Sunday Feb.27

I am getting pretty weak. The doctors best guess is that I will live another week or less. Today we have spent the day trying to figure out living arrangements in the wort term and the long term.  Also we are tying to do our best to explain to the kids what is happening.

We have decided to set up from 1-4 p.m. tomorrow sometime to visit and try to guess what God is going to have me working on once i am freed from this terminal body. After 5 p.m. we want to get everyone out of the house so we he more time as a family to further digest the next coming days.

WE have 3 living options for me to consider:
1. Move into the hospital room at Methodist
2. Trying to get into a half/way house for terminal cancer patients.
3.  Stay in the dowstairs bedrom.

Our main concern is our kids we-being.  I feel my God will cover me and up lift me during my times of despair.
Karen wants what is best for the kids and she is having them concerned with me dying in a specific room, or for them to see their dead father pulled out .  We will make these decisions with in the net 2-3 days.

If there is a funeral it will be on a Saturday, led by Pastor Pat-her schedule permitting.  It would be nice if Chris Greseth would handle the music/worship.  Anyone will be invited to the ceremony.

Blessings,

Chris Baty

36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “Sunday Feb.27

  1. Jeanie Johnson

    Well I guess this is my last chance to say I Love you Chris for the wonderful young man I got to know a few years ago. And I can tell you then that you were “every mother’s dream” for our daughters. But, your wife was the one blessed to have you as her husband and father of her kids. I know my Gina will miss you dearly. She has always thought you were the most wonderful friend. I pray for your time here to be all it can be and that your wife and kids are given the strength to get through this horrible part of the journey with you. Remember Jesus loves you and so do I. 🙂

    • Michael Erickson

      Hi Chris!

      I have been updated through Cindy Ness and Kent Bahr about you and your battle with cancer. I am deeply sorry to hear this news. I want you to know that you and your family are in my prayers and that God has a plan for you and your family. I can look fondly back at the years growing up together in
      youth group. I want to thank you for your friendship and all the great times we had together.
      He loves us beyond our comprehension and is a gracious, merciful, and loving God!
      I have called on the name of Jesus in time of need and he has answered! God will neither “leave us or forsake us.” “My sheep listen to my voice, I know them and they follow me. I give them eternal life and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.” John 10:27-29. Another verse I would like to share. “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is not unseen. For what is seen is temporary and what is unseen is eternal.” 2Corinthians 4:16-18.
      I regret not taking time to visit with you in person, but I want you to know that I am with you in spirit! God Bless.
      Brothers in Christ
      Michael Erickson

  2. Melissa Christenson

    Hi Chris & Karen,
    My thoughts and prayers are with you and the family as you go through the next few days…. Soon you will be at rest with no more pain, enjoy the time you have and give your family lots of love!

    ~Melissa

  3. Diane Peters

    Hi Chris,
    I wanted to share my experience with you that may help in your decisions. My father passed away from the Methodist Hospice. The people there were very kind, caring. They will provide you with anything you want and your family can be with you anytime. They will have anything that you need available. My only regret was I wasn’t with my father when he passed as I was home sick with respiratory infection.
    The loss of your childrens father will be very hard but maybe more acceptable in a hospital setting than in their home which may haunt them.
    May you pass in peace with Karen the love of your life at your side. God is also at your side guiding you.
    Love Diane

  4. Deb Reindl

    Chris,
    I have been following your blog since December. Your grace throughout this has been nothing short of God-inspired. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Someday, I hope to meet you there. In the mean time, we will all rally around Karen and the boys here on earth, as I know you will be helping them from above. God Bless you.

    Deb Reindl

  5. Heather Tidd

    Thinking of you all…prayers…

  6. Pat Trautman

    Chris, I just read your blog a few minutes ago. I am so glad to have gotten to know you and the brave fight you have fought. I am glad that you have gotten to know our Lord and Saviour as you have. He is holding you close, and you have nothing to fear. I know it will be hard to leave you family, and I will be keeping them in prayer. I was wondering if it was you from the prayer request that came out a few days ago. God will be giving you the healing you seek, just not here on this earth. He has better things in store for you. You will be greatly missed, but we can still hope for that miracle.
    God is still the great healer. He has gotten a lot of glory through your life and how you have served him. You and your family are in my prayers daily.
    God bless you and them.
    Pat T.

  7. Audra David

    You are my hero! xxooxxooxxoo

  8. Tara

    My god Chris, I had no idea what was going on. Please know that I loved working with you. You were not only a great co-worker/boss, you were also a wonderful friend. I miss the times that I could pop into your office at central and give you a hard time, and share a laugh. As many others whose lives you’ve touched, I wish I would have gotten to know you better and spend more time with you. That will be one of my many regrets in life.

    All my love to you and your family.

    Peace, Love, and Happiness,
    Tara Murphy

  9. Miriam

    Chris, Karen and family,
    God’s peace to you all! While I know your hearts are breaking at this time, I also know that you are being kept in the arms of our loving Savior, Jesus Christ. Chris, I have been so impressed with your use of this blog to inform of your condition, but also to bear witness to your great faith! I hope you all can feel the love, support and prayers being lifted up on your behalf!
    God’s blessings!
    Miriam

  10. Laurie Thulien

    Chris,
    I will not be back in town till after 4:00 today. I was hoping to come see you at home but I will wait to hear where you will be tomorrow and come see you there or call if that is better for you. Thank you again for all you have shared with us, and as your brother said – preparing us. I know I am a much better person for having you in my life! Know how much love is coming your way. I know God has GREAT things in store for you.
    Laurie

  11. Ernie and Carmen

    Chris, Karen, boys and family members,
    Our prayers are with you at this difficult time. We pray His strength with you in the coming days with decisions to be made. But, we still pray for a miracle too.
    You have been a wonderful testimony of God’s grace and wisdom. You have run a good race.
    God’s peace, love and healing be given to you all!
    Love,
    Ernie and Carmen

  12. Jennifer Herold

    Thinking of you all and sending you prayers as you go through the coming days. Chris, you are such an inspiration with your abundance of courage and steadfast faith. You have touched so many lives, including mine, and you will never be forgotten. Thank you so much for sharing your journey through this blog. May God shower you and your family with blessings, comfort, and peace during this time.

  13. Jeanie Johnson

    Chris, just got back from church and thought of nothing but YOU. We sang “Soon and very soon I’m going to see the King.” I cried through the whole thing knowing that soon and very soon YOU will see the KING of Kings ! I prayed that I could live my love with as much faith and love for our heavenly Father as you have, I want to LOVE HIM not just HIM loving me !
    Thank you for the peace of knowning because of your faith and love for HIM you will be going HOME to the loving arms of our Heavenly Father.

  14. Dave and Missy

    Chris and Karen – we are sending as much strength and support to all of you during this difficult time.

    God Bless you Chris.

  15. Jason Block

    Chris,

    It’s been a long time, and I wish the circumstances for me writing this were different. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    God bless-
    Jason

  16. Loren Schomaker

    Chris my prays are with you. I have been so lucky to count you as a friend.
    Loren

  17. Beth Gould

    I am sending so much love to you and your family. You have taught me so much about life and what is most important. You are such a special person. You have touched hundreds of people with your grace and faith. I will think of all that I have learned from you every day for the rest of my life. God bless and keep you and your family.

    Beth

  18. Debbie Dittrich

    To Karen and Chris
    May God be with you and help you through the up coming days.
    My prayers are with you and your family. You both are such wonderful people and I hope God can take care of you and help you through it.

    May God bless you and your family,
    Debbie

  19. Suzy Welch

    Chris-

    I guess I won’t get to give you one last hug or kiss on the cheek. I just want you to know that you are an amazing person and I feel so blessed to have known you. Your boys have had a wonderful role model and they will forever feel your love. You married a person twice that has been more than loving and giving I envy you for that. I know you will never be forgotten, I will miss you dearly and I am so sorry I wasn’t able to say my goodbyes to you. Love you dearly!

  20. Dale and Joanne Haukland

    Dear Chris, Karen and boys,
    Our hearts, love, and prayers are with you. We hope you are drawing strength from each other and God.
    Dale and Joanne Haukland

  21. Joan Takata

    Chris and Karen, may God bless you and your family.

  22. Brad Graves

    Chris,
    The promise of eternity is a constant reminder that we were made for another world. We find great comfort amid our fear, knowing we will be reunited with our Liberating King and joined with the Father. My brother whom I’ve not yet met, I labor with you in this world… enduring pain, loss, and unfulfilled desires. Be encouraged my brother, that in eternity, all of our needs will be fulfilled in the presence of God. I look forward to meeting you soon. My heart is heavy for your family & heavy for you, I can only imagine the goodbyes ahead of you. I can also imagine the hello’s… “Hello, my good and faithful servant.” The second you close your eyes here, is the exact moment, you open them there. God speed, my brother in the faith.
    10,000 Blessings!

  23. Taisa Diedrich

    Dear Chris,
    I don’t think I can write much through the tears…..my heart aches for you and your family. I am speechless. I will pray for you, for a peaceful journey and for your family…that they will have strength and nothing but love surrounding them and lifting them up.
    Chris, I am truly blessed to have met you and am grateful for the love you showed me while I was preparing to say goodbye to my mom. I will forever remember your loving words you would write on her CB site and our first meeting.

    Sending peace and love tonight.

    Taisa

  24. Cheri

    Chris-

    You are one in a million! Your strength, courage, and grace throughout your life journey is admirable. I am truly blessed to of had our paths cross.

    God bless to you & your family!
    Cheri Clabaugh- Dianes’ daughter

  25. Kathy and Steve

    Words can not express what our hearts are saying. We will pray.
    I have pictures in my mind of a handsome, vibrant, young man who played, laughed and grew just two doors down. Those are the pictures I will cherish and take with me as my heart cries out in prayer for you and your family.
    Kathy and Steve

  26. Diana and Randy Miller

    You have been and continue to be an inspiration to us all. Our prayers are with you and your family – Peace be with you ALL

  27. Paula

    Chris, your faith is amazing – God is truly with you.
    My prayers are with you as always.
    Paula

  28. Joan

    Chris – thank you for yesterday. It was a gift to see your grace in the midst of all this. I was a gift to laugh with you one more time. If only some of your and Brian’s favorite hair band music was playing in the background it would have been a perfect day. 😉

    Sending you love and positive thoughts.
    Joan

  29. Sandy Thompson

    Dear Chris, I just found out today about what has been happening and I am quite shocked, because I remember you at Woodbury and how kind and fun you were there……and that we were all bummed out when you left. I am REALLY bummed out to hear about your illness now. I am sorry that this is happening for you. I am a fairly recent widow, so I understand things all too well and I would like to help your wife out if I can. It is hard to understand what God has intended for all of us……but I hear courage from what you wrote. I pray for a peaceful journey for what is ahead for you and your family. Your kids will be ok because of the good memories they have of their dad. That will help them in the long run. I believe that. I am a part of a young widows grief support group and while I don’t wish to push that issue at all, I just want to help some how……so perhaps your wife will reach out. (I am in the phone book.) I am sooooo sorry. Keep that smile of yours going! May God Bless and be with you Chris. Respectfully, Sandy Thompson

  30. Shellie Gebhard

    Chris and Karen,
    You are truly amazing and inspiring, I’m so glad you have shared this journey with all of us. I’m thinking of you and praying for you all.
    Love,
    Shellie

  31. Gina

    All weekend Michael W Smith’s song “Pray for Me” has been running in my head with pictures of your amazing smile and thoughts of you saying in the midst of your battle “I’ll pray for you”. You leave me in wonderment every time. So giving in spite of your pain and concerns. I plan on leaving work early today to swing by to say Hello- not Goodbye as I know I will see you again, my friend. I also want to say thank you. Thank you for being an amazing role model. In more ways than you will ever know.
    “Here is where the road divides
    Here is where we realize
    The sculpting of the Father’s great design
    Thru’ time you’ve been a friend to me
    But time is now the enemy
    I wish we didn’t have to say goodbye
    But I know the road he chose for me
    Is not the road he chose for you
    So as we chase the dreams we’re after

    Pray for me and I’ll pray for you
    Pray that we will keep the common ground
    Won’t you pray for me and I’ll pray for you
    And one day love will bring us back around
    Again”
    Love you buddy, Gina
    PS- I promise I won’t sing when I come 🙂

  32. Matthew Lund

    Chris,
    I am so sorry to hear about your worsening condition and the tremendous suffering you and your family have endured. I guess it is lucky, in a sense, to know of these serious tidings, and to be able to plan things as well as you and Karen are doing. I cannot express how much I admire your courage and humanity as you have undergone this most severe ordeal. It is hard to know what to say when words amount to so little, and can so easily miss the mark. I just want to say that I am thankful for our friendship and for your being the excellent person you are.

    Matt

  33. Sheryl and Steve Castro

    Chris and Karen,
    You are truly an inspiration. All of us who read your blog have been blessed to be a witness to your amazing strength, character and faith. I can only say thank you for all you have given to me without even being aware of it. We continue to pray for all of you.
    God bless you,
    Sheryl and Steve

  34. Missy Schwake

    Chris, you are finishing well! Thank you so much for sharing your life with us. It makes us all appreciate everything we have, especially our relationship with Jesus. Your witness during this time has been nothing short of incredible! Our prayers for your family will continue for a long time, but you will be off the list. You’ll be in the arms of the almighty, hearing the beautiful choir of angels singing. This life wasn’t ever meant to be easy, but you have found a way to make it joyful.

    Under His mercy,
    Scott and Missy Schwake

  35. Anne (Roberts) Wallman

    Karen and family…SO SO sorry for what you are going thru. I am so happy to know that you KNOW where Chris will be going!! HE will wipe every tear from your eyes and you WILL see him again soon!! 2Tim 4:7—“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith”. We will be praying for comfort and peace in the days to come. Thank you for sharing your journey through all of this–you do not know how many people it has touched and uplifted.

Leave a Reply

