Karen decides to play the patient role…again

Yesterday Karen had the unfortunate experience of having a picture fall off the wall on her at work.  Yes I know,  only in this family.  The picture some how fell at an angle so the corner of the frame cut open her scalp.  She had to go to the emergency room and get 5 stitches put in.  She had a pretty good headache the rest of the night and spent most of it in bed with ice on her head.  Again, only in our family.  Jaxson seems to have beaten his strep throat, just in time to add a cold to his list of health issues.  Brenden is doing fine and I am healing really well.  I feel almost as strong as I did prior to my first surgery-just in time to throw some chemo into my body.

One thing I forgot to mention about the next set of chemicals, they don’t cause neuropathy.  The last one’s I was on did and I am still dealing with those effects.  In fact 30% of the surface area of my feet I can’t feel and all of my finger tips right next to the nail have lost feeling.  All of this actually got worse after I was off the chemo.  I read about ths on-line and talked to the Oncologist about it.  There is a chance I will lose the feeling permanently, but more than likely it will come back in a year or two.  Also those drugs were the one’s that made it hard to be around or touch anything cold or drink anything cold-again I will not have to worry about those side effects from the upcoming drugs.  I know, little consolation compared to all the other side effects I will have, but  will take anything I can get.

Thank you for all your donations to the upcoming 5k.  Also thank you for all your thoughts and prayers. I have Pray for a Cure coming up this next Monday night at Hosanna Church.  Anyone wanting to come is more than welcome.  It is Monday night from 7-9 p.m.  A friend of mine, John Osterberg, will be there to share his story.

God Bless,

Chris

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Karen decides to play the patient role…again

  1. Andrew

    Look at the bright side; if you ever play a game of hot potato, make sure you place a really large bet on yourself.

Leave a Reply

