Quick Update

 

I survived Chemo last week.  The picture above was taken before the Holidazzle parade downtown Minneapolis.  I was doing chemo in this photo-hard to tell.  I was feeling that good on Thursday night.  Friday and Saturday I didn’t feel great.  I spent most of those two days in bed.  That was too bad as my sister, my brother-in-law and 2 nieces were in town.  Karen’s parents came to take care of us all-making meals, taking care of the kids and cleaning out all the snow.  One of the neighbors also helped with the snow.  I made it back to work yesterday and will most likely get in a full week.  Everyone at work has just been awesome to me.  Tomorrow I go in to get fluid drained out again.  I don’t think it will be as much fluid as before, but I still imagine a few pounds will come out.  Without the liver working real well, the fluid will just need to be manually drained off every couple of weeks.  Next week I visit with the doctor again and then after Christmas I will have chemo again.

I continue to be blessed with a lot of visitors and a lot of family time.  This week is Brenden’s 8th birthday, a Christmas get together with my dad and then a visit from Kent and Joy Bahr.

Next Monday the 20th is Pray for the Cure at my church from 7-9 p.m.  Anyone is welcome to come and pray with/for me.

Please take time to read through some of the comments from previous posts.  Those comments are such a blessing to me, but I think you will find that they will be a blessing to you as well.  The depth of people’s hearts are amazing.  You will be blessed!

I just wanted to get a quick post out to tell you that I am doing o.k.

Longer posts coming…

Love,

Chris

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Quick Update

  1. Sandra & Tom Richard

    Dear Chris and Family…Just want to let you know that you and your family are in our thoughts and prayers. May you have a Blessed Christmas and may God heal you and restore your health! Tom & Sandy

  2. Shellie

    Chris and Karen, I continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers and I hope you are able to have a peaceful and happy holiday!

  3. Diana and Randy Miller

    Wishing you and your family a very magical and blessed Christmas – and for a healing miracle in 2011.

    Merry Christmas

  4. Bethany and Tom Lempola

    Chris and Karen,
    Just wanted to let you know that we are thinking about you and the boys and sending prayers daily for all of you. See you on Friday 🙂

  5. PAT

    TO ALL OF MY DEAR CHRIS DEAR FRIENDS AND ESPICALLY DDEAR CHRIS & KAREN,
    When I am down and,oh my soul,so weary;When troubes come and my heart brudened be; Then, I am still and wait here in silence,Until you come and sit awhile with me! There is no life without its hunger; Each restless heart beats so imperfectly; But when you come and I am filled with wonder,Sometimes , I think I glimpse eternity.
    you raise me up,so I can stand on mountains; You raise me up to walk on stormy seas I am strong, when I am on your shoulders; You raise me up… TO BE MORE THAN I CAN BE!!! BE JOYFUL THAT THE LORD RAISES CHRIS & FAMILY UP . HE SURROUNDS CHRIS WITH DEEP LOVE AND COMMITMENT TO CARRY HIM THROUGH STORMY SEAS BE JOYFUL IN THAT THE LORD IS WITH EACH OF US HE GAVE US CHRIS SO THAT EACH OF US COULD GIVE HOPE ,LOVE AND JOY TO THE BATYS! THANK YOU DEAR LORD FOR YOUR GIFTS!

  6. Jeanie Johnson

    Chris, Gina has kept me up to date on you and your health. I am crying as I read your blog. Why does bad things have to happen to good people? You and Gina have had such a very long and special relationship and I know you both are very good for each other and continue to be so today.
    You, your wife, kids and family will all be in not only in my prayers but my heart as well.
    I too have read the Shack and found it very interesting. I know you will probably beat your family to heaven, so save a special place for all your loved ones as you WILL all be together again ! That is God’s promise and our faith rest in His promises. You are a wonderful young man and I have always respected you, your wife is blessed to have you as are your kids.
    I am so sorry that the miracle hasn’t happened yet, but don’t give up as everything is possible for God in His time.
    If every person could be as wonderful a person as you are…….what a better world this would be.
    Jeanie (Gina’s Mom)

  7. Beth Gould

    Your strength and attitude has inspired me more than you can possibly know. You have touched me to the core. I hope that the holidays hold much laughter and blessings for you. Before my family and I sit down Christmas Eve for dinner we will say a prayer for you and your family. Have a wonderful time at Brenden’s birthday! All my love!

    Beth

  8. Michele Balvin

    What a great photo! You have such a beautiful family. I’ve been thinking of you often.
    Evan turns 2 this coming Christmas day, I can hardly believe it. My dad calls him his “Little Christmas Miracle” (probably because he didn’t think I’d ever have kids). What a gift.
    I saved an email that you once sent me, I’m going to copy the words to remind you , I hope you don’t mind my sharing it: “I have to say motherhood really becomes you. I really don’t say that about anyone, but it just seems like you were meant to be a Mom. Every time I see you with Evan it looks like you just have such a glow. Evan is awesome and I am glad you are enjoying all the time with him. That time in life is irreplaceable.” Chris you have no idea how much that meant to me, it truly was the best compliment ever.
    I share that because I want you to know how your experience and your kind words have inspired me. Because of you I love more. I hold my Evan just a little bit longer before I put him to bed. I hold him tight. I kiss him more. I cherish our time together because I know that time changes things. But time won’t change love, love is so powerful. I wish you and Karen and the boys much love this season. Thank You for spreading the love.
    -Michele

  9. Theresa Connelly

    Hi Chris,

    What a beautiful photo and family! It’s alway great to see your smiling face! I miss that and the talks we use to have at work. It seemed like it didn’t matter what the topic was, but I always walked away inspired and encouraged – wishing I was more like you, with off the chart levels of positive energy and attitude. That’s what success is all about and you are a highly successful man, my friend.

    You are a true gift to the world, Chris.

    I hope the Holidays are overflowing with laughter, love, peace and joy for you and your family. You are all in our hearts and prayers.

    Hugs, Theresa

  10. CHris, been thinking about you a lot lately. Glad you guys got out to the parade. Would you believe I’ve never been to that!? Sounds like you’ve got a lot of love in your life which is awesome. Here’s to a great Christmas for you and yours and hopefully I’ll be seeing you soon.

    Cheers my friend,
    Andrew

  11. Cheryl Stainer

    Hi Chris,

    A couple of days ago, I was checking your blog to see how things were going and read the news. I started to respond but didn’t really feel I had the right words and time enough to get them in my head correctly. I really wanted to watch the message that you posted on your website, but as I would have it again I did not have the time.

    I just sat down and watched the message you shared. After watching it, I couldn’t help but think of 2 Corinthians 11:16-33 which is titled “Paul boasts about his Sufferings”. Since you have been walking with Christ you have been battling on all fronts of your life, just as Paul had to. Before I had a chance to find these passages in my Bible, the other thought that popped into my head was that Paul also complained of “A thorn in his Side” that God would not take away, even though he had asked on many occasions. Not what I really wanted to share with you, but I found it interesting that it is right next to all the hardships that Paul went through 2 Corinthians 12:1-10.

    I felt, 2Corinthians 12:9 is what God wants me to share with you. “But he (that’s God) said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

    After reading these verses and seeing all the times Paul calls himself a fool and talks about his weakness, it brings to mind another couple of verses that within the last 10 years I have started to base my life on. 1 Corinthians 1: 26-31 My favorite verse comes just before this, verse 25: for the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of god is stronger than man’s strength.

    I pray for you and your family on a regular basis. I had to laugh the day the kids started their new class on “Ancience Egyptian Science” their teacher looks like Karen (her hair may not be quite as curly) and she has the same amount of energy. So even at school I am sending up prayers for Karen and the rest of her family.

    I am so glad that you are a part of the family of God!!!!

    Cheryl

  12. Gina Meixner

    Such a bummer Prayer group was cancelled tonight. Rest assured the prayers for you were not cancelled! I spent every glorious minute of my hour & half home praying for you, Karen & the boys. Look forward to seeing you soon-let me know if there’s a reschedule.

  13. Hey Chris,
    Good to hang out with you today. Loved the ‘ripple’ insights!
    Merry Christmas and Bless ya!
    Mike

  14. Lisa Coleman

    Chris,
    Just a quick note to wish you a Merry Christmas. We are thinking of you and yours down here in Madtown. Christmas is all about hope, and I just want you to know that I continue to pray for a miracle for you. But most of all I pray for the gift of peace for you and Karen and the boys, so that you can savor your time together, whether it is for one more hour or 50 more years. Your other readers and I have learned more than you know from you – thank you again for sharing this journey, good and bad, with us.
    Your friend,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

