Nickelback

In the never ending saga of Baty health issues…things got a little weird-yes again.   I had a tooth that started to bother me Friday night-nothing big, just ached a little.  Saturday morning I woke up and it didn’t feel too bad.  By Sat. at noon I was calling my dentist’s emergency number.  By the time my dentist called back,  I was on my second Vicodin and feeling pretty good.  Luckily for me I had left over med’s from the Feb. mini-surgery.  He guessed that one of my fillings had become infected.   He prescribed Penicilin and Tylenol.  He told me to keep taking my vicodin if needed.  After picking up my Penicillin,  the boys and I came home and decided it was finally time for them to get in their pool.  As I walked through the backyard, I got the bright idea to throw the change from my pocket into their pool.   I threw the money in, they cheered and I headed inside to get more towels and water.  Two minutes later Jaxson comes rushing in screaming Brenden swallowed a nickel!  Now for those of you who know my boys, you would have thought it would have been Jax not Brenden who ate the money.  I ran outside and Brenden had a sick look on his face, but he wasn’t choking.  He explained that Jaxson and he thought it would be fun to put the money in their mouths and spit it out.  I then told them to come in and rest while I checked my always accurate medical journal(the Internet) to see what it said to do.  Basically it said there should be no problem, wait a few days and I should get my nickel back.  As I write this, we are on day 3 and no money has come out of the “Brenden Bank”.  He says he feels fine, but we are going to call the doctor tomorrow to get their take.  Hopefully this gets resolved soon…I could use the money because…

I went to the dentist yesterday(Monday) and they took xray’s and couldn’t see anything wrong.  I said I felt like I wanted to rip the tooth out myself.  The doc said that we were left with either a root canal or pulling  it out-depending on what he found once he opened it/me up-sound familiar?  Once he opened up the filling he found problems.  He found a mess of stuff inside it and said he would do the root canal approach.  He cleaned everything out of the tooth/filling, shot me up with 4 doses of Novocaine, prescribed more Vicodin and said to come back in 4 days for a crown.  Since then my pain has gone back and forth between a 4 and8 on the pain scale.  I had to go back in today because they felt I was  over-dosing on  Vicodin(3 does in 4 hours).  Once again they cleaned everything out, shot me up with Novocaine and sent me home.  As I write this I still have pain around a 7-8 on the pain scale.  The V icodin(my 3rd in 3 1/2 hours brings it back down to the 4-5 range.  Yeah life is tough right now-sleep is near impossible.  Still after all this-I feel blessed that this didn’t happen during chemo. or any of my surgeries.  It has been one tough year, but I am still standing-albeit rocking back and forth a little bit due to all the drugs.  Hopefully by the end of this week my tooth issue and Brenden’s money problem will be resolved.  I still made it to coach Brenden’s soccer team tonight.

Surgery date

I finally have it officially set.  It will be July 21st at 7:30 a.m.  I have to check in at 5:30 a.m.

Thanks for all your thougths, well-wishes and prayers-I seriously think it is time for another Vicodin.  I am sure I will be back in the dentist’s office again tomorrow.

Chris

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Nickelback

  1. Todd and Marissa Welch

    Nickelback! Nice!

    Hope you’re feeling better today.

  2. R & K

    If it weren’t for picturing all of your pain, that would’ve been the best update yet! Thanks and keep fighting.

  3. Aunt Ginnie and Uncle Dave

    We didn’t think you would be able to attend the Baty reunion. We just want you to know we will be praying for you as you go through this next surgery. Our love,

    • carla

      Chis, it was great seeing and talking with you at the reunion,david to, you looked great.Know I will be thinking of you as you go threw this next surgry. Carla Dee

Leave a Reply

