King of the Hill

The title takes on two meanings this week.  First our Colon Cancer Fund Raising Team is in First Place and we were the first team to hit our goal!  My sister-in-law, Sarah, and I were discussing it tonight and just can’t believe all the generosity-it is really overwhelming.  If  you want to still donate-of course you can-it will keep those pesky Semi-Colons from catching us.

The second meaning for the title, is what is taking place on top of my head.  The chemo and hair follicles are having quite the battle for king of the hill.  My hair follicles are winning right now, although I would guess that I have lost maybe 30% of my hair.  It isn’t all coming out at once or in patches but rather like a dog shedding.  If you were to pet my head you would find yourself with about 7 or 8 hairs in your hand and a wet cheek…. as I would probably lick you for petting me.

I can’t believe it is already time for round 3.  This last round was a tough one, I survived it but it lingered.  My back pain really as never gone away.  Here is my theory on all the pain…  Basically I have lost the feeling in the surface area of the bottoms of both my feet.  That is a left over of the last round of chemo I had back in Dec.  The neuropathy effects of that regiment actually get worse and increase once you are off those drugs for about 3 months.  So hopefully this week they halt their advance through my feet and finger tips.  For the average person it would be like your foot falling asleep-that prickly pins and needles feeling.  The problem is for me that feeling never goes away.  So when I walk it feels like that and my brain is getting fooled as it can’t fully tell what my feet are doing.  Since my brain can’t fully feel what my feet are doing, it tells my back muscles to stand on high alert-that I’m about to fall over.  Since the back muscles are pulling at full strength at all times, pain ensues as they never get a chance to relax unless I’m laying down.  Over time the feeling is supposed to return, but it may never come back 100% and it actually takes 2-3 years to fully come back if it does.  Both my oncologist and chiropractor agreed with my back pain theory.  Right now I am taking Vicodin and seeing my chiropractor once a week for the back pain.  For the prickly feeling, yes they have yet another drug for me-Gabapentin.  And for helping me sleep at night I take Trazadone so I can sleep through the back pain.  Yes I am a total druggy!  Through it all-I promise you I will walk the 5K coming up on April 19th.

All that being said I am doing just fine.  My spirits have never been higher through this journey.  I am continually amazed at all the people who have reached out to me.  As an example, last night I got a call on my cell phone at 8:15 p.m.  from a 218 area code.  I didn’t recognize the number but was excited to answer it as it was coming from Northern MN.  It turned out to be Mrs. Fredrickson-my 4th and 5th grade sunday school teacher from Bemidji.  She was calling to tell me that she was praying for my family and I and was checking to see how I was doing.  Isn’t that amazing-that she took the time to track me down and let me know she cared?  At that moment I really wished I could have reached through that phone and given her a big hug.  I haven’t seen her in 20 years.  I promised her we would make it up to Bemidji in the next 2-3 months to visit everyone up there who has taken the time to reach out and pray for us.

Thank you all for taking the time to read.  Thank you for the comments you leave on the blog, the phone calls, emails etc…  They all lift my spirits and make this an easier walk.

Still with hair in Lakeville-at least for now,

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “King of the Hill

  1. Loren Schomaker

    Hair-ye Chris
    Thanks for the update. I will see you at the 5K, I have given up on running so I can spend more time with you. (or was it the calf muscel that turned me into a walker?) Whatever, I am looking forward to April 19th.
    The weather has been nice so I have been biking a lot to get in shape for the Ironman on the 26th of April.
    Loren

  2. Is there anything to get rid of neuropathy besides vitamin b, vitamin e, antioxidants, and hope?

  3. Cindy Beaver

    I know its not exactly the same but I had that pins & needles experience in my hands when I was pregnant with Andrew. They said it was probably caused by water retention would go away once he was born but it took over 2 months. Hard to sleep with all that tingling going on plus had to quit making the cross-stitch blanket as I couldn’t feel the needle.

    We pray for you every night!

Leave a Reply

