Chemo Starts

Chemo begins again on Monday-the 21st.  It will be the same regiment and same schedule, FOLFIRI W/Avastin every 2 weeks. I will have a 4 hour infusion at the hospital and then go home with the chemo. bottle attached for a 46 hour continuous chemo infusion.  after the 46  hours I will go back in and get disconnected and get a Neulasta shot.  I will have a scan after 4 rounds, close to the middle of Nov.,  to see how it is working.  I am not working right now as Pictura had planned that I would be off for 5 weeks.  I have decided to move that to 6 weeks now, so that I can complete 3 full rounds of chemo before going back. Chemo dates right now:  Sept. 21, Oct. 6th and Oct. 20th.  I continue to get myself physically ready by taking all my Dr. Lish supplements.  My blood work should be ready to go!

Some Misc. Updates:

  • Our 10 year anniversary was yesterday the 18th.  I am amazingly blessed to have been married to this loving, beautiful woman this long.  While I have been sick during this cancer journey, she has taken care of:  cleaning, laundry, cooking, mowing, snow shoveling, the finances, taking care of the guys during at night when they have their bad dreams, getting them off to school and daycare while still working 40 hours a week to help pay the bills and maintain our insurances.  She truly is amazing and I thank God every day that she is my wife and the mother of my children.  It has been an awesome 10 years!  We actually celebrated early as we thought I would be in the hospital.  Last weekend we decided to do a last minute trip up the North Shore and had a great time.
  • We never found the nickel that Brenden swallowed.  Doctors said not to worry about it, that it would have passed by now without any problems.
  • On the last night of Jaxson’s T-Ball game he didn’t hit the coach in the rear again.  Instead he walked up to him and thanked him-even without his parents prompting.
  • Brenden moved into a small Fall soccer league and continues to love it.  I am having a tough time sitting on the side line watching and have been scolded by Brenden several times for coaching from the sideline.
  • The Garden Walk that was at Pat Groeper’s house was great and we received some special gifts from it.
  • Sarah, Karen’s sister, is still planning on getting married soon, but we don’t have a date yet.  She was waiting on the date to find out my schedule.
  • Brenden and Jaxson are both enjoying school.  Jaxson said the only part he doesn’t like is that he has to sit still so long.  Jaxson has already came home with a card from a girl. He thought he should give her a card back that had a heart on it and said “love Jaxson”.   Yeah we are in trouble already and he is only in Kindergarten.  Brenden says that 1st grade is the best grade ever.
  • Our families continue to help us a lot during this challenge.  My Dad makes it to almost all of my appointments.  He has been so omni-present at these appointments that Dr. Sielaff was surprised last month when he wasn’t there.  His comments were very fitting, “Where is the big guy?”  I explained that he was on a trip.  He then said, “I am just so used to him being here that I am kind of thrown off”.  “He really seems like a great guy to have on your side.”  I couldn’t help but feel very happy, proud and blessed.  Our Mom’s, my brother, sister and Karen’s sisters have helped us a lot along the way with taking care of the boys and moving in when we need them to.  Karen’s Dad and Rick have taken turns doing projects around the house when needed.
  • I have had a colon surgery, then 2 rounds of chemo, then another colon surgery, then 5 rounds of chemo and then a laproscopic surgery, then 8 rounds of chemo, then a liver surgery and now some chemo again.  Anyone detecting a pattern here?
  • My weight has been on a roller coaster these past 15 months.  I have ranged from 181 to 151 lbs.  Right now I am at 164 lbs.
  • I have hair, but for only a few more weeks.  I told the boys so they are ready for the transition back to baldness.

I have included a few pictures from the last couple of months.  I had forgotten that they had a couple pictures from my July surgery.  I will post next week after I survive round 1.  Thank you for all your gifts, prayers and thoughts.

Chris

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chemo Starts

  1. Lisa Coleman

    Chris, your positive attitude and faith continue to be an inspiration to me. We are always thinking of you and praying for you down here in Madtown. A belated congrats to you and Karen for your anniversary!

Leave a Reply

