Still doing well

I have slowly bounced back from the chemo.  I have been just taking it slow and actually stayed off the computer for 2-3 days (I know a lifetime for many of us in this day and age). I thought I should do a quick post to update you.

The pain did not increase through the chemo-which was a concern.  Actually I have had less pain of late.  Also, I have actually gotten more sleep.   For the first time in many weeks, I actually slept in my own bed.  Dec. 24th I slept in my bed and then I didn’t make it back to my own  bed until this past Sat. night-Jan. 15th.  I had been getting some sleep in our downstairs bed, but found it a major accomplishment just to get back to my own bed upstairs.  I just thank God for all of that.

Without working you may think I get bored, but somehow I stay busy.   I don’t have the energy I used to and I still take pain pills every day so it is not like I ever have too much energy.  Last week I was feeling really good one day and slowblowed 4 neighbors driveways.  Then there are days like this past Monday where it was a lot of work just getting to and from the hospital to get my fluid drained.  They drained off over 12 lbs. and after wards I just felt crampy and tired so I slept for a couple more hours.  If I am not resting I am either reading(have received 4 books within past week), watching movies, helping around the house, volunteering at church, attending prayer services and attending our regular services.  I had a some great company the past few days at church and Pray for the Cure.  My friends Gina, Jeannie G. and Vicki and Brad Wifler joined me Monday night.  Sunday I was joined by Jon Opsal.

Overall I just wanted to drop a quick post and let you know I am doing well.  I get fluid drained off again a couple more times before the next chemo.  The next chemo and blood work is a week from today.  I don’t really worry about any of that.  I just takes what God gives me today and am thankful for it.  Hopefully I will continue to have less pain, more sleep and more love and friendship. My life is in His hands.

Blessings,

Chris

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Still doing well

  1. Taisa Diedrich

    What a beautiful post!!!! You amaze me and I find your words so uplifting!
    Stay strong!!!!!

    Taisa

  2. Bethany Lempola

    Chris and Karen,
    SO happy to read that you are still feeling okay Chris- your posts are so amazing and really are inspiring to read. I wanted to share with both of you that over the last week, I was lucky enough to sub for both Jaxson and Brenden’s teachers at school. I just wanted to pass along to you what amazing little boys you are raising together. They are kind, helpful, considerate, great listeners, and overall, a joy to be around. I may be somewhat partial to them, but I wanted to relay the message to you; although I am sure it is one that you are already well aware of! Our thoughts and prayers continue to be with you all- hope to see you soon!

  3. Anonymous

    CHRIS & KAREN,
    I so see the two of you & I see miralces everyday in your lives! As I watch this family live their lives, sometimes I fell so strongly & see so clearly what Chris has gone through is all in the Lords plans then I will lose faith & hope & can not make sense of all of this, but then I see Chris up & smacking this horrfic decease right in the face AGAIN!! I KNOW IN THAT IN MY HEART THAT THE LORD IS SO GOOD & JUST WRAPS HIS ARMS AROUND CHRIS & FAMILY & WHISPERS ALL IS WELL CHRIS!! I AM HERE WITH YOU!!!

  4. Theresa Connelly

    Hi Chris,

    It was so great to see you at service and offer prayers with you! I’m hoping with the decrease in pain and better rest your exeriencing, that our prayers are being answered…and will continue!! It’s powerful stuff and you’re the perfect recipient. You have an incredible group of family, friends and support. It was so amazaing to hear reference to the ripple effect in the prayer session because that is just how I would describe your influence and blessing on others. Bless you Chris!

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    🙂 Theresa

Leave a Reply

