Flying with Angels

This is Karen doing the morning post.  This morning shortly after 6 a.m. Chris joined God in heaven.  He was surrounded by his family as he peacefully passed away.  It was a comfort to know that all the pain he has suffered over the past two and a half years was finally over.  I came home and had the impossibly painful job of telling my children that their father was no longer with us here on Earth.  I have tried to prepare them over the last few months, but it’s not something they can fathom until it happens.  We talked about Chris and how he was probably getting his angel wings and the angels were teaching him how to fly.  Now he will be a guardian Angel to us all, as he was when he was alive.   We will all miss him dearly.  I have heard a million diffferent Chris  stories in the past few weeks, and I’m sure you have your own.   Remember your favorite one, and send Chris up a smile.  That’s what he was always looking for from people-just a smile, something to make them happy. 

I want to send out many different thank yous for all the prayers, cards, donations, well wishes, texts, comments and just all the love and support that we have received over the past few years.  We are blessed to have that kind of support,  I know not everyone is so lucky.

Once we get all the funneral arrangements make,  we will post it on the blog.

God bless you all,  for we all feel the loss today.

Love,

Karen

57 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

57 responses to “Flying with Angels

  1. David & Michelle

    We will do that today. We love you guys! God Bless you all. Let us know if youneed anything.

    The Rinkeys

  2. Melissa Christenson

    Karen & Family,
    My heart goes out to all of you as you go through the new transition of your lives. Thank you for sharing Chris & the Blog stories with all of us! Prayers that you all heal as the time goes on….

    ~Melissa

  3. Tara

    I hope your journey was incredible Chris! As incredible as you. I’ll miss you.

  4. PAT

    Chis,
    We will not try to pul lyou back from this final journey for we know you are flyinG with all of the angels now TELL ALL OF THEM TO follow me for I know the way by heart. For I know you know the gates are open & you my dear ,dear friend WILL BE THE FIRST IN LINE TODAY!! line. SAVE A PLACE FOR ALL OF US !!
    CHEERS CHRIS

  5. Dan

    Karen, you and your boys will now truley have a Guardian Angel watching over you from Heaven. The last two and half years have been a rough journey but, one that Chris, you and your boy took hand in hand. I can not think of two parents that could have made this journey filled with more love then you and Chris had.
    I will try to take advice I once got from a dear friend, although it will be heard. That advice is, not to cry because it is over but, to smile because it happened.
    My heart gose out to all of us. We have watched God bring a great man home and for this we feel Peace and Love.
    Love, Dan

    P.S. Karen Remember Ears, Shoulders and Tears.

  6. Kelli

    Karen,
    My deep and sincere sympathy to you, your boys, and your family. Sharing your grief, and sending you prayers, friendship, and love until I am able to see you. I am so sorry.

  7. Debbie Dittrich

    Karena and Family
    I am so sorry for you loss. My prayers and thoughts go out to you all.
    May God bless and take care of you all!
    I am sure Chris will always be an angel looking down us all with that amazing smile of his.

    Debbie

  8. April Bengston

    Karen, Your words are so beautiful! I cannot imagine what you have been through! I am thinking of you always. ANYTHING you need, do not hesitate. Anything, anytime, anywhere, I am here for you my dear friend!

    Love, April

  9. Kristine (Murphy) Ihrke

    Chris and I send our heartfelt sympathy to you. You have been an amazing strength to all around, but I hope you remember there a lot of strong shoulder to lean on when you need to. Blessings and prayers to you, your boys, and all those that knew and loved Chris.
    Chris and Kristine Ihrke

  10. Taisa Diedrich

    Karen & boys,
    I am saddened by this news but happy for Chris. That he is no longer in pain. Sad for you all as you prepare for the next steps in this journey. As cliche as this sounds, time does heal. After reading all the comments on the blog it is obvious that you are surrounded by so many people who love and support you. As difficult as the next steps will be, I know in my heart of hearts that Chris will be with you….lifting you up, pouring his love down upon you and smiling down upon you.

    May you find some quiet time for yourselves in the days to come to remember, to grieve, to laugh, to cry and to simply breathe life in.

    Taisa Diedrich

  11. Know that your family are in my thoughts and prayers

  12. Roxanne and Brad

    Karen~
    Although I do not know you personally, I want to thank you for continuing to share your journey with us. It allowed us to feel a lost connection to our friend from high school. Please tell Rhonda, who is a classmate of mine, our prayers continue to the family. You are absolutely correct when you say your guardian angel will watch over you. He was a strong man and will continue to be a strong spirit.
    With all the love and prayers,
    Roxanne and Brad Schmidt

  13. Debbie & Bryan Engblom

    Karen, boys and entire family – We are so very sorry for you and exceptionally grateful for knowing Chris. His love and desire for Christ is remarkable. The way Chris was able to communicate his love and faith in Christ, may make things just a little easier to move forward without his daily presence. He will forever be with you in your hearts, your memories, the boy’s smiles. God bless you all.

  14. Michelle Powers

    Karen and family –
    You do not know me at all. I am a former co-worker of Rhonda’s and I began following your journey on-line as soon as I heard about her brother. Even though I never knew Chris, I have read about him on this blog and I’ve read all the comments made by people who know him well. You can learn so much about a person’s character reading what they write and what other people write about them. From that, I have discovered that Chris was truly an amazing person. I just wanted you to know that even strangers far away have been touched by him and by your family and you and your boys will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers over the next few days and months.

  15. Anonymous

    Take care of yourself Karen and let others be the strong one once in a while. We’ll miss him.

  16. Kris Hoff

    Karen & family – We are so sorry for your loss. Thank you for allowing us to be part of Chris’s journey. You are in our thoughts and prayers.
    Love Jeff, Kris, James & Andrew Hoff

  17. Jackie Hicks

    Karen,
    I am at a loss for words, but please know that you and your boys and in my thoughts and prayers. I know that Chris will be missed by so many as I read all of the beautiful messages on this blog. I miss you and if there is anything I can do for you please let me know.
    Love always,
    Jackie

  18. Paula

    Karen and family,
    I wish I had words to express my sadness. Heaven has a new angel.
    You know you’ll have a guardian angel watching over you.
    Paula

  19. Vickie Van Kempen-Grieme

    Karen and family, Peace is blessed upon you today and everyday moving forward. Chris is safe now and will bestow upon us the love that he radiates daily within our hearts. I’m always here 651-528-9788….

  20. Heather Tidd

    Kared, boys and family,
    We are thinking of you all…you are all so strong and have an amazing angel watching over you now.
    Prayers,
    The Tidd Family

  21. Jaclyn

    Dear, everyone im very sorry that Chris is no longer with us. but he’s an Angel now and isn’t suffering any longer and is watching or us all!!
    Love Jaclyn!

  22. Michael Manor

    Karen and boys – Our love and prayers are with you and your family in this time of sadness. Be assured that Chris is now in the loving hands of his Father in Heaven and looking down at his wonderful family. May he rest in peace with the Lord.
    The Manors

  23. Nancy wolf

    I’m so sorry. You are incredible and hugs to all. I just wish comfort for you all. Chris will guide you and your family from heaven. God bless you.

  24. Matt Phelps

    You are a strong soul Karen! God Bless you, your children, and the whole family! My heart goes out to you all. God Bless you my brother Chris, thank you for being you and taking care of us!

    Matt

  25. Becky Shade

    Thinking of you like always. I am here for you!

  26. Joan Takata

    Karen and family, our thoughts are with you during this difficult time. Chris will be with you and in your hearts forever.

  27. Miriam Ring

    Karen, boys and family,
    My deepest sympathy to you all. Thank you for allowing Chris to share his journey with us, we grieve his death, but rejoice in the promise of the resurrection! God’s peace be with you! You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Miriam

  28. Janice Ammerman

    My thoughts and prayers are with you, Karen, Jaxon, Brenden and all the other family members! Just keep remembering Chris is with Jesus now with no more pain!
    Karen take care, its okay to let others help you. You need you rest, to keep up your strength for those boys!
    Love from Nebraska
    cousin Janice

  29. Kris Buche

    Karen & Boys ~ I am thinking of you with deepest sympathy and heartfelt understanding….
    Love ones live on
    in words they said,
    in lives they touched,
    and in the happiness we feel
    every time we remember them.

    Chris’ legacy will live on through each of you! Hugs!

    Kris

  30. Cindy Beaver

    I am so sorry to hear this news and yet relieved for Chris that his pain is finally over. My thoughts and prayers are with you and the family in this time of loss. I hope you find comfort and consolation in the love and fellowship that surrounds you.

    I am looking forward to having Brenden come over again soon when you’re ready to go to Tae Kwon Do again. This is an open, unending invitation!

    Please let me know if there’s anything that I can do to help.
    -Cindy

  31. Our prayers are with you at this difficult time. We will continue to hold your family up in the coming days and weeks. Carmen & Ernie

  32. Shawna

    My heart hurts for Karen and boys and for your family and, although I did not know Chris, or your family, I know what an incredible man he must have been through following this blog. And what an incredible family and support system he had through all of this.
    May God wrap his arms around you.

  33. Mickey

    Karen and Family
    I looked up this morning and smiled at my new angel…. I feel so much at peace for Chris. I truly know how you are feeling, I was there a few years ago. Cry when ever where ever helps alot. Your going to be strong for the boys, but don’t forget about you.
    Mickey

  34. Karen,
    Our love & prayers go out to you & your whole family. Please feel free to let us know if you need anything. (Mom wants you to feel free to call 952-891-8253, even if it is just to talk) . We are here for you how ever you need us.
    Our love & prayers go out to you all.
    Cheri & family

  35. Anne (Roberts) Wallman

    Thank you for being such an encouragement to me with this blog. There is ALWAYS good that comes from trials and tears. ‘When peace like a river, attendeth my way, when sorrows like sea billows roll..whatever my lot, thou has taught me to say, ‘it is well, it is well with my soul’..
    You have a great support system and we are all praying for you during this time..

  36. Mary & Jeff

    We are so very saddened to hear about Chris. Words cannot express how deeply sorry we are for the loss of your amazing husband. He was a true light on this earth – always friendly and happy – a true loss to all that knew him. Jaxson and Brenden were so blessed to have him as their father. Know we are praying for all of you during this very painful time.

  37. Suzy

    Karen-

    My heart goes out to you. I will miss Chris dearly and I know you have been blessed with a love no-one is lucky enough to have. God bless you and the family. If you need anything please call me.

    Suzy Welch

  38. Jim, Kimberly & Nicholas Callens

    We extend our deepest sympathy for Karen, Brenden, Jaxon & all your family. May you find the strength from our Heavenly Father to guide you all through at this difficult time. Let your memories & love for Chris fill your hearts & mind. Strength & Peace to you all. God Bless.

    Just have to share this song by Celine Dion. So fitting for Chris Flying with Angels.

    “Fly”
    Fly, fly little wing
    Fly beyond imagining
    The softest cloud, the whitest dove
    Upon the wind of heaven’s love
    Past the planets and the stars
    Leave this lonely world of ours
    Escape the sorrow and the pain
    And fly again
    Fly, fly precious one
    Your endless journey has begun
    Take your gentle happiness
    Far to beautiful for this
    Cross over to the other shore
    There is peace forevermore
    But hold this memory bittersweet
    Until we meet
    Fly, fly do not fear
    Don’t waste a breath, don’t shed a tear
    Your heart is pure, your soul is free
    Be on your way, don’t wait for me
    Above the universe you’ll climb
    On beyond the hands of time
    The moon will rise, the sun will set
    But I won’t forget
    Fly, fly little wing
    Fly where only angels sing
    Fly away, the time is right
    Go now, find the light………….

  39. Beth Gould

    I am praying for Karen and the boys and everyone that was touched by Chris. I am so glad he is no longer in pain and has started his new adventure. So much love to you and your family.

  40. Julie Stratton

    Hi Karen – My heart truly goes out to you and your boys. I am sure today has not been an easy day regardless of the time you have had to prepare. I know that in the days, months and years that pass you will never forget the strength and love that Chris showed to you and your children. Hang on to all those wonderful memories- Love You Aunt Julie and Uncle Dennis

  41. anonymous

    “I know for certain that we never lose the people we love, even to death. They continue to participate in every act, thought and decision we make. Their love leaves an indelible imprint in our memories. We find comfort in knowing that our lives have been enriched by having shared their love.” – Leo Buscaglia

  42. Shellie Gebhard

    Karen~ you, the boys, and your families are in my thoughts. I am so sorry.
    Shellie

  43. Aunt Val & Eli

    Dear Karen, Our hearts go out to you, Brenden, Jaxon and the rest of the family. You are always in our thoughts and prayers. We miss Chris on earth with us, but I’m sure there was quite a family reunion in heaven and in God’s timing we will also join that reunion. But until then we will take care of each other and enjoy our memories.
    Love & Hugs,
    Aunt Val & Eli

  44. Shari Och

    Karen,
    My deepest sympathy to you and your family. Lifting all of you up in heartfelt prayers,
    Shari
    Psalm 16:5–Lord, you alone are my inheritance, my cup of blessing.

  45. Kevin & Paula Clark

    Well done good and faithful servant
    Your time on earth is done
    You were so young and full of life
    Giving so much to so many
    Never asking anying for yourself
    We all love you so much
    Wanting to always be there for you
    You were always treating people that needed you the most
    Making sure to treat them all as your equal
    Always talking your time with each person
    You were always driven to succeed
    Always willing to go the extra mile
    Never afraid of denile
    Now God has called you home
    Saying “Well done good and faithful servant”

  46. Jill (Strecker) Moosbrugger

    I have been so touched by your family’s story through this blog. The stories that you have shared have painted such an inspirational story for all of us. Chris truly lived a life that was in the image of God. I can only imagine how many lives he has impacted with his faith. I will continue to keep you and your families in my thoughts and prayers as you begin your life without this amazing man. God Bless you all.

  47. Deb (Oslund) Waggoner

    Karen and family –
    My thoughts and prayers are with you today. I have followed this blog throughout Chris’ fight and have been amazed by his courage and devotion. I wish I would have had the chance to know him. What a remarkable man. May the memory of his love see you through this difficult time. God bless you all.
    Deb (Oslund) Waggoner

  48. Jen

    Karen, my heart is very heavy for you, your boys and your family. May God bless and keep you, and your guardian angel surround you all with his strength for he is healed. Peace and love.

  49. Ellen (Van Vranken) Miller

    Chris was a good friend in high school, and I see that he became a remarkable man. When the light of Jesus Christ shines through you inspite of your troubles you are living right. In reading this blog I see His light through your lives. What a blessing these past few years have been for those who shared your journey. Our loss is heaven’s gain.
    I pray for peace for your family.
    Ellen (Van Vranken) Miller

  50. Dave, Maria, and Family

    Karen,
    Our deepest sympathy for you, and the entire family. We will all miss Chris dearly. He was a wonderful man, father, and friend, and the fond memories he leaves with us we will cherish forever.
    Keeping you in our thoughts and prayers.
    The Klinsmann Family
    Dave, Maria, Andrea, Sarah, Daniel, and Matthew

  51. Elissa Schley

    Karen,
    Your words are so touching and you seem to have so much strength. I don’t know you or your family, as I am connected through Stan-Chris’s uncle. I have been following the blog. There is a sigh of relief for you and your family as Chris is no longer suffering and is at peace. May you find comfort in all those around you. You and your boys are in my thoughts daily and will continue to be.
    God bless you all,
    Elissa, Justin, Isabel and Ian Schley

  52. Connie (Streier) Larson

    I’m not sure what the weather was like in the Cities Tuesday, but here on the Iron Range, it was gloomy and gray in the morning, rainy at noon, and then clear and sunny in the evening.
    When I heard the news about Chris, it made me think…
    I imagine that when you get to heaven you have to go through long lines like at an airport. In the morning, when he first started his journey, it was gray and gloomy and uncertain. By noon, he was telling jokes and moving along in line and had the angels/security guards laughing so hard they were crying (rain). By later afternoon, he was through to his destination and things were bright and sunny. He was practicing his new angel skills and shining down upon us!
    Rest in Peace, Chris.
    My thoughts and prayers go out to the whole family and everyone who knew him. He was one special guy and will be missed. I’ll think of his sunny disposition often.

    -Connie (Chris’s 2nd or 3rd cousin – our mothers are 1st cousins)

  53. Amy Rondeau

    Karen and family,
    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Chris was a great guy and will be missed! My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family during this hard time.

    God bless!!
    Amy Rondeau

  54. Pamela

    Karen,
    There are no words to say that can ease your pain (your pain is unique), so I won’t try.
    Bless you and the boys.

    Chris,
    You told me you wanted to go to heaven, guess what my friend, you have your wish. I know my mother has introduced herself and I am sure many more are with you. Until we meet again my dear friend….

    Love and miss you,
    Pam

  55. Anonymous

    Karen and family, I’m so sorry for your loss. From following this blog, I’m so impressed by the strength of your family. I went to youth group with Chris in the late 80s and I am grateful to have known him. May God continue to be with your family.

    Jon Opsal

  56. Anonymous

    I can’t believe we are coming up on a year since Chris left us. My heart still aches but I am so glad to have gotten to know you and your amazing boys. As you continue to heal and share your amazing journey with us, please know you and the guys continue to be in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

