Letters to Heaven

Good evening!   This is Karen doing this evening’s post as it is one that is very special to me.  Last week while my children were visiting their friend Leslie, she helped them with some special letters for their father.  They both did a beautiful job on these letters and I wanted to share them with everyone.  Jaxson’s is phonically spelled and is much cooler on paper in his handwriting, but I don’t know if everyone could understand it without translation.  I tried to keep it as close as possible, but did make some spelling corrections.  Here’s Jaxson’s letter (with the translation below), click on the photos to enlarge:

Jaxson's Letter

Dear Dad,

You are a grate Dad!  and I remember when you took me to Outback (steakhouse) and they have my favorite bread and they have rootbeer.  I know you will feel better in heaven and I will miss you so so much in heaven.  and I want you to know I love you in heaven.

Love, Jaxson

Here’s Brenden’s letter:

Brenden's Letter

To Dad, From Brenden

I love you Dad for playing good guys and bad guys with me.  Your the greatest dad ever!  I’ll miss you.

Love,  Brenden

They each gave them t0 Chris and said, “these are for you to take to heaven.”  So Chris has asked me to put the letters in his casket should he pass away.  There are pictures they both made to go with the letters.  Jaxson’s is on the backside of his letter:

Jaxson's Picture

The letters are so sincere and seem to simplify everything everyone else is thinking and feeling.  I just wanted to share them with everyone as I know the boys are in everyone’s thoughts right now.  I’m so proud of them.  The letters are hanging in Chris’s room if you visit him.

On another note, Chris had an okay day.  He was up quite a bit last night so he did sleep a lot today.  He did take a walk this afternoon.  Tonight he’s having some “mommy and me” time as his mother is on the night shift along with his step-father, Rick.

Have a wonderful evening,

Karen

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Letters to Heaven

  1. Randy

    Wow. What else is there to say. Thanks Karen.

  2. Gina

    Wow. Thank you for sharing. Hugs to all. gina

  3. Melanie Ristow

    Thank you Karen for sharing something so personal with us.
    They brought me to tears because no child should have to go through the pain that they are experiencing. I am praying for your entire family daily, sometimes hourly.
    You all are an inspiration to us all!
    Melanie

  4. Ernie and Carmen

    Chris, Karen and family – Thank you for sharing yourselves so openly with so many people. We appreciate being able to read your blog and see what is happening with you each day. You are dear to us and constantly in our thoughts and prayers. We may not be with you there, but I picture myself sitting on the bed next to you.
    Sending you lots of love and prayers for a restful night.
    Carmen & Ernie

  5. Jon & Cindy

    I have no words after reading the letters from your boys. Just want you to know that all of you continue to be in our prayers morning, noon & night(and several other times throughout the day). We were in Duluth today & our oldest called to update me on the blog – all 5 of our kids are praying, adding you to prayer chains & keeping updated. Your family is an inspiration on how to live for God in even the worst of times. Love in Christ – Jon & Cindy

  6. Taisa Diedrich

    Karen,
    It took such strength to share these letters with everyone out here. Of course I write this through tears now 🙂 I cannot imagine what you and your boys are going through, but what a beautiful glimpse into how they are processing this. May you all continue to have strength right now.

    Taisa Diedrich (I met Chris at a Get Your Rear in Gear planning dinner 2 years ago. He was so kind to me when my Mom was dying of colon cancer)

  7. Dave K

    Chris and Karen,
    Thank you for sharing these precious letters. You are an incredibly strong wife and mother, and I pray God will continue to give you strength in these difficult days. Chris, I want you to know I think of you almost every minute of the day. I wish I could come and take all your pain and sickness away, or at least share in the burden you bear. It just isn’t fair that you should suffer so much alone. I tell my kids about you every day,and they ask how you are doing when they see the tears in my eyes. I tell them how wonderful and true a friend you are. I only hope that they will be so fortunate as to find such a true friend as you. I love you and miss you my brother and my friend. Sleep well tonite and God Bless.
    Dave

  8. Bert & Sandy

    Our love to all of you. It is always amazing to see how Jesus uses the littleist of us to express what is sometimes so difficult for adults. Chris & Karen, you have raised two precious children. It was good to see you the other night Chris. God’s blessings on each of you. Love ya!

  9. Patty Winkels

    Karen and Chris,
    Thank you for sharing the letters, but better still thank you for sharing your love of God with your children and others. It is evident you are both very strong—- if one stops to think about it it is not surprising as we know where you draw your strength. Our prayers continue for your family.

  10. Caden Baty

    To Uncle Chris I ile see you in Heven. Can you read my pichr?

  11. April Bengston

    Thanks Karen! It is nice to see your writing on this BLOG too, I know you are not one to be on a computer much! We think of all of you often!

    Love you!
    April

  12. Tina

    Thank you for sharing Karen – it did simplify things and of course, made me cry. You are always in my thoughts and prayers – all of you.

    God bless always,

    Tina

  13. Dan

    Chris and karen, I want first to thank you both for all of the great memories. I have worked with both of you for along time. I have been both fortunate and honored to have taken your family portraits. Thank you for not only asking me to take them, but trusting me to do them. Each time was special then and even more special now.
    It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words. The picture that I have in my mind of your boys and the love they have for their father is worth 10 times that. I can not tell you how much I appreciate having this Blog to read. Please know that I think of all of you each and everyday many times. My prayer are with you.
    God Bless.
    The most treasured heirlooms are the sweet memories of family.

  14. Woolly Bear

    We are thinking about you and wish you peace.

    Andrew, James, Carter, Blake, Sebastian, Emma, Ezekiel and Sera

  15. Mrs. Joey Fritz

    This post touched my heart and soul. Today Jaxson was so bubbly in class and said “Hi Mrs. Fritz” as I walked by -such a precious son and a wonderful reflection of both of his parents. God’s peace be with you and you are all in my thoughts and prayers. Mrs. Fritz

  16. PAT

    KAREN & FAMILY ,
    MAY YOUR LITTLE MIRACLES (BRENDEN & JAXSON) CONTINUE TO BRING YOU PEACE & BLESSINGS HAS THEY HAVE SINCE THEY WERE BROUGHT INTO THIS WORLD THAT IS NOT SO PERFECT! oUR PRAYERS WILL CONTINUE TO SURROUND YOU ALL THOUGH OUT OUR LIVES! THEY AHVE INSPIRED US AS CHRIS & YOU HAVE TO STRIVE FOR A HIGHER LEVEL OF LOVE IN OUR OWN LIVES! BRENDEN & JAXSON, THANK YOU FOR YOUR STRONG EXAMPLE OF TRUE LOVE, STRENGTH & COURAGE!! YOU MAKE HOPE A WORLD THAT IS SO IMPERFECT & SOMETIMES CRUEL & TRAGIC !! WHAT A GIFT YOU HAVE GIVEN TO SO MANY ,MANY PEOPLE AT SUCH A YOUNGH AGE!!!

  17. Brad and Lisa

    Chris,

    I’m so glad we got to talk a few days ago! If only we could turn back the clock to 1111 Beltrami days. We think about you morning, noon, and night, and I’ve had many discussions with my boys about you and your family. You are SISU. Love you man.

    Brad and Lisa

  18. Kristine (Murphy) Ihrke

    Karen,
    You and Chris have done such an amazing job with your boys through this tough times. The love, sincerity, and realization of what will happen is very clear. You can teach all of us how to be better parents. Wishing you peace and smiles through the days to follow.
    Kris

  19. Nancy Wolf

    How touching, It brought me to tears. Thank you for sharing. God bless you all.

  20. Jackie

    Karen,
    I think of you and your family every day. Thank you for sharing the boys letters, they are so beautiful. I can only imagine what you and the boys are going through and and my heart aches for you all.

    Love,
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

