Radiation Week

Well this is the big week for trying the new treatment.  This treatment seems to be getting popular with stage 4 colon cancer patient.   Last week I found out about two others that are having the same treatment.  They must be having some success with it since they are moving some of us in that direction.

I have really just been enjoying life these past 8 weeks.  No chemo means every day is a good day.  I am still battling my Cold, but it is nothing compared to chemo.  Karen has been photographing a lot of weekend hockey tournaments so it has been a whole lot of “Boys Weekends” with just me and the guys hanging out.  Now when I feel “beat up” it is not due to my chemo treatments but rather:   snowball fights, snow fort making, football inside the house(yeah we don’t tell Karen about that), doing timed running races around the house, playing good guys/bad guys, etc…

Wednesday at 10:30 a.m. I will take on the two remaining tumors again.  The procedure will last only about 45 minutes, but it will take most of the day with all the prep and recovery.  For the first 24 hours after, I am still “radioactive” so I plan to stay away from the family as much as possible.  The radiation treatment causes fatigue, abdominal cramps and nausea.  The doctors said  that I can resume my normal activities after about 2-3 days.  I am still hoping to work on Friday, but I won’t push it.  My Mom is coming to help us out this time.

Two other things:  I was one of the nominees to be on WCCO, butt(spelling intended) didn’t make the final cut.  Also people have been asking if we are going to create a team for this years colon cancer walk and the answer is “yes”.  I think I/we will be able to get something out to you within the next couple of weeks.  This year the event is 3 weeks later so hopefully it will be a little warmer weather.

Overall, life is good and I am thankful for every day.  I am feeling good and peaceful as we move into the next phase.  I will post something later this week to let you know what it feels like to be radiated.   If you are really bored and want to read more about this process, here is a link:  http://www.umgcc.org/sir-spheres/about_sirt.html

Thank you for all your prayers, comments and cards.  They definitely come at the right time and brighten our moods.  If you read the comments from the last post, you will see what I mean….

Time to fight again…

Chris

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Radiation Week

  1. Vicki

    I will be praying for you this morning.
    Lord, I pray for Chris right now that all goes well today, that you watch over the medical staff, and that Chris will feel no pain, discomfort, or any side effects from this treatment. We know you are the Great Healer, Lord, so shrink the tumors in Chris’ body and take away anything that doesn’t belong there. Bless him and his entire family. Hold them close. In Jesus’ precious name, AMEN!
    Hold tight Chris, you’re in for a God-Ride!

    Vicki

Leave a Reply

