One busy year

For God who said, “Let there be light in darkness.”, has made this light shine in our hearts so we could know the glory of God that is seen in the face of Jesus Christ.  We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure.  This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves.  We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed.  We are perplexed, but not driven to despair.  We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God.  We get knocked down, but we are never destroyed. Through suffering, our bodies continue to share in the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies.   2 Corinthians 4:6-10

The above verses really seemed to click with me this week-especially the parts I have underlined.

July 31, 2008 I had my first colon surgery.  At that time I had one tumor in my colon and 12 tumors on my liver.  3 surgeries and 15 rounds of chemo, one year later, and I now have two tumors left on the liver.  I feel truely blessed to be able to say that today.  I am thankful for all your prayers that have carried me so far and look forward to your prayers to carry me the rest of the way.  I have been feeling stronger every day.  Today I actually walked two miles.  Those two miles almost took me an hour, but I made it.  I then sat around on the couch for another 3 hours trying to recuperate.  I am eating more now and have a bigger appetite.

Sports Update

I think I had mentioned that our boys have transitioned from soccer to t-ball/coach pitch.   Brenden had a great time with soccer and is already loving coach pitch.  Jaxson, well he is still Jaxson no mater what the sport.  This week Jaxson decided to push his luck-and for you who know Jaxson(5 year old), this is standard procedure.  When Jaxson gets bored, he finds  ways to amuse himself.  Uncle Dave gave me the report this week as I was still playing sick on the couch so I didn’t go.  Caden, Jaxson’s cousin, is also on the team and can give you the Jaxson report if you ask.  Apparently after batting practice, the coach told the team to grab their gloves and go in the outfield.  The problem:  that wasn’t specific enough direction for Jaxson.  The coach bent over to pick something up and Jaxson decided the coaches butt would be a good target to get some attention.  So with cousin eagerly standing by and watching, Jaxson picked up his glove, threw it and hit his coach square in the butt.   The coach jumped up an turned around to see Jaxson and Caden smiling at him.  The coach graciously picked up Jaxson’s glove for him and directed him out to the field.  Caden found the whole thing hilarious and told his mom all about it on the way home.  Uncle Dave called and filled me in-Karen missed the whole incident  The next day I asked Jaxson why he hit his coach in the butt he said, “Because he wouldn’t tell me what spot to stand in.”   I still can’t help but laugh about it myself.  The problem is Jaxson starts school this Fall-how many times do you think I/We are going to get a call from the school?  Jaxson and Brenden have kept us focused on the important things in life this past busy year.

Thanks for all your prayers-they are working,

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “One busy year

  1. Aunt Val & Eli

    Hi Chris, Karen, Brenden & Jaxson,

    Thank you all for being you. You are truly a blessing and an inspiration to us with each and every entry on your blog.

    God Loves You and so do we!!

  2. Brad Coleman

    Chris,

    we are really glad to hear you are getting back on your feet after surgery, a 2 mile walk never sounded so good! Also good to hear you have a boy who challenges everything he hears (we have 1, some days 2).

    Brad, Lisa, Jesse, Henry

  3. Carmen & Ernie

    WOW!! What a testimony – God IS good!! Jaxson has a soft spot in Auntie Carmen’s heart. The story is great!!!!

    God Bless!
    Carmen & Ernie

  4. Laura Ault

    Hi Chris!

    Just dropping in to see how you’ve been doing.
    I can’t believe you’re back and up on your feet (two miles?!), that’s wonderful! 🙂

    – Laura (from work)

  5. Todd Welch

    You continue to amaze with your determination and faith. That is no doubt as important in your recovery than the actual surgical procedures.

Leave a Reply

