Round 1 or Round 16?-either way it is over.

I survived my latest trip on the chemo drugs.  My infusion day was pretty rough, just because I was feeling so good and healthy going in.  I got just enough sleep each day to help me get by.  Karen was actually sick with the stomach flu on day 1, so Karen’s Mom had to come save the day again.  Karen was upstairs in bed sick while I was stuck on the coach.  We used our cell phones to communicate throughout the afternoon/evening.

The side effects I feel on this regiment:  heart burn, stomach ache, head ache, nausea, raspy voice, dizzy, muscle spasms, sore throat, cold sores, hair loss(although not yet) diarrhea and constipation.  I am feeling good right now, but similar to a pregnant mother.  I want to snack all the time to try and alleviate the yucky feeling once my stomach gets empty.

I stumbled upon James 1 two weeks ago and found it fitting:

Dear Brothers and Sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.  For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.  So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.

Honestly I have to tell you that I don’t feel great joy while I am on chemo.  But I do feel it once I have bounced back, and that I am so thankful for.  They can keep throwing stuff at me and I promise to keep getting back up!

Here is another picture of Jaxson trying to throw back every rock he could find on a beach.  This picture was taken at sunset in Grand Marais.  It was the 4th beach we had been to that day.  I asked him how in the world did God put all of these rocks on all of these beaches everywhere we went.  He looked at me stoically and said, “Because God is all powerful.”  He then turned back to the beach and kept throwing his rocks.  Something to think about…

DSCN0318

Thank you for all your love, prayers, thoughts and gifts.  We are doing well and continuing to battle through everything in front of us.

Chris

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Round 1 or Round 16?-either way it is over.

  1. Randy & Kelli

    We are continuing to hold you in our thoughts each and every day. We are always so anxious to get your next update as we are always wondering how things are going for you guys. Wow….Those are wise words from such a little guy! Your faith and outlook is making such a big and positive impact on your sons. We hope you and Karen will start to feel better soon for the weekend. We love you guys.

  2. PAT

    LOVE SURROUNDS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY EVERY DAY AND THE LORD IS ALWAYS THERE BRING WHAT YOU NEED TODAY! YOUR INCREDIBLE MOTHER IN LAW THE BLESSINGS THAT SURROUND YOU ARE AMAZING!! THE PEOPLE OUT HERE LOVING AND PRAYING EACH AND EVERYDAY FOR YOU ARE YOUR OWN PERSONAL WARRIORS! WE ARE ALWAYS HERE!1 JUST KEEP REACHING OUT AND THERE NEVER WILL BE A TIME THAT YOU ARE ALONE IN ALL OF THIS BATTLE!! NEVER!!!

  3. Lo

    hi, chris! i love those lake superior shots:) you and your family are always in my prayers.

  4. Lisa Coleman

    The congregation at Bethany United Methodist in Madison is praying for you too.

  5. Chris and Karen – we think of you often and have kept you all in our prayers over the last several months. You have amazing strength Chris and are a man to be admired in many ways.
    Take care, Dave and Missy

  6. Suzy and Marissa Welch

    Chris-

    Just wanted to send you a birthday wish. I hope all things are going well. Hope your day was a well rested one. God bless to you and your family.

  7. Andrea Neste

    Chris Baty
    Chris Baty
    For months I have had this name in my head and I didn’t know why, now I do. And I thought of you again yesterday when I wrote the date, CB 10/4 , I remember every year and chuckle it’s Chris’ Birthday! I hope that you had a wonderful day. I see that you have a very strong prayer chain and I will be adding my name to it, you will be in my prayers daily.
    Be strong my friend.

  8. Cindy Beaver

    Wow – your constantly upbeat and prayerful entries are a source of wonder and encouragement for me, and I’m not undergoing even half of what you are! You amaze me.

    We pray for you every night.

Leave a Reply

