Fury Unleashed

The new chemo regiment that I am on is called Folfiri vs. Folfox which I was on before.  I just prefer the spelling (fury), listed above, because that is what I feel the cancer cells are feeling right now.  For this session it was very similar to what I had before.  Yesterdays  infusion was a mix of chemicals, atrapene, zofran, a steroid, Leucovorin, Irinotecan and FU5.  Like last time, I go home with a needle in my chest with a tube connected to a bottle which continues to infuse 46 hours more of FU5.  I had a great nurse who answered all of my questions and gave me some great advice for how I would feel with this mix.  The next session they add the Avastin to the mix.    I felt light headed and a little tired as soon as they started to infuse me with the drugs at the hospital.  By the time I left my body steadied itself pretty well and I had no problem driving myself home from the hospital.  I was feeling so well, initially, when I got home I decided to take a 3 mile walk as it was nice outside.  Later last night I started to feel the effects.  I turned ghostly white, my eyes dialated and are started to sink lower and lower into the couch.  By around 7:30 p.m. I had enough and laid down.  My stomach felt very uneasy so I started on more Zofran right away.  It felt good to be horizontal but I hardly slept last night, not sure why.   Overall I am doing o.k., but feeling a little run over.

Chris

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fury Unleashed

  1. Anonymous

    CHRIS,
    SOMETIMES YOU MAY NOT FEEL LIKE ANYONEIS OUT HERE AND YO ARE ALL ALONE IN THIS BUT YOU ARE NOT!! I AM SURE EVERYONE OF US WOULD TAKE A TREATMENT FOR YOU IF WE COULD BUT LIFE DOESN’T WORK THAT WAY!! WISH I COULD SAY THINGS WITH THE CHEMO GET BETTER AS YO GO ALONG BUT EVEN YOU KNOW THAT THEY DON’T!! WE ARE ALL JUST PRAYING AND HOPING THAT GOD LIFTS YOU UP AND FILLS YOU THE THE FAITH THAT YOU KNOW THAT THIS TOO WILL PASS! WE’RE ALL HERE FOR YOU JUST REACH OUT AND HOLD ON TIGHT!!
    NOW FOR THE REAL WORLD STAY AHEAD OF THAT NAUESA TAKE THAT ZOFRAN WAY AHEAD BEFORE YOU GET SICK !!! I KNOW THAT THEY GIVE IT TO YOU IN THIS MAGIC POTION YO ARE TAKING BUT TAKE SOME SOON AS YOU GT HOME FROM TREATMENT. THE OTHER THING IS THAT YOU WILL FIND ON YOUR OWN TRICKS OF THE TRADE AND EXACTLY WHAT WORKS FOR YOU!! JUST KEEP TRYING THINGS TO MAKE YOU FEEL BETTER NO MATTER WHAT IT IS.YOU JUST HAVE TO KEEP KNOCKING THOSE TREATMENTS DOWN AND YOU WILL BE DONE BEFORE YOU KNOW IT!! EASY FOR ALL OF US TO SAY!!!!!
    OUR LOVE AND PRAYERS ARE ALWAYS WITH YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

