“The Crown of Righteousness”

Chris was exhausted at 8:00PM. Hopefully he rests peacefully with his great friend Steve watching over him tonight. There were many visitors today, enough to cause a traffic jam in the parking lot that took 15 minutes to untangle! The people at “The Lodge” didn’t know what they were getting into when they let the likes of Chris Baty in that door! Who knew rush hours were from 12-2 and 6-8?

If you have heard or read Chris’ words in the past months you have probably been a witness to “peace that surpasses all understanding”. He has it! No doubt about it! My brother has been an inspiration to me and every other soul that walks in room #3 of “The Lodge”.. It’s amazing to see 13 people stuffed into that bedroom (well to be truthful some spilled into the hallway) to cherish every word that proceeded from Chris’ lips.

I happened to pray the following verse over Chris last night and I thought it suited him well:

Phillipians 3: 12-14

12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Today however I was trumped by two wonderful people that separately posted the same scripture on the blog. Here it is:

2 Timothy 4: 6-8

6 For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near. 7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

Those verses I say fit him perfectly! The crown of righteousness, sounds like a good title.

Tonight I prayed that Chris would have another day, tomorrow I will pray the same, and again…

Thanks for checking the Blog! On Monday there were Two Thousand Thirty Six hits on this blog!! Now I know some of you probably checked five times but seriously that is a lot of hits. Maybe tomorrow more people will hear about how Chris is living and share it with others. Only time will tell how far the ripples, waves, tides reach!

Tonight I pray that you will have Chris’ Peace as well,

Dave Baty

Visitation Hours remain the same 12-2 and 6-8 at room#3 at “The Lodge” in Burnsville.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to ““The Crown of Righteousness”

  1. Randy

    Thanks Dave. I Love you Chrisser, C. Batty, Bateman, Jeff Grady…Chris!

  2. Beth Gould

    It was so good to see you tonight Chris. I am so thankful that I got to tell you in person what an inspiration you have been to me. I will forever cherish that I got to look into your eye’s and tell you what that has meant to me and what it will mean for my life. You strength and faith amaze me and everyone around you. You are such a blessing.

  3. Kristine (Murphy) Ihrke

    I’m a classmate of Karen’s from Mayo and cheered her on for sports. We weren’t close, but Chris’s story and attitude have been a true inspiration. We can all learn how to live our life better by what Chris has went through. Chris, your courage is amazing and your faith neverending. Peace to you and your family in this most difficult time. You have handled this with dignity and the utmost of love for your family and God. Thoughts and prayers to you and your family.

  4. Debbie

    Chris,

    What an honor it has been to be your neighbor. I have loved talking to you and meeting up with you at the park so the kids could play. You are such a strong person and I will always cherish knowing you. I am thinking of you, Karen and the boys every day and hope that you all know how loved you are.

  5. Aunt Val & Eli

    Thank you Dave,
    We also pray for one more day and for God to reach down his loving, healing arms to cradle Chris and perform a miracle as we know God can.
    Hugs to everyone.
    We love you.

  6. Tiffany Martin

    My heart, thoughts & prayers go out to Chris & his family I couldn’t stop crying when Stephanie sent me a link to his blog. I worked with Chris at Proex back in 2002, I could never forget him or his smile he was the best boss i ever had, really he rocks (: I am kind of at a loss for words what do you say to a man that is in his last days? Through it all he is still in great spirit and all, just how i remember you. This has brought a lot of hurt & pain I just lost 1 of my aunts to a battle of dementia so my heart is right here with you all! Its been a blessing to have known you Chris and to have the memories we’ve shared together. Some employees at proex, especially you made me feel like family & i never experienced that before with people i barely knew. I would like to come visit you it will be so hard for me to see you like that I send my love & may God be with you & your family during this difficult time!

  7. Patty

    Chris,
    I am a friend of Dianne’s and want to thank you for sharing your faith with so many individuals. I was just searching my bible looking for the right verse to send/share and came across a comment page on miracles—so now I am in line with your Aunt Val and Eli 🙂 The page states
    “The more you express your love to God in praise, the more you will understand His greatness. Then you will see that nothing is too hard for Him—not even the miracle you need in your life right now.”
    I have prayed for you and your family trusting that only He knows the plan.

  8. Sara Henry (Proex)

    Chris, Karen, and family,
    I just recently found out about your blog and your journey. Although it’s been many years, Chris, since you were my DM at Proex, many good memories came flooding back. I can remember your support and guidance so well; so lucky to have had the opportunity to work with (both of) you. You continue to be an inspiration!

    Blessings and prayers to you and your family, Sara

  9. Nancy Wolf

    Glad you have your humor. That’s one of the thing I always enjoyed. I hope someone is reading your posts on facebook. There are many. All of us are probably jamming the Internet to. That’s why it’s going so slow. I thought is was dial up , but it’s everyone wanting to talk to the one and only Chris Baty.
    And now for a serious moment you Karen and the boys are in my thoughts and prayers daily.
    Glad you found peace. Love you and I enjoyed working for you. Don’t let anyone know but you were the best DM I ever had.

Leave a Reply

