My temporary home “The Lodge”

I have a new permanent (temporary) address. It’s between a hospital stay and in home care. I have 24 hour/ 7 day a week nurse care. I have a button to press that calls the nurse for anything I need. I get 3 meals a day and even got a milkshake when I arrived. The Lodge is in a quiet wooded/secluded area in Burnsville connected to a park. Probably some deer out there, unfortunately no rifles allowed! I get to have one guest stay over with me every night.

Overwhelming Thanks to you all for the support, prayers, well wishes and people that poured out love on me and my family on Sunday. There were 3 different prayer sessions with an amazing amount of people pouring scripture, blessings, and prayer out on me. Words can’t say enough! Maybe I will find the right words when I get to Heaven to describe such Love!

If you would like to visit: I could have some visitors from 12 to 2 each day and again from 6 to 8 each evening.  4-6 is reserved for Karen and the Boys!

Here is the address: 1412 Summit Oak Drive, Burnsville, MN (Room#3) (The address is right out of a subdivision and there are no signs) (so when you see no signs and a driveway head back into the woods: you are there).

Thanks for everything, You are amazing people!

Chris  (through a mediocre scribe)

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “My temporary home “The Lodge”

  1. Melissa Christenson

    Chris,
    I’m so glad you’ve found a resting place that has a view! Prayers are going strong for you and your family. You are an amazing man and I’m glad to have known you. Enjoy your time with your family and friends…

    ~Melissa

  2. Gina

    ImSorry I missed you. Thought today was your gathering until 4 . Will try to catch you tomorrow. Have agood night . Hugs

  3. Nancy Wolf

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and Karen
    and the boys. You’ve showed them the true meaning of strength and love. I’m sure you’ll watch over them always.

  4. Beth Gould

    Chris-

    I could smuggle you in a rifle if you want! I am glad you are finding The Lodge peaceful. I am hoping I will get a chance to see you. I talked with the girls at Pictura and we are trying to plan something. I think and pray all day for you. You are my hero and inspiration. You have touched so many souls with your strength faith and love. So much love and warmth today and always!

  5. Roxanne

    Chris~
    I wish I wasn’t writing this now. The shoulda, coulda, woulda’s are easily used as an excuse so I’m not goin to use them. I’m just going to say…Know that you are a strong man. Your journey on earth may be about over but the journey you are about to take will strengthen you even more. You will be forever missed. You and your family are in my prayers.
    God’s Blessings,
    Roxanne

  6. Greg & Deanna

    Chris,
    Our prayers continue to go out for you and your family.
    We are so proud of you!!!
    Love, Greg & Deanna

  7. Pam Larson

    Chris – I am Beth Gould’s Mom and want you to know she has told me about your strength and courage. You have had an amazing effect on those who know you and those who have only heard about you. I will keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. Heather Tidd

    Glad to hear that you found a nice place to stay!
    I am thinking of you all and praying…

  9. carla dee

    just wanted you to know i am thinking of you and your family

  10. Carol Stratton

    Chris, You are an amazing man. Thank you for sharing your journey of life with cancer with us. We wish you peace and comfort in the days ahead. Our prayers are with you, Karen and the boys.
    Peace
    Carol & Mark

  11. The Berg's

    Chris,
    May peace and comfort be with you and your family on your final journey “home.” Your strength, and faith in God are an inspiration to many.

    Mary and Greg

  12. Becky

    What a wonderful person you are! The strength you have shown through this journey in your life. I wish you comfort in your time to come. We pray for you and your family! And pray that your boys remember what a remarkable strong father they once had and that they will carry you in there hearts forever! If only everyone looked at life the way you did! Sending all the Love and blessing your way!

  13. Aunt Val & Eli

    We have a hard time coming up with the words to describe how we feel about you–you are just indescribably wonderful. You have touched so many people in such a positive, inspirational way. A life changing role model. Hugs to you, Karen and the boys.
    God Loves You and so do we

  14. Holly Merschman

    Hey chris, I spoke with you once before in an email awhile back. I am cindy ness’s sister. I guess what I would like to say to you is thank you so much. I have never had the privledge of talking to you in person, and really getting blessed by your presence, but I have been blessed by your blogs. For whatever the reason was to start the baty blog…you have brought every emotion out of me. I have laughed, cried, been rejoiceful and everything else inbetween. You have grown my faith and deepend my relationship with our papa. You have made me disect my own life and encouraged me to cease every day. If I could be half the person that you are, I will have lived a great life. I celebrate the person that you are. Until I get to meet you, know that I will always be lifting your family up in prayer.
    ~Holly

  15. Dear Chris,
    Even though we haven’t seen or spoken with each other for a very long time I feel as though I have been right there with you because of this amazing blog that you put together. I have been able to look at your beautiful smile, listen to your great sense of humor, and learn to love your wonderful family as much as you do. Thank you for this window into your life, it has been nice to have you back in my life long lost friend. I will pray for strength and peace for you and your family during this trying time, and rejoice when I hear that you have left this earth to be with our Heavenly Father. Reading the replies to your blog attests to the amount of love that others have for you and I am envious that you are able to hear these while you are still here; most of us will not be as fortunate. You have always had a special place in my heart and you always will. Until we meet again! I love you!
    Andrea Neste

  16. The Cabanaw's

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you. Peace be with you.
    Joe and Angela.

  17. Vicki Starbeck

    God-Morning Chris ….. Hope you had a very peaceful nights rest. Know that I continue to pray for your healing in whatever way the Lord has in store for you. I’m so thankful to call you my God-Brother! Blessings to you, Karen, and the guys today! May you continue to be the Bright Light in all of our lives.
    Vicki

  18. Vicki Starbeck

    God Morning Chris ….. hope you had a peaceful night’s rest. Know that I continue to pray for your healing in whatever way the Lord plans to heal you. I’m so blessed to be able to call you my God-Brother. May the Lord Bless you, Karen and “the guys” today in a very special way. Keep the Faith God-Bro! “BE STILL AND KNOW I’M GOD”
    Vicki

  19. Chris,
    You are in our thoughts and prayers every day. Your life and testimony are inspirational, and you are the best friend I’ve ever had.
    Dave

  20. ShaRae Wren

    Chris and Karen,

    You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I remember fun times at Pro-Ex with each of you.

  21. The Ryan,s

    Chris, Karen, Brenden and Jaxson:
    Thank You for this blog, you will be a positive and lasting influence in our lives. We wish you peace and comfort in the days to come. You have a wonderful family and our thoughts and prayers are with you all. 

    Kevin and Beckie

  22. Stephanie Ybarra

    Chris,
    I hope you find peace and comfort soon and know that everything will be alright! You are so brave and truely an amazing man! I just want you to know that I am thankful I had the pleasure of meeting you and working with you! I wish you and your family lots of love and peace.

    Love You,
    Love Stephanie

  23. I hope you have a window with a view … just in case the deer pass by. You have been a wonderful witness to God’s amazing love and grace. We continue to lower you down through the roof into the presence of Jesus.
    May God continue to pour out His blessings on you, Karen and the boys!
    Love, Ernie and Carmen

  24. Julie Stratton

    Hi Chris – I just wanted to tell you what a pleasure it has been to have gotten to know you. You are a remarkable human being, I have often wondered what it must have taken for you to right your journal/blog enteries. It must be the god given strength each one of us is given in challenging times. We appreciate all that you have shared with us to help us walk beside you and your family with our prayers and hopes that we could turn this whole thing around. Trust that we will never give up-
    and that God is always by your side.
    Love Julie, Dennis and Kyle Stratton

  25. Gina

    I just received noticed from Dept of health that March is Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month. I emailed them your blog to share as they are encouraging people to get screenings at 50. Friday, March 4 is Dress in Blue Day to promote Colorectal Cancer Awareness. I know your focus at this time is not on the cancer or spreading the word of early detection but on God, but we need to learn from this as well. I must add, I was quite impressed to get a reply from the coordinators of the awareness project saying they had read your blog and thanked me for sharing. You continue to touch and reach more people than you will ever know. Wishing you a peace filled day.

  26. Laurie Thulien

    Chris,
    It was wonderful to see you last night. Thank you for again for all you have taught me and for sharing your time, incredible strength and courage as you traveled down this pathway. I will miss you my friend.
    Laurie

  27. Wendy and RT Moore

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this difficult time. I don’t know what else to say except Peace be with you.

  28. Cheryl Stainer

    Chris,

    I am so sorry to hear that you are losing your earthyly battle and pray that your graduation from this life to the next will be peaceful and easy. I am so thankful that you have been a part my extended family both as a Stratton and a member of God’s kingdom.

    The only disappointment that I have is that living so far from the hub of my family I have not had the opportunity to meet you face to face, but look forward to fulfilling that someday in heaven.

    You, Karen and the boys are never far from my thoughts and prayers. Over the last couple of years, you have had to make a lot of decisions that most of us hope to put off until later in life. Thank you for sharing them with us so we could partner with you in prayer and prepare us for our futures.

    2 Timothy 4:7-8 I am looking forward to seeing you decked out in your “Crown of Righteousness”.

    Cheryl

  29. Nicolle Hanson

    Hello Chris,

    Sounds like you have a room with a beautiful view! Please know that all of your friends from Proex are thinking of you and praying for your entire family. You are an amazing person with a smile that lights up any room. It was a pleasure getting to know you, in our short time here on Earth together. Love and peace to you.

    Love you,
    Nicolle

  30. Brittany Collette (Baker)

    Always a smile and a tender heart of gold. I have memories that are irraplacable. Thoguhts and prayers are with you and your family.

  31. Chris,
    I remember meeting you at our wedding in Mankato in 1995. Dave kept saying, “Wait until you meet him. He is the NICEST guy!” He was right. You wore a smile and carried a presence that was so cheerful and happy. That is how I remember you. Dave thinks and speaks of you often and was so glad to be able to talk to you today on the phone. He will remember you as one of the best friends he has ever had. I wish your family the best in the upcoming days – it certainly is not a comfortable situation for any involved. I wish you comfort up until you feel no earthly pain. That is when you feel the True Comfort! Thank you for being such a great friend to my husband – he is already anxious to see you “on the other side”. Your family is in our family’s prayers.’
    -Maria Klinsmann

  32. Pat Trautman

    Chris, My morning quiet time brought me to this verse and I thought of you. It is 2 Tim. 4:6-8. For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, & the time has come for my departure. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day. I ask for God to bless & reward you with so much, you cannot absorb it all. You are in my prayers, as are Karen & the boys.

    Pat T.

  33. Serge and Anna Grinets

    Dear Chris, Karen, Brenden and Jaxson,

    Our hearts go out to your family. May our everlasting God give you peace during this time. Our prayers are with you.

    With love,
    Serge and Anna

    “For this God is our God for ever and ever; He will be our guide even to the end. ” Psalm 48:18

  34. Dick Shovan

    Chris,

    Praying without ceasing for you, Karen, and the boys.
    “Now unto Him how can do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think…_ Eph3:20-21 The Lord does give peace beyond our understanding let’s rest in that.
    Love You Brother,
    Dick shovan

Leave a Reply

