Round 30

Round 30 or #7 in this regiment again was unique.  Chuck Beske from church was nice enough to take time off from his job and take me to my appointment.  My Dad was busy for this one.  I met with Dr. Duane first and he said he couldn’t believe how well I was doing and I told him “I’m not sick”.  I know what the scans say but the truth is I feel really good.  He said I am starting to convince him of that fact as well.  I told him about my pain not to far from my port.  He then felt around as said he couldn’t find any definitive lumps and that there was no bruising to the skin and everything looked pretty normal.  The shoulder area closest to the port though he said felt a little asymmetrical.  When he felt around it there was no pain.  He said that possibly the port had a leak or actually I was bleeding slightly below the skin from a needle puncture.  So to be on the safe side we went to radiology for a dye injection and an xray.  Chuck got to experience all the craziness of chemo and also the “what if’s” as he covered me with prayers.  We went to the xray and I re-met my surgeon who placed the port in my chest over 2 years ago.  He took one look at the outside of my skin and guessed there was nothing wrong.  He then told me it has been 10 years since he has seen a port leak.  He then moved me under the xray screen and it confirmed his guess.   There was nothing wrong and everything looked perfect.  So after that 1+ hour delay we were back on the chemo schedule.  Because of the delay I didn’t get to review my blood work with dr. Duane or the reason for the slight pain I was feeling.  My nurse filled me in that it could just be from the needle placement last time and that the pain just resonated a little bit.  My blood work had some good and some bad.  The platelets came up, but only slightly I am now at 50  The last two times I was at 47.  My white blood cells and red blood cells are at normal levels.  My liver numbers continue to slightly get worse, after being so good about 5-6 weeks ago.  I did take some liver support pills for about a month or more and when they ran out my liver was in good shape, so I didn’t purchase more.  With the results going the way they are, I think it is time to purchase more.  They are just called “Liver Support” and were recommended to me by my surgeon and I found them at Nature Valley Whole foods.

So I am on chemo and am feeling o.k. so far.  No fevers but the fatigue is starting to settle in.  Slowly I march toward that Sept. 20th date of scans.  Dr. Duane said I may know the results that night but I may not find them out until the next day.  Either way I am trying not to worry about it.

Thank you for all your thoughts, well wishes and prayers.

God Bless,

Chris

p.s. I am adding more pics to my photo page from this past Summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

