Staying Strong in Lakeville

I am feeling strong, “healthy” and am ready for the surgery tomorrow.  This is the best I have felt since last July before my first colon surgery.  As you can see from the photos my hair is coming back.  It is kind of blond/brown and very soft.   One of the pictures is from hiking in Afton State Park this past weekend.  I walked about 4 miles both Fri. and Sat.  I feel very blessed to have had the past 7 weeks off from fighting this disease.  The 7 weeks went by fast.  Now it is time to go after it again.

Today I need to finish up my “To Do” list.  Tonight Karen’s parents move in to help out while I am in the hospital.  Also I have my Pray for the Cure meeting tonight at 7 p.m.  After the meeting I rush home to say goodnight to Brenden and Jaxson and then take my anti-bacterial shower.  Tomorrow I get up at 4:30 a.m. and take yet another shower.  Beyond all the showering with their special soap, there are no other prep instructions other than the usual-no eating after midnight.  Tomorrow we check in at the hospital at 5:30 a.m.  Surgery is set to start at 7:30 a.m.   Just like the last time, Dr. Sielaff will enter laproscopically (make small incisions and send a camera in first) to see what the tumors have been up to since my last chemo.  If everything looks good from his perspective, he then will continue on with the rest of the surgery.   The surgery is set to last about 4-5 hours.  He will resect (cut out) half of the liver and then attempt to cut out and microwave any tumors on the remaining part of the liver.  If all goes well, there will be only one surgery and he will have gotten all the cancer out that he can see.  If the surgery gets too difficult or he feels the liver can’t survive all the cuts, he will schedule a 2nd surgery about 7 weeks later to clean up the remaining areas of cancer.  I am guessing for the first couple days after the surgery, I won’t be feeling to great.  I am scheduled to stay in the hospital for 7 days after the surgery.  Karen and her sister Sarah will keep the blog up-to-date as best they can throughout tomorrow and the days ahead.

Thank you in advance for all your prayers for tomorrow and the following days and weeks ahead.  I have posted the name/info about the hospital and my surgeon on the side of this page in case you want to pray for both.  Karen and I are apprehensive but feel very, very blessed that I even have the opportunity to have the surgery.

God Bless-thank you for all your thoughts, comments and prayers.  Now it is time to fight back again!

Chris

p.s.  no nickel yet-Brenden wants another x-ray-not sure if that will happen.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Staying Strong in Lakeville

  1. Kent and Joy

    Dear Chris, We are with you in our thoughts and prayers! Lots of Love to you and your family! Kent and Joy Bahr

  2. Aunt Val & Eli

    Dear Chris, Karen, and family,
    You are in our thoughts and prayers along with the doctors and the rest of the hospital staff. We are sending hugs to all. Thank you Karen and Sarah for keeping the blog updated while Chris isn’t able to.
    God Loves You and so do we,
    Aunt Val & Eli

  3. Hi Chris,
    It has been awhile since I’ve emailed, but please know I’ve been keeping up to date with your blog. I just want to reassure you that you are in good hands with Dr. Sielaff. I had my liver resection done in January ’09 by Dr. Sielaff’s group and they were absolutely outstanding. The care I received after surgery was the best. I’ll be praying for you and sending you healing thoughts in the days ahead. You have been an inspiration to me.

    Bev DeVos
    (Colon cancer support group @ Methodist)

  4. Chris Manor

    Chris,

    Good luck tomorrow!! Please have Karen or Sarah let me know if you or they need anything at all. We will keep you in our prayers.

    God be with you,

    Chris

  5. Anonymous

    May the force be with you!

  6. Bob Fallen

    I woke at about 5:00 am today thinking about the task ahead for you with Dr. Sielaff. You’ve done all the right things to prepare your body and mind for today’s surgery, so believe in your surgical team’s skills and expertise to bring back your health. Good luck my friend, we’re all thinking about you!

  7. Chris

    I have been thinking about you all day today. I Knew everything was going to go well. I believe you and I were chosen as examples of what this disease can do and with our determination and indurance we can concore it. I just had my 3 month check-up on Friday all blood test and everything so far is good Dr. Leach still calls me the miracle patient. Sept. I will have another liver scan at Sielaff office McKenize is my doctor you may meet him while you are there he is very good also. Take care.

    Mickey
    Methodist colon support

Leave a Reply

