out every day with ACT, which helped prevent sores. I’ve been praying for you, too. Love, cousin Marian

  3. Loren Schomaker

    Hi Chris
    Family time is always a blessing and you have a great one. My 5K run has turned into a walk. I pulled a Calf Muscel. I will be in your group anyway.
    My prayers are with you.
    lol loren

Leave a Reply

