Slowly recovering

On chemo days/weeks it is tough to keep up on everything.  Keeping up on email, blogs, etc… drops on my priority list until I start to feel better.   Sometime in the near future I will have to have Dave take over some of this.  This chemo did really beat me up.  One thing that compounds the effect of the chemo is the fluid build up in my abdomen.  That fluid causes pain and even some nausea as it is just free floating in and around the other organs.  I am trying to come up with a better plan on how to handle this in the near future.

I now have a two week break before I go back on chemo again-that is if my blood work is o.k.  Last week my blood work was still pretty good, although the platelets dropped 9 points and the bilirubin went back up to 2.2(it was 1.6).

I think everyone wonders what I have been up to, especially now that I am not working . The truth is most of my time is spent at doctors appointments or in recovery.  I do manage to find sometime to visit with family and friends, but most of the time you can find me resting peacefully in bed.  This week I have doctors appointments on Mon, Wed and Friday.  Next week I have appointments on Tuesday and Friday.  The week after that I have appointments on Tues, Wed. and Friday.  Physically I am worn down, dizzy and still in some sort of pain most of the time.  The pain, for the most part, has been under control.  But there have been two occasions in the last week that it has been tougher.  Generally, though, I am still getting o.k. sleep during the night.

I just want to say thank you for everyone for their donations and prayers.  We feel tremendously blessed.  Thank you for your generosity.  This has all been very tough.  “…by His Stripes I am healed”.

Love,

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Slowly recovering

  1. Jeanie Johnson

    Oh, Chris……..as we wait for your Miracle I pray that God takes the pain. If only love could make you better, you would have been healed a long time ago. Thank you for keeping up this blog as it is helpful to know how to pray for you. Your poor body it has been through so much. Just know that daily, night and day you are in my prayers and heart. Love you young man!

  2. Mickey

    Hey Cris
    You are in my thoughts everyday. I’m on my 3rd week of retirerment and loving it. And remember you are the one who convicented me to do this now ( by your postings at X-mas on people need to things now and not wait.) You are the strongest person I know and you have taught all of us to be stronger indivieduals. Thank you Chris

    Love
    Mickey

  3. PAT

    CHRIS & KAREN,
    GOD DOES GIVE US MORE THAN WE CAN HANDLE TO DRIVE US TOWARDS HIM BECAUSE BEING IN HIS ARMS BEING SURROUNDED BY HIS EVERLASTING LOVE IS THE VERY SAFEST PLACE WE CAN BE1
    yOU ALL ARE WRAPPED IN OUR LOVE & PRAYERS TOO!!

  4. Chandra Joki

    I don’t think any of us out hear reading your blogs wonder what you have been doing, we wonder…… how do you do it! You are amazing!

  5. Karen Bannor-Hebeisen

    Dear Chris & Family-
    I have been following your story ever since Ingeri Froiland(Milam) gave me your blog address and I have to tell you that I am finally “acting”.
    I read your blog and pray for you yet never send you a note and l am sorry l didnt do it earlier, for this journey that you have been on has been one heck of a roller coaster ride, yet with that being said its been very uplifting also. You and your family are amazing and you give hope a new meaning along with courage and hero. I find your entries uplifting and I hope you realize that with everything you have shared with all of us you have given us renewed faith and the understanding of true love, not only for your family but for God also. I pray that all goes well for you in the coming months and I have faith that whatever the out come is you will enjoy your next adventure.
    God Bless,
    Karen Bannor-Hebeisen

Leave a Reply

