What Do You Believe? What’s Next?

I  love spending time in the presence of Karen, the guys, family, friends, co-workers, my church  etc…! I am so thankful for it each day.  I want it to continue.  The problem is that we live on this earth and everyone dies at some point-whether it be from cancer, another deadly disease or just old age. I was in the waiting room today with 95 year old patient and a 98 year old patient.  When it was decided that things were getting a little too busy in that area of the hospital, can you guess who they sent to the other side of the hospital for his procedure.  You guessed right, this 42 year old had to walk down to another area to get taken care of.  I didn’t mind at all and just looked back at the two of them in amazement.  If I lived as long as them I wouldn’t even be at the half way point yet.  Can you imagine how many more blog entries I could get out over those years?

When you are given a terminal diagnosis, you are forced to come face to face with…”What happens after this life is over?”  Suddenly you are given a new perspective on this life.  No longer do you take those moments that you get to spend with loved one’s for granted, instead you cherish each second of it.  Each and every hug means so much more.

I remember a little over two years ago, my roommate in the hospital was dying.  His name was Jim LeBlanc and I would guess he was in his early 60’s.  He had stage 4 colon cancer, chemo was not working and it only made him sicker-that is how he ended up in the bed next to me.   A hospice nurse came into review things with his wife Sandy and the rest of his family.  They decided that going home with Hospice care was the thing to do vs. trying to do anything more to fight the disease.  After they all left room, Jim and I talked for a little bit.  He was concerned about me and my young family.  He told me he hoped that I would never have to face the hard choice that they just had to make.  We talked about Twins baseball and drinking Corona’s with limes in them-it was one of his favorite treats in life.  The day before he was supposed to leave the hospital the Chaplin came to visit with him.  Jim was a christian but was still scared when e thought about his own mortality.  I was blessed to be able to listen from my side of the curtain.  Here is a summary of their conversation…

The Chaplin asked, “Do you believe that there was a man who walked the face of the earth and his name was Jesus?”  Jim said that he did.  Next the Chaplin asked, “Do you believe that Jesus was the son of God?”  Jim said he agreed with that too.  Then He asked Jim, “Do you believe that Jesus can forgive our sins?”  Jim said that he did.  Lastly he asked Jim,  “Do you believe that Jesus is still alive and in Heaven right now?”   Jim said that He did.  In that short conversation the Chaplin had pointed out what the whole bible is really all about and that there was nothing to worry about when it comes to “What happens next?”.   It all came down to John 3:16 and Jim was at peace as he left the hospital the next day.  I haven’t spoken to him since.  The doctors told Jim that he would live another 9 months and would have plenty of time to enjoy a few more Corona’s.  Jim died just 4 days later.  I wasn’t even released from the hospital for about 10 more days after that conversation.  I called his house a few weeks later and found out from his wife what had happened.  I know his son Eric was with him when he died and that Jim was at peace.

So I again ask you individually-what do you believe?  I know you know what I believe.  None of our tomorrows are guaranteed.   I continue to pray and cry out to God for my complete healing.  But I am at peace when I think ahead to what it will be like to spend eternity in the presence of Karen, the guys, my family and friends and all the rest of you who would like to join the party.  As Brenden or Jaxson pointed out, “Eternity is  like millions and millions of years”.

John 3:16

 

Chris

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “What Do You Believe? What’s Next?

  1. Beth Gould

    I think about you all the time. Whenever I get irritated by “the little things”, I think of you and a sense of peace comes over me. I look to you for strength all the time. You have really inspired me. I can not tell you how much this blog and you honesty about your experience has effected not only me, but everyone. You are so amazing. I pray for you healing every day. All my love!

  2. Kent and Joy

    Great job Chris! Jesus Christ, perfect, and Gods son gave the costliest gift ever, his own life, to give us life. All for us to do is to say Yes and recieve it. WOW! It cost Him everything and was free for me. I’m glad you said yes. I’m glad I said yes. I hope all those we love will say yes too. Kent

  3. Missy Schwake

    John 10:10 “…I have come so that they may have life and have it to the full.” Jesus not only gives us eternal life when we choose to surrender to Him, but he offers us a full and abundant life right now! Chris, could you ever have imagined the full life you have led the past 2 years despite your awful circumstances?! Your life is a testamony to the awesome power Jesus has to change lives. Thank you for sharing your life with us. My prayers for you continue.

    Blessings,
    Missy

  4. Jeanie Johnson

    Chris, thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings. And for the reminder of what is most important in life. You are one strong man and you are in my heart and prayers. Jeanie

  5. Cindy Beaver

    I ditto all of the comments above, when I struggle with my daily life and challenges I think of you and how gracefully you’ve handled your illness. I also think of how deep your faith is and how confident I am that he loves you and holds you in his arms.

    I have one more perspective to share. It comes from a prayer that Harry Wendt, founder of Crossways, sent out in his recent monthly mailing. In that prayer he writes:
    “Help us to understand that we are citizens of a Kingdom that will never end–and that death will merely deliver us into Your eternal presence where we will praise You and serve each other to all eternity. ”

    We have nothing to fear from death, it is just a passing on to a new and better/closer existence with our heavenly Father who loves us. The hard part is leaving this earthly world and all that we know and love here. Trust in God to watch over the things you care about here. You don’t have the control nor the power to do that. Only HE can. And if you ask Him, He will.

    Be at peace, my dear dear friend.
    -Cindy
    P.S. Thanks again for helping chaperone Andrew’s birthday party. The kids had a great time. You’re so remarkable in making the most of all those precious moments while you have the strength & ability to do so. Causes me to stop my rushing around getting things crossed of my “list” and remember to take time to do the same. We all should live as if this were our last day. The purpose in life is NOT to get everything on our list crossed off but to love one another.

  6. Mary Nelson

    Chris, I am without words. You rock 🙂

  7. Cheryl Stainer

    Awesome words!!! You have just fulfilled Acts 1:8. It may not be in Jerusalem, Samaria, but this is definately the “other parts of the world”. So glad to see the spirit working in your life. I look forward to the day when we can all be together, after our graduation from this life, with Jesus.

  8. PAT

    OMG SUCH POWERFUL AND LOVING WORDS FROM EVRYONE! CHRIS & KAREN, YOUR LIVES HAVE BEEN SUCH AN AMAZING EXAMPLE OF HOW OUR LORD WORKS ! WHAT BLESSINGS THE LORD HAS BESTOWED ON ALL OF US THROUGH THE LIVES OF THE BATY’S!ALL THE LORD ASK US TO DO IS TO BEAR WITNESS ,TO SHOW OTHERS THE WAY,THE TRUTH AND THE LIGHT! A SINCERE THANK YOU FOR YOU BEING OUR GUIDE THROUGH YOUR AMAMZING JOURNEY AND SHOWING US THE TRUE MEANING OF FAITH,HOPE AND STRENGTH OF CHARACTER! CHRIS, MY DEAR DEAR SOUL A JOB WELL DONE! MAY YOU & YOU R LORD WALK HAND & HAND TOGETHER AS THE LORD IS THE ONLY ONE WHO IS CLEAR IN HIS DIRECTION AND HE KNOWS WHERE YOU SHOULD BE SO WE ALL MUST HAVE FAITH NOW THAT & HOPE THAT YOU KNOW THAT YOUR DEAR LORD & SAVIOR HAS YOUR LIFE RIGHT WHERE IT SHOULD BE AND YOU ARE IN HIS LOVING HANDS!!
    CHRIS, YOU HAVE SHOWN US ALL HOW TO CHOSE LIGHT,HOPE,MEANING AND JOY! THANK YOU FOR SHOWING ME HOW TO BE A TRUE SPIRITUAL WARRIOR!

Leave a Reply

