Birthday

I turned 42 this past Monday.  Thanks to everyone for the special cards, balloons, treats and well wishes.  I think I had 50 emails wishing me happy birthday (you get that when you are on Facebook).  That day I got to work at 6 a.m. and looked toward my desk and noticed things floating around it.  I then realized that it was my birthday.  I had forgotten all about it.  Jeannie, Jeanie, Sam and the rest of the crew at work didn’t let me forget.  They had decorated my desk with balloons and cards.  I then got a surprise later in the day from Pat.  She dropped off more balloons, a party hat and all kinds of treats(cheesecake and brownies) for everyone at Pictura to eat.  Pat, as usual, out did herself.  She is starting to become legendary at my workplace with her surprise treats.  See picture below to get a real flavor for what it all looked like.  Karen, I and the guys had gone out to dinner a couple days earlier as Karen and Jaxson had Tae Kwon Do Monday night.  Karen and Jaxson really make me proud with their commitment to their Tae Kwon Do.  They are now working their way through their Green Belts doing flying kicks around the house.    Nothing broken yet…

In an extra special treat, the owner of the Vikings got me the present of a new/old receiver for me to cheer for.  Now if they would only bring back Bud Grant…

The battle in the cancer world continues.  I now have collected a new pain.  My spleen is now so enlarged that it presses into other body parts causing some discomfort.  In general my whole abdomen seems to be enlarging and it isn’t because I ate all that good cheesecake Pat brought to me.  Not sure what the doc’s will do with all that but I am guessing that they may hold off on chemo again next week.  Only time will tell.  I have visited with 4 Oncologists so sooner or later the group will figure it out.  One Oncologist has been amazingly receptive.  Basically I can email her at any time and she gets back to me as quick as 15 minutes sometime-amazing! I sure will miss that once I am healed.

Thank you for all the love and prayers you are sending my way!  I’m just loving every day I have to spend with my family and all of you.

Blessings,

Bates

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Birthday

  1. Michele Balvin

    Happy Birthday Chris!! Better late than never, right? Glad to hear you’re hanging in there, you look great in the Pictura B-day photo!!

Leave a Reply

