No Round 9 of chemo

Last Tuesday I was awake for 2 hours in the middle of the night.   I got this sudden thought or Word in my head that chemo wasn’t going to happen this time.  The next day I told my wife,  Jeannie (my friend at work) and later Jill(my sister-in-law) that chemo. wasn’t going to happen this week.  I told them something was going to happen-that either my blood work wasn’t going to be good or someone or something was going to intercede with me having chemo.  this time.  And that is what happened!

My Dad drove me to chemo like normal today.  On my way there I told him too that I didn’t think it was going to happen.  Dr. Duane (my Oncologist) came in and we started reviewing how my last round went.  He generally goes over all the main issues that happen to me(bleeding/bowel issues/mouth and throat sores/fatigue/nausea).  Step by step as we went through them he learned that all of the side effects were stronger and getting worse.  That being said, I told him that I still worked 45 hours last week, taught Sunday school and still took part in all my family activities etc…  We then got the blood work back and one number came back lower-the white blood cell count.  That number has been steadily dropping, it was at 2.9.  That in and by itself would not hold back chemo, but it was borderline.  My platelets actually rebounded.  A third determining factor for him(which we already knew) was that my surgeon was going to be out of town for my next scan on Jan. 25th.  So the plan was that his associate would review the results and make the big decision if we move to surgery or if we stick with chemo.  Dr. Duane said, “Chris I know how strong and determined you are, but I don’t think that we should do chemo today.”  “I think we should move up the scans and not do another round.”

So we are doing scans this Friday-send your good thoughts and prayers my way for Friday.  Specifically what we are looking for:  no spread of the cancer, no new growths  and that the largest tumor is reduced greater than 50% or of course that it is completely gone.  I am not sure how quickly I will learn the results.

Now I am just loving life away from chemo!  It has been a tough 4 months of non-stop rounds.  Sarah and Pete were nice enough to again come down tonight and take care of the guys so we went out to eat and even Mall walked-a little I still have no strength or stamina.

Thank you for your faithful prayers and thoughts.  We really appreciate them and need them.  By the way, listen when you get Word from up above.

Loving Life in Lakeville,

Chris

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “No Round 9 of chemo

  1. Brad

    Hi Chris –

    The Fritz’s will pray for you and your family for positive news on Friday. Continue to stay strong!

    Brad

  2. Andrew James

    I’ll be thinking about you on Friday with good vibes. Must feel good to not be sick all the time.

    Good luck!!!!!!!!

  3. Vicki

    God will be watching over you and all of your family during this scan …. I will continue to pray for a complete healing of your body, mind and soul. May God also be alongside of all the hospital people working with you during this scan. May they see, through you, a Christ they too would like to know! Bless you, my God-Brother!

    Vicki

  4. Aunt Val & Eli

    You are in our thoughts and prayers. Extra prayers will be going up for good results in your scan on Friday.
    God Loves you and so do we!!

  5. Cheryl Stainer

    Interestingly, tomorrow we are doing a family outing to a local church where Brent’s cousin is the youth pastor. He encouraged us to come earlier this month for a prayer session that he has orchestrated with different regions in the church for different types of prayer (Trying to get people to realize how easy it is to talk to God). Anyway, I find it amazing that we will be going on the day you will be having the scans. Our whole family will lift you and the rest of your family up in united prayer.

    I am so glad you keep us posted as to what is going on.

    Have an awesome day,

    Cheryl

  6. PAT

    CHRIS & KAREN,
    the only thing I want you to realize right now is that you are surrounded with love and prayers. God will ahndel all of the rest! We are all here praying that the Lord wraps you tighter in Hi hands and gives you peace! burl and I are praying for love,healing and peace for you.
    you are surrounded in love!
    pat

  7. BURL

    CHRIS & KAREN,
    the only thing I want you to realize right now is that you are surrounded with love and prayers. God will ahndel all of the rest! We are all here praying that the Lord wraps you tighter in Hi hands and gives you peace! burl and I are praying for love,healing and peace for you.
    you are surrounded in love!
    pat

  8. Suzy and Marissa Welch

    Chris-
    I can’t tell you how much I am inspired by your strength and courage. You have made me feel I can survive things that I didn’t think I could. You are the strongest and most couragesous person I know. I believe you are the miracle that God has and I will continue to pray and pray and pray for you and your family. God bless. Lots of love from me to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

