No Chemo

Monday morning I woke up and decided that I just didn’t feel like doing chemo this week.  Before I go back to chemo, I would like to have 3-4 days in a row where I feel strong and have less fatigue.  Also I would like to gain back more healthy weight.  When I am on chemo, I generally lose weight and feel pretty beat up.  So no chemo in the near future.  Of course that could change if my body starts to really turn itself around.  I did go in and have blood work done.  I think my blood work would have been good enough to do chemo.  My White Blood cells, Red Blood cells, Hemoglobin, kidney functions and platelets were all in great shape.  In fact my platelets are now at 90-they haven’t been that high since early last summer.  My liver functions, though, all came back worse.  My bilirubin moved back up to 2.6.  That number has been as low as 1.6 and as high as 3.2 in the last 4 months.  Dr. Duane has been extremely caring and flexible.  He said we can move in which ever direction I feel I want to go.  He said it sounds like I have a good routine for controlling my pain, getting my fluid drained and enjoying my life right now-so we don’t want to mess with that.  One thought on the fluid…He basically said that the fluid build up is my own system trying to do its best to wash my body clean of its sickness, so it keeps filling me up daily.   I have not had that explained to me in that way before.  If I go back on chemo, I will probably switch back to a different regiment to see if it has a better effect on my liver numbers.

Overall, I am just following what God and my body says to do and for now it is saying-enjoy life without chemo.  I am pretty peaceful and happy.  Although, I have to say that the cancer center at Methodist really does bring me down.  Everyone is extremely nice, I have known many of them for 2+ years.  They are very caring and loving people, but I just don’t sense a Godly spirit there.  My fluid draining is a much different experience and feel.  The people there are also very nice and loving, but it just has a much different atmosphere vs. the cancer center.  Its hard to explain.  I guess it suffices to say that I don’ mind going in twice a week to get my fluid drained.  This past Monday I brought the nurses chocolate for Valentines day.

Thank you for all your love, blessings and prayers.  I think we are heading to WI this weekend to spend some time with Karen’s parents.  To tell you the truth, Karen loves getting spoiled by her parents and getting away from the phone and housework of Lakeville.

Love and Blessings to all-Keep acting.  Show others how much you love them and care for them.  There are no tomorrows guaranteed for any of us.

 

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “No Chemo

  1. Aunt Val & Eli

    Dear Chris, Karen, Benden & Jaxon,
    We haven’t left you a note lately and just had to let you know that you are still in our prayers, thoughts, and conversations. (yep, we’re talking behind your back) Thank you for keeping up on your blog for us and letting us know how you are. I also look forward to the inspiration you give me. You are truly amazing.
    Have a great weekend in Wisonsin!
    Hugs to everyone!
    God Loves you and so do we!

  2. PAT

    NO ONE YES ON ONE HAS TOMORROW WE ONLY HAVE THIS MOMENT IN TIME!! THAT MEANS THAT YOU LIVE EVERY MOMENT TO ITS FULLEST FULL OF LOVE & TELLING EVERYONE YOUR LIFE IS FULL OF JOY & GRATEFULLNESS TO YOUR LORD THAT HE HAS GIVEN YOU THIS MOMENT TO BE FOREVER FAITHFUL MAKING HIM THE LORD OF YOUR LIFE ENJOYING EVERY MINUTE OF YOUR LIFE HERE ON THIS PLANET KNOWING THAT IF YOU BELIEVE IN HIM YOU WILL NOT PERISH,BUT HAVE EVERLASTING LIFE!!! WHAT A GIFT. EACH & EVERYONE OF YOU IS BLESSED WITH THAT PROMISE!!

  3. Dick Shovan

    Chris & Karen,
    Praying and asking God to meet all your needs. Martin Luther once said,” I know not where he leads me, but I know well my guide.” ” Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” Eph 3:20.

    Trusting Him for you,

    Dick

Leave a Reply

