Still going strong two years in.

It has been a slow recovery this time.  The higher chemo + a fever=me being pretty weak for the past two weeks.  I finally seemed to pull out of it on Sunday.  I have been taking Anti-biotics to destroy anything left over from the fever/virus that I had.  They still are not sure what happened, which does make me a little aprehensive heading into round 27 tomorrow.  At times I get frustrated that I am not recovering quicker and do not feel stronger.  I have been dropped to my knees so many times it is hard to remember them all.  Then I do remember that it has been a long two years.  I have had 26 rounds of chemo(4-5 recovery days for each), a radiation treatment, 3 major surgeries, 1 minor surgery and 34 days spent in hospitals.  Not to mention that I have cancer in 2-3 organs that wants to slow my body down.  Then I get amazed how well I am doing.  I still work, help coach soccer and now baseball, help out around the house, teach Sunday School at church, help out Tuesday nights with our Addiction Recovery group and still manage to play Good Guys and Bad Guys with Jaxson when I am strong enough.  I truely believe there is only one explanation-God just keeps telling me to get up and He gives me the strength to get up and keep moving forward.  Please watch the video link below, click on the link and then click on the screen that comes up, I think this song states it best:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsWaFBq8cm0

Love,

Chris

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Still going strong two years in.

  1. Cheryl Stainer

    Before I read your post today, I read 2 Corinthians 11:21-30. Your post reminded me of it and you will see why when you look it up. As with Paul, you are running the race that God set out for you to run.

    You may want to check out Ecclesiastes 9:11-12, 1 Corinthians 9:24-27, and Hebrews 12:7-11.

    I didn’t mean for this to end up being a word study, they just seemed to fit your post. I am so glad that you are able to look beyond your daily struggles to see what you are still able to accomplish.

    Always keep in mind that to those who have fought the good fight, have finished the race, and kept the faith; there is in store for them the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to the faithful on that day. (O.k. so I did my own paraphrasing of 1 Timothy 4:7-8) I think your race is far from over, just remember to always keep your eye on the prize and the giver of that prize. I am greatly encouraged to see that you see these very things.

    Have a great day,

    Cheryl Stainer

  2. PAT

    CHRIS,

    Battles all are unique many are loud and bositerous,many are quiet and silent!
    We relish whatever battle emerging from them SECURE IN THE WARMTH AND COMFORT OF FRIENDS,FAMILY THOSE THAT LOVE US DEARLY AND THOSE THAT WE LOVE DEARLY!!
    YOUR BATTLES HAVE BEEN BOTH LOUD AND SILENT!! but you have emerged always in the secure warmth,love comfort of all of us!! EVERYDAY IS A VICTORY IN THIS BATTLE AND YOU ARE ALWAYS IN THE LOVE,WARMTH,AND COMFORT OF ALL OF US!!
    Instead of looking at how big your battle is Remember how big our GOD is . HE WILL CARRY YOU THRU!

Leave a Reply

