Thursday’s update

This is Sarah again tonight.  Just wanted to give another quick update.

Dave stayed over night with Chris last night and it sounds like Chris was able to get some good sleep off and on.   Each time he’d wake up, he’d ask Dave if he was okay.  He really is just concerned about everyone besides himself.

He has been having a little more pain which means increasing pain meds – but he said the pain seemed to be under control today.  In fact, he seemed to have quite a bit of energy today – he even went for two walks outside (including one with Brenden and Jaxson)!  He said he was able to take pretty good naps today between 10-12 and 2-4:30, so he thought that was what gave him the extra energy.

He was really “holding court” during his afternoon visitor time (12-2) today – he was offering everyone chocolates and cracking jokes left and right and entertaining all of us!  He’s so at peace that he’s really only concerned about his visitors.  In fact tonight while we were visiting with him in his room, the doorbell rang and Chris darted out of bed to go answer the front door.

Thank you once again for the blog comments, prayers, and visits!  We continue to read all of the blog comments to Chris.

Please note that Chris is no longer answering text messages on his cell phone and rarely has his phone turned on for calls.

With Love,

Sarah (on behalf of Chris and his family)

p.s. The blog had over 3,200 hits yesterday!  And it’s had almost 120,000 hits since it was first started.  Amazing.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Thursday’s update

  1. Beth Gould

    Every time I think I can’t get more amazed with Chris strength and heart….I do. Thank you for the update. Chris I am so glad you got some good rest and were able to get out for two walks. I bet the boys loved that! I don’t know how many more ways I can tell you how wonderful you are. I am sending you and your family love. I hope you get good rest tonight. XO!

  2. Karyn & Trent Luger

    I Corinthians 13: 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. 13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

    Chris, reading this passage now, often a part of wedding ceremonies, we cannot help but think of you and Karen. You two worked so diligently at photographing our wedding nearly 7 years ago. As Karen focused on the close up shots, you had taken several pictures from above in the balcony of all our family and friends congregated together. We thank you for creating these great memories for us. It is evident that you are still looking out for everyone, your love being so great and strong for your family and friends. Chris, you are truly an inspiration.

  3. Jordan & Kelly LaMotte

    Chris, thanks for the visit today. I have to say that my stomach hurts from laughing so much while we were visiting this afternoon. I would also comment that you are a 10 on the hilarious scale as well. I really appreciated what you shared today as it was a true testimony of what God has done and continues to do in your life. You have a beautiful family and I want to thank you for allowing me to be apart of it. The funny part about the visit is that I was hoping I could encourage and minister to you today…and when I left I realized how much encouragement and ministry you gave to me. I appreciate that. Our family continues to pray for you, Karen and the boys. We especially have a burden for your boys and will continue to pray for God’s touch in their life. Again, thank you for your Godly example as a man, husband and father and may He continue to sustain you each and every day as you fight the good fight. With all our love, Jordan, Kelly, Zach, Sidney, Miley and Carley.

  4. Dale and Joanne Haukland

    Dear Chris, Karen and boys,
    We are so glad to hear that today was a better day and that Chris still has his wonderful sense of humor. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.
    Dale and Joanne

  5. PAT

    Karen,Boys & Family,
    As our dear Chris walks through the Valley of the Shadow of death Chris fears no evil! This amazing man walks through this valley & truely fears no evil!So all take heart & fill your heart with joy & faith knowing that in the depths of our own sorrow , sadness,despair & sense of loss & confusion that Chris has none of these humanly feelings for he truely knows where he will be at the end of his journey ( with His Lord & Savior) helping His Lord make a place for all of us.
    This amazing young man has shown us all how to be able to be with him at some later date by his amazing life through his journey that we all have been so very blessed through Chris’ selfless generosity to have been on. So be joyful in that Chris is alive & present with the Lord & now Chris is so ready to be home with his Lord. AND THAT IS TRUELY WHAT PEACE THAT PASSETH ALL UNDERSTANDING MEANS!!! CHRIS HAS THAT PEACE!!! I am now praying for all of Chris’s dear, precious family & friends that some how we will have that Peace that passeth all understanding.

  6. Judy

    Chris –
    I have been praying for you since I saw you in Bemidji, at Kent & Joy’s, July of ’08. This blog has allowed all of us to… in a way… walk this road – with you. I’m amazed at all the lives that have been touched through this. It’s amazing. Thank you for ALL the effort you & your family have made to keep writing this blog. I’m grateful for this place (& staff) you are staying at – it sounds wonderful. I’m grateful for all the time that you’ve been given with us. I’m grateful to have gotten to know you & your family & my Lord better through this blog. I’m grateful that your pain can be kept under control. I’m grateful to be a part of your amazing prayer support.

    Know that you are in my heart. 🙂
    And that I continue to pray for you & your family.
    Judy

  7. Stephanie Ybarra

    Oh Chris how all us Proex peeps love you so! I know we have all told you but I will tell you again, you were the BEST BOSS EVER! I know there were many times you wish you could have washed my mouth out with soap or even placed some duct tape over it but, NOT you : ) ! I will forever feel blessed for having the honor of having you in my life and show me that good is still in this world. Also I remember you wanted me to name my son Diego and all the laughs we had thinking about me having a kids with the name Diego “No offense to anyone who did name their kid Diego, inside joke” but after some thought I went with Ayden. Chris I wish nothing but peace and comfort and no more pain for you! Thank You for being you xoxoxo

  8. Julie Turner (Dave's co-worker)

    Dear Baty Family,
    You have all been in my thoughts and prayers throughout this journey. I had the pleasure of meeting all of you last Spring at the benefit that was hosted in Chris’ honor. It was obvious to me that day, how much you are surrounded by people who support, love & care about your family. You all have an amazing strength and love for each other. Thank you for letting me be a part of that last spring.
    I will continue to pray for your family
    Blessings,
    Julie Turner

  9. Karen

    Hi Chris,
    I just wanted to let you know you were the best boss I ever had at Proex. Thank you for your kindness, patience, and faith in me. It will always be remembered. I have lost several closed love ones over the past years and would like to share a hymn verse that has always helped me in these times.
    For to his Angels he’s given a command To guard you in all of your ways:
    Upon their hands they will bear you up, Lest you dash your foot against a stone. And he will raise you up on eagles’ wings, Bear you on the breath of dawn, Make you to shine like the sun, And hold you in the palm of his hand.
    May God shine upon you, Karen, and the boys and give you peace.
    With much gratitude and appreciation, Your friend, Karen Bolin

  10. Melissa Christenson

    Chris, It’s good to hear all about your daily fun and how social you are! You have so many people that treasure their memories of you. I’m glad I had the honor to know you as my boss at Proex and again at Varsity! Prayers for you and your family…
    ~Melissa

  11. Lisa Coleman

    Chris,
    Brad and I are both so glad we got to talk with you last night. It is extraordinary how a guy who is dying can teach us all so much about living.
    This Wisconsin girl keeps thinking of a polka tune we sing down here…”In heaven there is no beer, that’s why we drink it here…” But I don’t think that’s true. You go on ahead and find all the good spots to have a cold one up there, and we’ll all see you when we get there.
    I continue to pray for you and Karen and the boys.
    Love, Lisa

  12. Fred Martin

    Dear Chris,
    Just want you to know that even though I don’t write often, I do follow your blog. Kent and Joy also told me about their visit with you last week. Most of all, I want you to know that I pray for you. You are also a regular on our church staff’s prayer list!
    Pastor Fred Martin

  13. Heather Tidd

    Stalking your blog has become my new favorite hobby! (Sure beats picking up after kids all day!)
    I am so glad that Tara was able to visit you yesterday, sounds like you kept her entertained!
    Thinking of you all,
    Heather

  14. Shari Och

    My thoughts and prayers continue, Chris. I’ll never forget the first time I met you to pray. The love that came down from heaven through me to you was immeasurable. God loves you so very, very much!
    Psalm 73:23-26 Yet I still belong to you; you hold my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny. Whom have I in heaven but you? I desire you more than anything on earth. My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.
    Love,
    Shari

  15. Jackie Hicks

    Dear Chris, Karen, Brenden and Jaxon,
    My heart is aching for you as you go through this very hard time. I wont go on with that as I know that is not what you want to hear, but my love thoughts and prayers are with you all. Karen, if you EVER need ANYTHING…remember, I’m just around the corner and would be more than happy to help out with anything you might need.
    love Jackie (POREX)

  16. julie cohrs

    Hello Chris! It’s been a while since I saw you in the middle of H! atrium and yet so often you have crossed my mind and a prayer to follow. I marvel at the greatest gift one can give in this life is the influence from one soul to another… especially in the manner in which you have so beautifully done for so many! I am particularly in awe of the gift of passing your integrity and faith to a new generation… your boys… but to children young and old! Thank you for sharing yourself as you have… thank you for teaching us (me) who Jesus really is… You are truly extraordinary… and we are so blessed by your generosity! Thank you. As you continue your journey in seeking God’s own heart… may you be overwhelmed by His love. May that love overflow and cover your family and those you love. He is your King… and you are His beloved… blessings and peace are yours! Julie (former children’s ministry director @ H!)

  17. Sara Guse-Novak

    Chris & family,
    I am amazed at your strength and am so sorry that you & your family have to go thru this. You were a great boss for my many years at Proex and I appreciate all you did for me there. Stay strong and enjoy your days. Prayers for you and your family 😉
    -Sara Guse
    Coon Rapids Proex

  18. Vickie Van Kempen-Grieme

    Hi Chris, Karen and family, I really enjoyed my time with all of you last night and want to THANK YOU for allowing me to stay probably longer then I should have. But I will cherish my time with you Chris and thank you for all your kind words. Karen, I know that this is a very trying time for you and just know that you are LOVED. HUGS AND KISSES to all of you.

  19. Dan

    It sound like over 3200 Hits Of Love in one day!
    Way to go Chris!

  20. Dan

    It sounds like over 3200 Hits Of Love in one day!
    Way to go Chris!

  21. Matt Hawkins

    Chris,
    You and your family have been in my prayers. You my friend are an inspiration. Something that I have either heard or read a long time ago, you know a great man by the number of people that honor them at their funeral. You have the unique unfortunate distinction to know how great you really are, 120,000 times over.

    Of all the time we spent in the store at Apple Valley, the one thing that always comes to my mind was trying to move Karens waterbed out of her apartment! It’s a good thing that she didn’t want it when we were done “moving” it.

    All our love from my family to yours.

    Matt, Kimberly and Maggie

  22. Jason Fawley

    Tell Chris he is in the thoughts of his past co workers. Chris I only knew you briefly, but I see by the many posts by friends your life has touched many people. You are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

