MN Timberwolves

 

Todd Levos from Pictura and Jim Buffo and the MN Timberwolves created an amazing night for our family last Wed. night.  We had courtside tickets to the basketball game, free food, valet parking, basketballs that were signed by the players and a tour of the lockeroom area.  It was one of those nights the kids will remember for the rest of their lives.  We felt truly blessed.  Below I have some of the pictures from the night.

On Thursday my dad, Pat, myself and Dr. Duane reviewed the CT scan and my latest bloodwork.  the scan did not show any definitive answers for why I have had more pain recently.  We had thought that the cancer may have spread to other areas or organs, but that was not seen.  So to handle the pain, we just stepped up the dosages a little bit.  I know take the pain pills even before the pain starts.  The scan did show that the 6 tumors in the liver are all growing at a decent rate.  The tumors in the lungs are growing, but not by a lot.  We then looked at the blood work and my liver numbers showed some improvement.  The bilirubin was the most surprising.  Tat number dropped to 1.6.  A normal liver functions around 1.2  That number was the best my liver number has been in 4 months.  all of my other numbers were pretty good too.  My platelets were at 73-again not a bad score, they have been as low as 40.  After reviewing all the numbers and the results, we were left uncertain how to go forward.  I am still eligible to take chemo, and I have two options.  The hesitancy with chemo is due to the pain that I have been having.  We just don’t know what chemo will do to that pain.  also, even though my blood numbers are good, there is still concern that the side effects of the chemo could make me feel really, really sick or put me in the hospital or both.  We just don’t know.  The last option is of course, stopping all treatments.  The treatments are pretty terrible and steal away quality time. When I left the hospital we just decided I need to get my rest and monitor the pain over the next 3-4 days and then I would make a decision on what to do.  It is a tough decision, but one I know that God will lead me through.  I have been praying about it as I know others of you have been as well.   I will make that decision Mon or Tuesday and then we will move forward.  Monday I am supposed to have more fluid drained, although I don’t feel that I am too bloated yet.  The last 3 nights I have slept more and more and the pain has been less-Praise God!  I actually have spent more than a few hours in a bed at night vs. sleeping in a recliner, like I have for the past 2-3 weeks.

With all of this going on, it only made sense that I end my tenure at Pictura.  Paul, my boss, has been more than gracious through this whole process.  Karen and I cannot thank him enough.  I know that will not end now.  The employees of Pictura too, have been amazing.  I wish that I could do more, but know that physically it is not very feasible.  Taking 4-8 pain med.’s every 24 hours does not make for a very good work schedule.

I would ask tat you pray for wisdom in the decisions I need to make going forward.  I will also ask for you to pray for peace for Karen and I.  We have an amazing amount of support, but as you can imagine, this is very challenging.

Thank you to all who came to pray with me today at church.  It was an amazing turn out.  It was neat to see my mom, dad, sister, brother, best friends, work friends, nephew, niece, people who pray for me, people who I pray for, in-laws etc… all around the circle.  Thank you for taking the time out of your schedules and lives to come gather around me and lift me up.

Overall I am doing o.k. and feel very loved and peaceful.

Love,

 

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “MN Timberwolves

  1. Deb Reindl

    Chris,
    I am one of Karen’s miriad of cousins. I have been following what you are going thru and reading your blog. I will continue to pray for all of you. I only hope that when it is my turn to be called home, I will have the same grace and conviction you do.
    Sounds like you have quite a memorable time at the basketball game!
    God Bless

  2. Laura Ault

    Hi Chris,
    Just wanted to say that I’m keepin’ you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.
    I’ll miss seeing you at work! 🙂
    Take care, and stay warm!
    -Laura

  3. Wow that looks like it was a lot of fun! I’m sure the cheerleader bit was difficult to endure.

    Sending you a virtual hug my friend…

Leave a Reply

