Still moving forward

I have been doing pretty well this week.  Each day I have gotten a little bit stronger.  Still I find myself fatigued and in bed for 2-3 hours each day.  I still look pretty skinny-I may weigh around 145 lbs?  Also, last Sunday I was very nauseated and sick for most of the day.  In fact I had to leave church in the middle of the sermon as I started to feel very ill.  I continue to get the fluid drained out of my abdomen-now twice per week.  I go in every Monday and Thursday.  I accumulate 1 liter of fluid each day.  I continue to have pain, but for the most part it is under control.  I did ave two night in the past week where I was up most of the nights.  When that happens, it generally throws off my days too.   Chemo is scheduled for next Wednesday, but I may cancel it.  If  I don’t have enough strength, stamina, weight, etc… built up before hand, there is no sense in doing it.

Karen and the boys continue to stay busy.  Karen is off on another hockey photo shoot this weekend.  The guys and I are at home but will go to Dave and Jill’s tomorrow for my nephew Zane’s B-day party.  Then Brenden and Jaxson will ave a sleep over with them.  My sister is coming to town and will actually stay at our house on Saturday night.  Brenden and Jaxson both are excelling in school.  Both are in advanced Math classes and Brenden is also in an advanced reading class. I woke up two days ago to a debate between Brenden and Jaxson on what they are going to be when they grow up.  Jaxson was upset that Brenden was not going to be an engineer like him.  Brenden said he wanted to stick with the science stuff.  Jaxson made up his mind about 6 months ago that he was going to be an engineer when he grows up.  I think he is trying to follow in Grandpa Stratton’s foot steps.  Jaxson’s mind works like Chuck’s, so it only makes sense.  Jaxson and Karen continue progressing through their Tae Kwon Do.

For me…it is all about healing.  In the book of Acts, Peter notes that disease is an oppression of the devil.  In 1st John 3:8 it states that Jesus mission while He was on this earth, was to destroy the works of the devil.  In Matthew 4:24 it states that Jesus healed everyone He came into contact with, no matter what the disease.  In Matthew 8 verse 2 it shows that Jesus attitude is that He wants to heal.  When Jesus sacrificed Himself on the cross it states in Isaiah 53:3-5 that he died for our sins and diseases.  So “by His stripes, I am Healed”. In Hebrews 13:8 it states that Jesus is unchanging between what His attitude was then and now.  In Deuteronomy 30:19  it tells us to choose either life or death.  I choose life.  In Psalms 90 it states that we are granted 70-80 years life on this earth.  Basically I stand on all of these things and continue to move forward with my Healing.  It is a gift from God.

Feel like you just attended church?  I just thought I would tell you where my head is at.  It is so fun to read everyone’s comments-especially from people I had no idea that were reading the blog.  (Nice to hear from you Karen Bannor)  I wonder how many other ’87classmates are reading…Thank you to everyone who takes the time to read this.  It is comforting to my soul.

I love you all and will continue to keep you in the loop on where next week heads.  Thank you for all the prayers and for all the gifts from everyone.  We feel very blessed.

Chris

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Still moving forward

  1. Jeanie Johnson

    Was looking forward to hearing from you. It always helps me to know just how and what to pray for, for you. You amaze me! I not only pray for your miracle of healing but, also for your continued faith. Sometimes it is so easy to loose sight of all God can do when we feel he isn’t doing what we want and need. But, trust that he knows better than you, as to what is best for you. I have invested in your journey with my whole heart, praying morning and evening. I will still be with you when we get to praise God for his miracle of restoring you to health! Thank you for alowing me to join you as you tread this very rocky road. You are my hero! Love you from afar….JJ

  2. Stephanie Kylander

    Hello Chris,
    I don’t know if you remember who I am but just for a refresher course I worked at Central with you, of course I was in the Portrait dept. Well I felt like you were speaking to me indirectly through your update. I have been reading your blog since I received a email from Laurie Thulien on August 4, 2008 – it was a update on Marketing stuff / Studio Goals and also your blog address. I just want you to know that there are so many people like myself that are praying for your health and family. You are a strong person and a inspiration to all that know you!!! Keep up the fight….your work here is far from being over. Most of all keep being that inspirational person. I just want to say thank you for the lessons you teach me and you really aren’t even aware of them!!!
    Take Care,
    Steph

  3. PAT

    WHEN I AM DOWN AND OH MY SOUL,SO VERY WEARY; WHEN TROUBLES COME AND MY HEART BE SO BURDENED: THEN I AM STILL AND WAIT HERE IN SILENCE, UNTIL YOU COME AND SIT AWHILE WITH ME.
    CHRIS, WE ALL KNOW THE LORD IS SITTING WITH YOU AND RAISING YOU UP ! WE KNOW HE HOLDS YOU TIGHT IN HIS ARMS &PROTECTS YOU FROM ALL EVIL! TAKE COMFORT IN KNOWING THAT ALL OF US OUT HERE ARE STROMING HEAVEN WITH OUR PRAYERS & LOVE FOR THE ENTIRE BATY FAMILY!! WITH YOUR STRENGTH & COURAGE & UNABIDING FAITH YOU CONTINUE TO AMAZE & INSPIRE ALL OF US !! YOU CONTINUE TO HELP ALL OF US MAKE SENSE OF ALL OF THIS !1 THANK YOU CHRIS I HAVE TRUELY MEET A HERO & A MAN OF GOD!!!

  4. Cheryl Stainer

    You, Karen, and the boys are never very far from my thoughts. We are praying for you daily and lifting you up for prayer support in our church and small group functions.

    I was reading your study of God’s word. Studying God’s word is something I love to do. I have found it amazing over the years how different passages have just jumped off the page at me and spoken directly to me. (Thanks God, please keep it up) Anyway, sharing your study really encouraged me this morning, it’s been a tiring weekend (not even close to yours), but your words have encouraged me and strengthened me.

    As I was reading it, I was struck by the thought that healing is really a complete destruction of sin. Jesus’ soul purpose on this earth was to heal completely, spiritually, physically, and emotionally. Illness, sin, all the awful stuff in this world is all the outward visible consequences of sin. Mind you I am not saying that because we have sinned in a particular way that we have brought certain kinds of sin upon our lives, just that because sin was allowed to enter into this world we all have to deal with the icky consequences some are direct results of sinful actions,where others are completely random. Not only was Jesus’ ministry on earth for healing, but His death and resurrections also. Like I said before His whole purpose was to heal us from this sinful world that is full of so much icky stuff. I look forward to one day being a part of a world/universe (however God has the whole thing planned out) completely free of the consequences of sin. I recently heard someone say that our whole universe has been effected by man’s sin. I found it very thought provoking.

    I am sure that you probably knew all of this, but see your heart to share Jesus with others. I pray for those that are reading your blog that they may see Jesus in you and would also find the complete healing that only Jesus can give.

    Continuing to lift you up in pray,

    Cheryl Stainer

  5. Chris,
    Your faith and testimony are inspirational to us all. Thank you for keeping us updated on your condition, both physically, and emotionally. We stand with you in your claims on Scripture, and lift you up in prayer daily, calling on the Power of Christ for your complete healing.
    In the Love of Christ,
    Dave

Leave a Reply

