Doing well

Overall I am doing very well and getting stronger and healthier each day.  My “cold” last week turned out to be a chemo mouth sore outbreak.  At least that is what I am going with.  I had a scratchy/sore throat for a few days before actually opening my mouth and checking it out.  What I found was 3-4 bright red spots across the roof of my mouth-very painful.  The pain from them was enough to wake me up and keep me up at night.  Luckily for me I have a medicine cabinet full of drugs.  I chose Vicodin to help me sleep for 3-4 nights and that worked great.  I did have my throat checked out by a couple throat experts(my mother-in-law) and a nurse practitioner.  They both thought that it could have been strep, but the tests proved to be negative.  Eventually the mouth sores went away.  We looked it up on-line and found that chemo patients can still get mouth sores up weeks after their last treatment.  So I still don’t think I have gotten a cold-the streak continues.

I did have yet another scan last week.  I got a call from the Radiology dept telling me to come in for yet another scan(4th in 3 weeks).  The scan went smooth and it was just in preparation for my Angiogram which is next Thursday-the 11th.

This week has been my first week this year without some sort of scan/appointment going on-and I am loving it.  Brenden has taken my place on the medical report as he has the flu.  He seems to be handling it pretty well.  Hopefully none of the rest of us catches it.

I will post more next week.  For those of you curious about Pray for the Cure-the next meeting is Feb. 15th from 7-9 p.m.

Thank you for all your thoughts and prayers.  We are doing well and enjoying our “healthy” time right now.

Chris

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Doing well

  1. Pat

    CHRIS, PRAISE THE LORD FROM WHOM ALL BLESSING FLOW! THE LORD AND ONLY THE LORD HAS YOUR BACK!

    CHRIS,
    YOU MAY WANT TO TRY THIS: GO iChemoDiary.com it will help you determine what is going on some times with lasting side effects from that awful stuff CHEMO! JUST SOMETHING ELSE TO DO!

  2. Lisa Coleman

    hey chris,
    happy to hear that you are feeling pretty good. if you get a minute sometime could you repost the sisu hat pic? the link seems to be bad – can’t see it in my browser. would love to see how well you are wearing it!

Leave a Reply

