Road to Recovery

This is definitely a challenge.  I have 26 staples in my abdomen forming a backward L.  I have been slowly/daily getting better-but it is slow.  I have had trouble sleeping at night, but last night was my best night so far-7 hours.  Basically I sleep for 2 hours get up for an hour, take another vicodin, sleep for another two hours get up again and so on until about 7 a.m.  I am not eating too much yet.  I manage to get enough vitamins and calories to keep me going, though.  I have pushed myself walking a little bit.  I walk around the block two times per day.  By then end of each time I am wiped out, but my body does feel a little better.  As my nurse said when I checked out-water and walking will get you through this.  It has been great being at home with the guys and Karen.  Just being around them lift my spirits-although the boys wear me down quickly.  They have adapted pretty well to everything including my latest challenge.  Brenden throws paper airplanes to me and knows if they don’t get exactly to me, he will have to run and get it.  Jaxson brought a board game next to the couch so we could play it a couple times.

Overall I am doing well-just trying to take it easy, rest and heal as quickly as I can.  I got some great fruit from my fellow Pictura employees and Sam stopped by to see how I was doing.  Also Bethany brought us more food today so we will be eating good for some time.

Again a special thanks to Karen’s parents for taking care of everything while I was out.  Karen’s parents do everything for us so Karen can focus on work and the kids while I am out of it.  Of course A big thanks to everyone who has sent cards, comments, thoughts and prayers.  Those things really lift my spirits and push me to go forward.

Chris

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Road to Recovery

  1. Lois

    We are so glad and thankful that you are making such great progress! Wow! The power of prayer.

    We are so happy to have the blog to keep us updated. A big thank you to all—Karen, Sarah, and you.

    We continue to held you in our thoughts and prayers.
    Love, Lois and Don

  2. Paula Pilrose

    Thanks for the update! Great to hear you are gaining some strength. I’m sure it feels very slow to you but we are so impressed with the daily walks!
    Lots of love and prayers,
    Paula

  3. Lo

    Way to go, Chris:) Lo

  4. PAT

    chris!!
    WE ARE SO VERY THANKFUL THAT YOU ARE KEEPING US SO UP WITH WHAT IS GOING ON WE LOVE IT!!
    YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW YOUR DOING SO WELL KEEPS ALL OF OUR SPRITS UP
    !!!YOU’VE COME A LONG WAY BABY SO REJOICE IN EVERYDAY THAT YOU ARE HOME WITH ALL THE PEOPLE THAT ADORE YOU!!
    KEEPING IN MIND THAT ALL OF US OUT HERE ADORE YOU ALSO AND ARE KEEPING OUR PRAYERS AND THOUGHTS WITH YOU!! YOU CAN’T IMAGINE HOW MANY FOLKS OUT HERE ARE READING YOUR BLOG AND PRAYING FOR YOU EVERYDAY!!! MUCH LOVE AND PRAYERS TO ALL!!

Leave a Reply

