Who do you look like?

This is Dave tonight. Sorry to post so late but we try to spend time with Chris as much as we can. Then try to share a fraction of what he has done for the day. Each and every day we make sure to read all the comments on each post to Chris and are blessed (by you) to find so many valuable thoughts to share with him. Thanks for sharing!

Summary of Friday Night and Saturday:

Chris had a tough night sleeping.  He had to get up and walk around due to pain. He did not sleep well until he had extra medicine and was able to get some rest in the late morning hours. Rhonda did an excellent job of keeping him company through the difficult night. Jaxson brought Chris a Picnic Lunch to share with him today!

This afternoon Chris’ family and friends left him in his bed and turned out the lights in his room, only to have him come out and find us 15 minutes later saying “I couldn’t sleep”. Minutes later he was challenging others to a game of Trivial pursuit. His mind and body just aren’t stopping for illness. He is continuing to fight and took 2 longer walks today than previous days.

Chris also welcomed family and friends that made road trips from Chicago, Hibbing, and Bemidji today. Chris is taking mental notes of those that he will plan to see in Heaven. He seems to be compiling a mental list so he can greet each and every one of us that reserves a place in Heaven. We discussing some loved ones, “I’m counting them in”.

Randy and Mike Lish also made the trip down from Bemidji and are staying with Chris tonight. I pray for more rest for him tonight!

(Thoughts from Dave)

Who do you look like?:

A few weeks back my wife and I were out grabbing a movie from the Redbox at Cub.  As we turned to walk away, a man said “Richard Gere”. Clueless, Jill and I just looked at him. I said, “What?”. I turned all the way around to see if he was talking to someone else and then looked at my wife. No she doesn’t have any resemblance. He responded, “I bet people say that all the time, you look like Richard Gere”. I again checked behind me.   {Crickets}… Uh.. “yeah, huh, ha ha, yeah” I could feel Jill grasping for my hand worried that he was drinking or something. “Once that gray hair fills in you really will”, he added. As we walked away, I had to ask my wife,”Was that a compliment or just a fancy way of saying, You look old? I didn’t know whether to add a little skip to my step or head for the aisle with “Just for Men”. I thought, Yeah let me count all the people that have ever said that to me, well there’s that one crazy guy at cub and… well I guess most people start counting with one.

Unlike the previous story, when people have been visiting Chris at “The Lodge” I frequently don’t have to introduce myself. Most say, “You must be Chris’ brother!”.  It always brings a smile to my face. During the past couple of years I have had the pleasure of sharing some pictures of my brother and our families with my students. My best responses have been, “Are you twins?”.

Which am I more flattered by? I think you know. Looking like my big brother is light years ahead of that Richard what’s his name!

If you asked people who Chris looked like? I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t say me. If you look in Chris’ eyes and hear his words he is looking, acting, and blessing others in so many ways! Maybe not physically but in numerous ways he is looking like his namesake Jesus Christ.  I can’t express with words how highly Chris values the time he gets to spend with each person he talks with. He will reach out and bless you. He will take time to brighten your day with his jokes and with his effort to find you peace!

I will leave you tonight with this thought a great friend of mine posted on my facebook today:

"Hey, I just want you to know that next to Jesus, your brother ranks right up 
there with one of the greatest men I have never met."

Maybe I will still have time to introduce them.

Love to All from Chris and his Family, (Dave)

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Who do you look like?

  1. Anonymous

    I have to agree with your brother Dave. Your smile and demeanor certainly show your likeness to our Lord. I just opened my book, Jesus Calling, to read my passage for the day and felt it to be appropriate to send to you:
    “Continue on this path with me, enjoying My presence even in adversity. I am always before you as well as alongside you. See Me beckoning to you: Come Follow Me. The One who goes ahead of you, opening up the way, is the same One who stays close and never lets go of your hand. I am not subject to limitations of time or space. I am everywhere at every time, ceaselessly working on your behalf. That is why your best efforts are trusting Me and living close to Me.”
    Continued love and prayers to you and your family.

  2. Michelle Bowman King

    Chris – I want you to know that there are many in Texas who are praying for you, Karen (Tiny) and the boys

    I Believe (Hillsong) http://bit.ly/i9z5ih – a song to encourage your heart!

    This morning the Lord woke me early to enjoy some time with him. He reminded me if His live and grace through this song:
    “Like an Avalanche” by Hillsong (video – bit.ly/f3iNYT)
    Part of the chorus – : i find myself here on my knees again;caught up in grace like an avalanche;nothing compares to this love burning in my heart

  3. vicki wifler

    Hi Chris and family, I couldn’t agree more with Dave’s comment about your likeness to Christ. And the thing is you continue to grow in that likeness with each pasing moment. Your care for others and the peace you so obviously have are just two ways you are so much like Him. If I can humbly add, you also remind me so much of my beloved Charlie. May God bless you on your journey of faith. Peace and love to you and your family. Vicki Wifler

  4. Beth Gould

    Again, I am lost for words. You have such charm, wit and grace. I hope you continue to get good rest. Thinking of you and praying for you and your family. Love and hugs!

  5. Melanie Ristow

    Hi Chris,
    I have been thinking and praying about you for weeks. You came across my mind and I just started praying. I have not been to Tuesday night church for a while because I have classes on Tuesdays right now. I heard the other day you were in hospice and Tina informed me of this website so I have been looking at it daily now.
    You are such a strong person and have encouraged so many people, the stories and the lists go on and on.
    I want you to know that you are loved by so many, (which you most likely already know). Your faith and your humor is amazing.
    So many would be angry at the stage you are at, but you just keep smiling and thinking of others first and lift your head to Jesus, that my friend, is something words can never describe. You have blessed so many, you are the epitemy of what Jesus taught us to be, Christ like.
    May you be blessed today! I am praying for you and for your family.
    Love,
    Melanie

    • Melanie Ristow

      I just discovered something.. All the times at church, I remember thinking you looked really familiar, but could never place it. I have a friend that asked me if you worked at proex at their corporate office, (when they had one), and I responded that I didn’t know, and told her about the blog and she confirmed that you had. It is indeed a small world.
      Blessings to you and your family. 🙂 Praying for you all!

  6. Tara

    I forgot to ask Chris something REALLY important to me…I know it sounds selfish but…please watch over me when you get there? I need all the help I can get!

    All my LOVE, peace, and happiness.

    Tara

  7. PAT

    someone YOU KNOW-A FRIEND,A NEIGHBOR,A LOVED ONE,A CO- WORKER,OR FAMILY MEMBER MAY BE HRUTHING,DOUBTING,WONDERING OR STRUGGLING. TELL THEM THAT YOU ARE PULLING & PRAYING FOR THEM AND THAT YOU BELIEVE IN THEM. TONIGHT!! NOT TOMORROW, CALL SOMEONE YOU CARE ABOUT. TELL THEM YOU WERE THINKING ABOUT THEM, ARRANGE A VISIT,enjoy the sun the moon, the stars,eat apopsicle feed the birds, most of all laugh,hug cry. why because you have one life as you have seen Chris live his one life to the very fullest ( a real miracle) yes Chris’s life & journey are a miracle!! He has has his face press right up against the glass of mortality!! Chris has grabbed every monent of his life here on this planet as if it were his last . YOU NEED TO DO THE SAME WITH YOUR PRECIOUS LIFE THE HOURS OR DAY OR WEEKS OR YEARS THAT ANY OF US HAVE LEFT SHOULD BE SPENT IN JOYOUS GRATITUDE FOR LIFE!! BE ASSURED THAT IS WHAT CHRIS DOES EVERY SECOND HERE WITH US & HEAVEN HELP ALL OF THOSE FOLKS IN HEAVEN WHEN HE COMES!!! THERE WILL NEVER BE A MINUTE NOT FILLED WITH HIS LAUGHTER OR FULLNESS OF SPRIT SETTING NEW HIGHS IN HEAVEN!! YOU NEED TO ALL DO THE SAME HERE ON THIS PLANET!!

  8. Vicki Starbeck

    God Morning to my Favorite God-Brother. I’m sitting here in sunny Diamond Bar, CA looking out my window to the most beautiful snow-covered mountain with the sun shining brightly on it. And I’m in my shorts and tank top. I think today this looks a lot like heaven. Only God could have made something this beautiful. And I also believe that God made you just as beautifully. You are so beautiful on the inside and the outside. You radiate that same beautiful sunshine to all of us. Thanks for sharing that part of you with all of us.
    Continued prayers for you to Chris and family. Blessings! Vicki

  9. Kathy Skubitz

    Chris,
    Your excellent spirit has not changed since we first worked together at Proex. You, of course, being my biggest success in the MIT program! It is wonderful to see all the photos of you, Karen and your family. How very lucky that you have so much love and caring around you…and it is clear you are enjoying every minute of it! I will pray for you morning and night that you have many more wonderful times with your loved ones. For me, I now retired and enjoying it very much as I have time to spend with my 3 grandsons, to travel and just do nothing sometimes. Please greet Karen for me.
    God bless you, and keep you,
    Kathy Skubitz

  10. Judi

    A couple of years ago my cousin’s daughter sent me an e-mail prayer request for the brother of one of her good freinds. That request was the beginning of me following Chris’ amazing journey. The strength of Chris and his family has been an amazing inspiration as I have dealat with the illness of my mother and her subsuquent death as well as dementia with my father and life for him in a nursing home.
    I continue to pray for Chris, Karen, the boys and other family memembers. Thanks for your blog that has allowed me to be part of your life and experiences.
    The originator of the prayer request is Deanne Ewert (knudson) from Bemidji. Bemidji is my home town, although I moved with my family at 2 years. I still have many relatives there and feel a strong connection.
    God Bless you all,
    Judi Hovde

  11. Hey Chris,

    It is so awesome that you’re getting all of these walks and talks in (both with your family & friends – and God). I’m sure your relish every second. The picnic sounds like it was great!

    I just wanted to say thank you again. Emma and I were talking the other night about plans and such and I realized how happy I am with where I am in life in general. I think a big part of that is because of the opportunities YOU gave me. So again, thank you so much!

    I’m glad we got to spend a little time together over the last month. I cherish our friendship and you were probably the best boss I ever had. I look forward to seeing you again one day.

    Cheers and love,
    Andrew

    PS – people used to tell me I look like Chevy Chase… I’m alright with that.

  12. Holly Merschman

    Hey again…I think it’s so cool when you just know that you know. I was having a conversation with my niece a few days ago about how awesome Jesus is and low and behold I was using your life for an example. So many people seem drawn to you, and me never having met you before, just reading your words and your life story am absolutely drawn…wanting more. People just feel Jesus with you chris. Holy cow that is so awesome. People would come from far away places just to be in the presence of our savior. To hear what he would say and be blessed by him. Chris, your life to me is truly a living testament of how God would like us living. Trusting solely in him, saying yes to Jesus by allowing his words to flow through us, loving our family and friends. So happy that you are having such quality time with your family and friends and am hoping that you are feeling as blessed by others as they are feeling by you. I pray that each minute of sleep you get tonight is multiplied by 10 and you are feeling rested when you wake. ~Holly

  13. Theresa Connelly

    Hi Chris!

    Thoughts, love and prayers to you! It was wonderful to see you last week. And it’s great to hear you are having good days, filled with family, friends and laughter.

    Since St. Patrick’s Day is coming up, I thought I would share a Traditional Irish Blessing…
    As plentiful as the grass that grows

    Or the sand on the shore

    Or the dew on the leaf

    So the blessings of the King of Grace

    On every soul that was, that is, or will ever be.

    Many Blessings to you Chris!
    Hugs, Theresa

  14. Laurel

    Hey boss 🙂
    Lalo gave me the link to your crazy blog here. I’m sad that I let time slip away and we all didn’t meet up for drinks more recently. I will never forget our time in the dark closet they called Proex customer service. Rinkey letting people know hey have a call on line 7-3-0, line 7-3-0 (or whatever it was). Lunches on Sat with David and Kathleen. Me getting in trouble the 1 time I ever went on the Internet and you had to have a talk with me. I also remember you deciding Brenden liked blondes when he was content on my lap when he came to visit.

    You always give such great advice. I will miss having the option of sending you a note on facebook and getting your wealth of knowledge and insight in return.

  15. Taisa Diedrich

    Dear Chris,
    This weekend I spent at Camp Amnicon in Superior, WI with my best friend. We rented a hermitage for our own, little, personal spiritual retreat. We took several walks to Lake Superior and spent a lot of time in the peace and quiet of her majestic beauty. I thought of you all weekend and sent blessings your way. I wanted you to know that you continue to be in my thoughts and prayers every day. I have debated with myself whether or not I should visit you as I want to respect this very special time with your family. I am hoping for a sign to tell me. For now, I hold you close in heart and soul and send you healing love and light…for you and your family.

    Taisa

  16. Vickie Van Kempen-Grieme

    Okay, does anyone else notice that 95% of his messages are from women. You know Chris you have a way with chics. You married the most beautiful women at Proex. Smoothe man Smoothe… I’m glad to hear that you are getting some wonderful family time with out of town relatives. You’re just and amazing person and praying for all… Love you and hugs to everyone.

  17. Auge's

    Chris,
    Your relationship with God is such a testimony that I have been sharing your walk with others. Your continued peace can only be from God himself.

    Jeff and I continue to pray for you and your family. You are touching so many people.

    Blessings
    Jeff and Cara

Leave a Reply

