Surgery off, for now

I had a PET scan this morning and it showed that the bad tumor that the Dr. was concerned with really “lights up”, the smaller tumor did not “light up” as much.  “Light Up” means that the tumor is active and is absorbing sugars, thereby growing.  The doctors best guess is that the bad tumor has taken over the good tumors location, thereby getting too close to the bile ducts.  If he was to do the surgery it would be very risky and may permanently damage the liver, so it is back to chemotherapy.  My surgeon has already spoken to my Oncologist and my Oncologist is confident that since I had a good response before, I will have a good response again.  The plan is to get me back on chemo again and shrink that tumor so that he can safely do surgery in the future. The first question that comes to everyone’s mind, including mine, is how long will I have to be on chemotherapy.  The answer is, only God knows.  Last time it took 8 rounds and 4 months to get me in a good position for surgery, so I am guessing a time-line similar to that.  As I continually learn throughout this process, 2 steps forward, 1 step back.  The good news is that there were no other areas that lit up during all 3 of my scans.  Also, I will not be in the hospital for my 10 year wedding anniversary.

Thank you for all of your prayers and support.  It is time to charge forward into the next phase of this battle.

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Surgery off, for now

  1. PAT

    Chris,
    The Lord has put you in the best of earthly hands that the medical world has to offer! You will just keep on pushing forward and we are all behind you with love and prayers!! Chris, everyone of us out here can see that you have chosen to learn and grow from the weight of the world! You are putting your soul in charge of your life. You are choosing not the attitude of your smaller and more fearful self but rather the attitude of your soul,which is hopeful,expansive, and eternal. You truely are a remarkable soul! As always we are here and our prayes and love are with you!

  2. Lo

    here they are, positive thoughts, winging your way, chris! you and your family are always in my prayers. lo

  3. Paula Pilrose

    Ah Chris, not the news you wanted to hear. As you say, two steps forward, one step back.
    But still some good news – no other tumors or hot spots!!
    Happy 10th Anniversary! Congratulations to you and Karen. God Bless.

  4. Suzy and Marissa Welch

    Chris and family-

    I keep praying. I only hope for good news. Congrats on the wedding anniversary. God bless and stay strong.

  5. Michele Balvin

    Chris, I think of you and your family often. Keep on keeping on! I know you will get through this. Happy Anniversary to you and your wife!

Leave a Reply

