Update

Hello all,

Karen is doing well and her head is feeling better.  She rested up a little this weekend so she could once again take on a full week of work, be super Mom to the boys and prepare for me going back on chemo-not sure how she does it all and holds it all together-it must be all those prayers from you for her.  Thank you!

Last night was a fantastic night at the Pray for the Cure meeting.  The support, love and wisdom that people shared there was awe inspiring.  I was surrounded in love (literally) as I sat between Brian Banick and John Osterberg.  John shared his story and some of the revelations he discovered during his battle with  Non-Hodgkins lymphoma.  Again this is an open invitation, you are all welcome to attend.  These meetings are held once a month-the 3rd Monday (normally-last night was an exception) of every month in the prayer chapel at Hosanna here in Lakeville.  The stories, prayers and people who facilitate it are amazing!

Tomorrow it is time for chemo again. My Dad is providing love, support and company again for this visit.   My Oncologist called today to let me know that the drug Erbitux will not work against my cancer.  In fact if given to me with Avastin, it is shown to actually spread and grow cancer-very weird.  In some people it works great and kills it off and in other  bodies it helps it grow.   The main drug I get tomorrow is called Irinotecan.  The drug series that I will be given is called Folfury vs. I was on Folfox before. We won’t add Avastin to the mix until the second treatment.

Thank you for all your prayers-we are truly blessed to have all of you walking with us on this journey.  It really makes it easier for us to deal with knowing that we are surrounded by so much love.

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Update

  1. Theresa Connelly

    Hey Chris,
    It’s great to read about the support and inspiration you’re receiving from meetings, family and friends. You continue to be an inspiration to us! My thoughts and prayers are with you as you start up chemo again.
    Keep smiling buddy, Theresa

  2. Judy Emery

    Hi! I just want you to know that I’m still up here, reading your blog & praying. Chris & family, this blog is beautifully written. Thank you for taking the time & effort to keep us all in the loop.

    With much love & hope-
    Your sister through Christ,
    Judy

  3. Taisa Diedrich

    Chris,
    I am in tears reading your updates. I don’t know, this whole cancer thing just really gets me at times and I want to know the “why’s” and “how comes.” Which I realize is pointless. I am glad for medical advancement but sad for what your body has to endure. Which I know is nothing compared to being able to live life! My heart aches for you and for your family as I truly know the emotions that come with any new step taken on this journey. You really do have an incredible attitude which I firmly believe is what gets you through this. I am sorry to hear about Karen’s accident too. My gosh, that is so much to go through. I hope and pray she is recovering fine. And I will continue to pray for you as you take a new route on this journey. Stay strong and positive and full of hope. I hope you will not experience any severe side effects. I would love to talk with you something about complimentary medicines that have helped my Mom with some side effects. Anything is worth trying.

    In peace, love & finding a cure,
    Taisa

  4. Lo

    I’ll be thinking about you, Chris! You and your family are in my prayers:)

  5. Cheryl Stainer

    I had to smile when I read this posting! He doesn’t know how Karen does it!!! Has Karen never told you any of the “Stratton family Legends”!

    We all learned that you just keep going, no matter what. And you better not cry about it! You can ask her what happened if you did. Having fathers that were raised on a farm of all boys, our dads didn’t tolerate us being soft.

    Praise God that He is there for us when we are down and broken. That he wants us with all of the yuck that is going on in our lives and doesn’t wait for us to get ourselves cleaned up before he takes us in His arms.

    I am praying that you and Karen and the kids can feel God’s loving arms around you, as you walk through this difficult time.

Leave a Reply

