Facing Goliath

When you were a kid your parents probably dragged you to Sunday school and you inevitably heard about the story of David and Goliath.  Now looking back doesn’t it seem almost like a fable or an old wives tale?  But if you want to read the historical reference check out 1st Samuel 17.  As the story went Israel was once again under attack by a hostile nation and people-the Philistines.  The Philistines were camped on one side of a valley and the Israelites were on the other side.  The Philistines had a champion who was a giant who stood over 9 feet tall.  This is one of Jaxson’s favorite stories.  So last time to make the story more impactful, we actually took out a tape measure just to see how big Goliath was.  Let’s just say he barely fit into any area of our house.  Every day for 40 days Goliath came out and challenged anyone to come and do battle with him. Saul and the rest of the army of Israel was terrified-no one would take him up on the challenge.  One day our hero, David, was told by his father to bring food to his brothers that were at the battle.  David arrived at the battle lines just as Goliath again made his daily challenge.  David didn’t think twice about it and decided that he would take on this giant. David took 5 stones from a stream, put them in his sling and walked up to face Goliath.  David said to Goliath, “You are coming to fight me with a sword.  But I’m coming against you in the name of the Lord who rules over all.”  David then ran forward undaunted and slung one stone at the giant.  The stone hit Goliath in the forehead sinking in and killing him.

It seems like every time I face another round of chemo it is like facing Goliath.  Every two weeks I again have to walk into that valley and take on the 9 foot giant.  Really Goliath should be the cancer, but when you are in the middle of all this chemo. the real battle feels like all the poison they put in you and the after effects.  For the first time, Dr. Duane asked me if I felt comfortable taking on another round.  I don’t think I said it with as much bravado as David, but I said I would.  My blood counts were low-here is some comparisons:

Norm. Range      Dec. 16            Dec. 2           Nov.18th

White Blood cells              3.8-11.0               3.8                    4.8                    4.3

Red Blood Cells                 4.2-5.9                  3.99               4.22                   4.29

Hemoglobin                      13.4-17.5               12.5               12.8                  12.8

Platelets                              140-450                 94                   118                     104

Bilirubin                                 .2-1.2                    1.0                   1.7                      .9

So all my counts dropped, including the Bilirubin-but that was the one count that we needed to drop-and it dropped significantly-so that was good.

So I am taking on Goliath again. What is the Goliath in your life?  Depression, Divorce, Sickness, Cancer, a Failing business, Loneliness etc???  Step into the valley and take him on, you will notice that all your supporters are back on top of the valley cheering you on, praying for you, hoping for the best-but only you can go into that valley.  Just take David’s advice along with mine-Go with God-and leave victorious.

Peace,

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Facing Goliath

  1. Laurie T

    Wow Chris, Your message left me with tears and a desire to find my Goliath. You are amazing to me! I know I could never have gone thru as many chemo treatments as you have, but you still have a fantastic attitude and are able to help all of your supporters along the way. Thank you! Keep up the good fight. Merry Christmas to you, Karen and the boys.

  2. Todd and Marissa Welch

    Your continued strength is such an incredible inspiration.

  3. Cindy Beaver

    wow – you are amazing, and ALWAYS in our prayers.

  4. Aunt Val & Eli

    Chris,
    Thank You!! 🙂 I’m thankful that I read your letter first thing this morning. I have a lot to do today, and now I know that I can do it!! You are truly a blessing to me. Even though I don’t comment very often, I’m always checking in to see how you are doing!

    You are in our prayers!

    A very Merry Christmas and a Happy, Healthy New Year to You, Karen, and the ‘guys’.

    We Love You

  5. Diana and Randy Miller

    Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and a blessed healthy 2010.

Leave a Reply

