Round 2 of Regiment 2 complete

I survived round 2 which was the folfiri group of chemicals along with Avastin thrown in for good measure.  My list of drugs over the past few days:  Caffeine, Vicodin, Avastin, Atrapene, a steroid, Benadryl, Leucovorian, FU5, Irinotecan, Tylenol, Zantac, Zofran, Composine, Neulasta and trazadone. 15 chemicals in 4 days-yeah my system is a little out of wack.  This round definitely hit me harder than the last one-like twice as hard.  The doctor said even though I had an 8 week layoff during Jan/Feb. the chemo. still has a cumulative effect.  From 4 p.m. Sat. through 7 a.m. this morning I was in bed except for 1.5 hours.  Mainly I am nauseated and tired.  I almost didn’t have chemo. this round.  My white blood cell count was extremely low-I just barely made it.  I had less than 1/2 of what I had last time they checked.  That is not a good thing with two little boys at home who have been sick since last Monday.  By God’s grace I have not caught any of their colds, strep or flu over the past 6 months(of course this means I will probably come down with something tomorrow-but it has been a miraculous run!).  I feel relatively good today.  My head finally cleared about 10:30 this morning.    I have a tremendous back ache, which is still probably left over from shoveling, walking the dog, carrying my nephew around and the Neulasta shot I got on Friday.  On the hair watch….I still got some.  The Dr. guessed somewhere around the 17, 18,19 or 20th  day of this regiment it would start to fall out.  Today is day 18-stay tuned!

I just want to take the rest of this time to say “thank you” to everyone!  You are an amazing group of people!  Just for taking the time to read this blog and thinking about our family/praying for our family and sending your well wishes.  Thank you for all the donations that you have sent to our 5K event April 19th.    We are still the number one team and are still growing in terms of participants and dollars.  A special thanks to Brian Banick and Vicki Starbeck for taking care of me during this past chemo round-I couldn’t have made it without you two.  Also a special thank you to my Mom who came down and took care of the boys during this past week when they were sick and Sarah our team captain who has organized our 5k and got the t-shirts prepared.   I’m not sure how I will pay all of you back for all the stuff you have helped me out through on this journey, but keep track of those IOU’s someday I will pay you back.  For now I just ask that God blesses you all for taking the time to read and care!

Chris

p.s.  Pray for a Cure is tomorrow night at my church from 7-9 p.m., anyone is welcome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

