Difficult news

I wish I could meet with everyone individually to explain everything, but that just isn’t possible.   We reviewed the scans from Tuesday.  The cancer in the liver has grown.  The cancer in the lungs is starting to grow out of control.  Previously I had 3-4 spots in my lungs, now the term they use is, “innumerable”.  I will continue to try and receive treatment, but a lot of that is based on blood counts.  My platelets actually improved to 83-the highest they have been since July(?).  My doctor is looking into Clinical Trials at Mayo and other hospitals, but I may not be eligible as my blood counts still may not be good enough.  Drug companies want the healthiest-sickest patients that they can find so it gives their drug the best chance at getting FDA approved.

Long story short, the doctor said that I need to make sure I have everything in order(my Will, my Health-Care Directive, etc..), in case things continue down this path.  I think the biggest point of concern is how rapidly things progressed within the lungs.    I know very scary/yucky stuff.  I will continue to fight as long as my body is willing.  I continue to pray for God’s miraculous healing as well .  I personally know of several people who have been healed in that way.  I still have many faithful pray warriors who are still holding me up praying honestly and fervently for my healing.  I cannot thank you all enough for all the prayers and everything that you do for my family.  I ask that if I don’t get to live out a full life that all of you will take care of Karen, Brenden and Jaxson for me.  Also take care of each other.  Pray for each other.  Heal each other.  Care for each other, don’t hurt each other.  Value life.  Don’t get mad at the little things-they really, really don’t matter.  Most of all-Believe in Jesus and meet me in Heaven!  If I get there before all of you I will have already toured the place and will know all the cool hangout spots.

 

The rest of the appointment:

Hernia:  They can’t do surgery on it as the doctor doesn’t believe I can heal from it  The doc is looking into other ways to deal with this.  I have no idea what they will come up with.

My Cold:  It has almost disappeared.

My Pain:  This is also lessened a bit.

My weight:  The radiology report noted what  ave known for the past 2 months.  I am retaining water-or was.  I got set up for an immediate appointment to get the fluids drained out of my abdominal cavity.  The abdominal wall hasn’t been working right and neither has the Liver.  When that happens, you will retain fluid and get distended.  So my treat for the day was watching them drain 11.5 lbs of water weight out of me . I feel a lot better already.  I now am back to a weight of 157 lbs.  That water weight will slowly gather again and at some point I may have it drained off again.

At this point Karen and I continue to do the best we can.  I am not sure how we will continue to communicate to the kids.  They both know that I am very sick.

If things don’t go as well as I pray they do, Karen, my brother Dave, my parents, Karen’s parents, Pastor Pat and Pat Groeper will be the team I will be leaving in charge if I move into the Hospice phase.  God has blessed and surrounded me with an amazing amount of people.

Again a very difficult email to write…  I desperately wanted to share good news with you.

I just need to take a minute and tell you how great my boss is.  His name is Paul Lilienthal.  Through this all he has kept me employed.  He gives very blunt but sage advice for everything I have gone through. He has some personal experience with this disease.  I don’t always see eye to eye on decisions he makes and do not understand all of his motivations but I at the very least need to lift him up to you as he continues to keep me employed through this all.

There are many, many more I need to lift up to you and will as everything evolves.

For now…life goes on and I am thankful for every day.  I will continue to work and do chemo when able.

 

Love,

 

Chris Baty

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Difficult news

  1. Randy

    Thank you for another inspiring testimonial despite the difficult content of your message. Many of us reading your blog know that miraculous healing can occur, though the details for who gets to experience this kind of healing is less clear. The bigger plan for each of us seems beyond our comprehension.

    I continue to pray that your plan includes sticking around for many more years.

    Thinking of and praying steadily for you.

    You are the best!

    Love, Randy

  2. Shari

    Chris,
    I am so sorry for this devastating news. My heart breaks for you and your family. I will continue to pray for your complete healing. May God’s peace and love surround you now and hold you up.
    Shari

  3. Miriam

    God’s peace to you and your family, Chris! I will continue to pray for healing, and that God will wrap you, Karen and the boys in His loving care.
    Miriam

  4. Diana and Randy Miller

    We are so very sorry for the news you received. We continue to pray for healing for you and strength for you and your family. We do believe in miracles and we are praying you are one of those miracles. We wish you peace, comfort and healthing.

  5. Cindy Beaver

    Tears fill my eyes and heart as I read this post. Like Shari, my heart aches for you and Karen and most especially Brenden and Jaxson. Andrew and I will continue to relentlessly pray for your healing.

    You have been and always will be such a source of inspiration. God has already blessed you and you’ve seen just a touch of the reward he has in mind for you. He will support and sustain you whatever comes next. May God fill you and yours with love and peace.

  6. Judy

    Chris, God has made you an amazing man. I’m grateful you sat down & let us know about the testing. Thank you for this (painful) update. Know that I continue to ask God for complete healing for you. That is what I want for you & your family. I’m grateful for all the people who are able to physically be there for you & your family. They are each a gift.
    One of many partners in prayer-
    Judy E

  7. Heather Moorse

    Dear Chris, your sister Rhonda sent me your update and I was so touched and inspired by it, that I felt compelled to write to you. My sister is also battling the devastating disease of cancer and her faith and yours is amazing! Your advice are words I will pass on and will teach my children. To not hurt each other and to believe in Jesus so we can be together in Heaven. Our lives here are but a prelude to eternity and we have to keep our focus on our eternal home with Jesus. God bless you with reaching out and touching lives of people you don’t even know…the world has been a better place with you in it. I have been praying for you and will continue to pray for God’s grace to surround you in your very difficult life journey. God Bless you Chris! Sincerely, Heather Moorse

  8. Aunt Val & Eli

    My Dear Nephew Chris,
    Thank you for always being you. You are very special, always have been, and always will be. I agree with Judy’s post-‘God made you an amazing man’. Keep up the good fight. There is power in prayer. We contiune to pray for you. We are sending hugs to you Karen, Brenden and Jaxon.
    God Loves You and so do We

  9. Audra David

    Chris,
    I am so sorry to hear this news. I honestly haven’t been following your blog so I haven’t been up to date. You have been such an inspiration to me and you are one of the reasons why I try to work hard each and everyday. I love walking into work and seeing your smiling face first thing. It is such a pleasure!! We have known each other for a long time – those days at Proex seem so long ago. I want you to know that I think about you and your family everyday and I believe that miracles DO happen. You are awesome and amazing!
    xxooxxoo Aud

  10. Tina

    Chris
    Your cousin Tina here. I just wanted you to know you are and have been in my prayers. You are so amazing and inspire me!!!! I pray for a miraculous recovery for you and your family!! Keep fighting!
    Love ya
    Tina

  11. Fred Martin

    Dear Chris,

    Kent Bahr called me last night and passed along the latest news.

    I just want you to know that many of us up here in Bemidji continue to pray for you and your family. And we will keep on praying too!

    Pastor Fred

  12. Tim Holker

    Chris,
    Sorry to hear the less than positive news – thinking of and praying for you!
    Tim

  13. Julie & Dennis Stratton

    Chris & Karen – Just wanted to let you know that we too are continuing to pray for you everyday. Please continue to be strong and not be afraid to lean on those who are they to help you!
    Julie & Dennis

  14. Michelle Bowman King

    ive shared your blog with everyone that follows @villagechurchtx where i attend. other thsn that, all I know to say is, I love you and I’m praying.
    Michelle

  15. Gina Meixner

    Dear Chris- just checking in and sad to see oyu latest results. I am still here with you buddy. Love to Karen & the boys. Thank you for your honest words. Please let me know what I can do.

  16. Jennifer

    Chris,
    I am a co-worker of Dianne’s. We all continue to pray for you and your family. There is power in prayer, and strength. You are an amazing person who inspires others. God bless you, and your family.
    Jennifer H.

  17. Beth Gould

    Chris-

    You are such an inspiration to me and everyone who you have encountered. I will continue to pray for you and your family. All my love!

    Beth

  18. Connie (Streier) Larson

    Chris-
    I haven’t been keeping up on your blog like I should but you are always in my thoughts and prayers. As other people have said, you are an inspiration and are one tough cookie! Keep fighting as long as you can but when it is time, be at peace knowing you did everything you could. Miracles can still happen and with the support group you have, I believe they will.
    I scanned some pictures of us (well, one with both of us in it) that I want to send you but I can’t see how to attach them here. If you send me your email address again, I’ll send them to you. One is your first Christmas (and my second) where I am looking at you like “What is that little thing?” and another baby photo my mom had in her photo album and a third of all of the Koskela cousins that my grandpa had in his photo album. Thought they might put a smile on your face.
    Hang in there!
    -3rd Cousin Connie

  19. Taisa Diedrich

    Oh Chris,
    I could not even get all the way through your blog as the tears came on so hard. I am so sorry….I don’t even know what else to say. I know you have more fight in you and I know you will not give up. But to hear the doctor’s say those words….I know how incredibly difficult that is to process.

    My heart and prayers are with you and your family. I would like to visit you sometime too. Please let me know if that would ever be okay. I realize your wife does not know me, but I am still someone who has been through this and would like to help in any way I can. Please tell her to reach out when needed. I am here.

    In peace, love & finding a cure,
    Taisa

Leave a Reply

