Still Healing

I am doing well.  Each day I move around a little bit more and am actually starting to help Karen with a couple things around the house.  I also just started sleeping a little better.  I had my best night of sleep on Sat. night where I actually got 8 hours of sleep-my best night of sleep since July 19th!  I added a couple pictures of the guys(and Nokomis) and myself.  It seems that my temporary hair is coming in quickly.  I will probably need to get a hair cut soon-at least to even out this blonde/grey mess.  It is only temporary as it will fall out again quickly once I go back on chemo.   I don’t know the official plan yet on where I am heading.  I will have a surgery within the next couple of months-possibly as soon as mid-Sept.  If Dr. Sielaff thinks that a couple of rounds of chemo will make the surgery safer/easier he may want to do that.  Dr. Sielaff was busy last week so I met an associate of his to get my staples out.  I also met with my Oncologist, Dr. Duane,  last week.  Dr. Duane was impressed how well my body is healing after all that it has been put through with all the chemo and other surgeries.    I asked Dr. Duane what his plan is for me after my 2nd surgery.  He said that after 6 weeks of healing from that, I will go back on chemo again.  He will put me on chemo for either 4-6 months to continue to try and clean my body.

My abdomen looks pretty rough-a pyloric stenosis surgery when I was 3 weeks old (http://kidshealth.org/parent/medical/digestive/pyloric_stenosis.html)  two colon surgeries, a laproscopic liver surgery and a full liver surgery.  They are running out of places to cut and stitch.

We heard a very good sermon yesterday at church, so I thought I would share some notes from it.  The pastor was our consulting pastor(Pastor David Housholder) who was visiting from California.  He does all his sermons in sandals and jeans.  If you want more of an effect, click on the music link at the side of this page labeled “Mat Kearney”, listen to the words of the song…

Some of the lyrics:

She got the call today
One out of the gray
And when the smoke cleared
It took her breath away
She said she didn’t believe
It could happen to me
I guess we’re all one phone call from our knees…

She’s gonna be there too
Cryin’ in her room
Prayin’ Lord, come through
We’re gonna get there soon.

Psalms 112:7

They do not fear bad news; they confidently trust the Lord to care for them.

1.  Acknowledge that you have anxiety about your very real problem.

2.  Anxiety will add no value to your life.  Have you ever heard anyone say after surviving a terrible divorce/beating a disease/surviving bankruptcy etc… that it was rough but all the anxiety really got me through it?

3.  God is not worried. Do not worry in His direction, rather ask for His help.

Cultivation of the steady heart is a sign of christian maturity.

Thank you for all your prayers, thoughts, comments and cards for Karen I and the guys. We are all learning to cope with “healthy” Daddy/Husband and “sick/healing” Daddy/Husband.  It has been a long year and I am strengthening myself for another long one ahead.

Chris

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Still Healing

  1. Paula Pilrose

    Chris,
    What an inspiration you are! Thanks for the update – and sharing healing words.
    Keep getting better! We’re all looking forward to seeing you soon!
    Paula

  2. Aunt Val & Eli

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for the inspiring update. I check your blog everyday to see how you are doing and read the stories about your family. I’m happy to hear that you are getting more sleep. Also happy to hear the doctors are pleased with your recovery.

    We Love You!!

  3. Stephanie Ybarra

    Hi Chris,
    I got an email from Nicole and today and she forward me you blog. I feel so bad that I just found out I wish I would I known sooner I would have told you some dirty stories to keep your mind occupied before you went into some of your surgeries. You are and will always be my FAVORITE BOSS of ALL TIME! If any one can beat this I know it’s you. You have an amazing outlook in life and the biggest and sweetest hearts I know. Plus it help that you have Karen and the boys, all one needs to do is look in their eyes and see how much love they have for you. When you’re up to it I would LOVE to come visit and reminisce on old Proex memories. If there is anything you need you or Karen please just let me know.

    I look forward to hearing from you and I hope you take care of your self and rest rest rest! Sorry it took this blog to let you know that I miss you and I am SO thankful I got the pleasure to met you and feel even more blessed to be able to call you my friend.

    Xoxoxo
    Stephanie

  4. I am not sure if you remember me, but Stephanie let me know about your condition and passed along your blog site. I believe in the power of prayer and you will be added to our daily prayers. One of my 6 month old twin daughters was diagnosed with cancer at 3 months old. Since then we have had a surgery and a hospital stay no child should ever have to have. We have been blessed with good oncology visits since the surgery so no chemo has been necessary. I say this as we await another phone call from the doctor saying her counts are all still good. I will pray for strength for you and your family as you continue this battle. By the way…what a good looking family, tell Karen hello!!

    Megan (Mattingly) Cox

  5. Anonymous

    Chris,
    You have a wonderful smile.
    The blog has kept me up on your progress, inspiration, struggles and opened my eyes on how wonderful a human being and father you are. Keep up the fight and my prayers are with you

    Patty Manor

  6. Lo

    Attitude is everything, but you already know that:) I’m keeping you in my prayers. Lo

Leave a Reply

