Speeding Along

Hello to all! Sorry it’s been a while. With Brenden playing soccer and Jaxson doing soccer and karate, it’s been pretty crazy. Added to all that, we did a birthday party last weekend(Jaxson turns 7 on Memorial weekend) and did the Get your Rear in Gear 5k on Sunday. A big thanks to all those who came out to the walk/run. Especially those Baty Sisu shirt wearing members! Brenden told me he wants to run it next year. We may do the shirts again-put Chris’s name on the back. It’s been a tough week for us-the race brought back a lot of memories. Jaxson’s birthday is another big one. It’s the events like those where Chris’s absence is really felt. Yesterday, I decided the kids and I just needed a reality break. I picked them up from daycare and we went to a movie and did dinner. It was much needed for all of us.
My cute story for the week-Back Seat Drivin’ Brenden! I was driving the kids around and Brenden was constantly telling me what the speed limit was. At the time it was 55. Suddenly, he yells, “Oh my gosh, your going 60 miles an hour!” And he kept yelling at me everytime I so much as went 1 mile over. I told him I can’t wait until he starts driving, I’m going to constantly tell him how fast he’s going. It also reminded me I need to slow down in life a little too. I’ve gotten so busy doing things, I haven’t enjoyed just living in the moment lately. That’s my focus for the next few days, just enjoy!
I hope everyone has a good Memorial weekend. I was notified yesterday that Chris’s marker is now in place. He’s buried in the Walnut section if you wish to visit. I told the boys we were going soon, but not this weekend(not so fun for Jaxson’s birthday). We’ll be going in the next couple of weeks. If you have called, I’m sorry I have not contacted you. I have a list of people I need to call. I’ll try to get back to you soon.
Peace to all!
Love,
Karen

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Speeding Along

  1. Alicia Hunt-Welch

    Slow down, relax and enjoy – we all could do a little more of this.
    Have a great weekend Karen! Here’s hoping for some sun and heat this weekend….to help us better appreciate it all 🙂
    Take care,
    Lisa

  2. Kelli

    Thanks Karen for your post as we are are always wondering how you are doing. Sounds like a cool day to pick up the kids early from daycare and be in the moment with them. I hope you can have many more of those in the near future. Wish we could all take pieces of your pain away, especially during those special family times. It’s a helpless feeling for us knowing that you are going through this painful process that only you alone can go through. I hope you still know how much we think of you and care for you.

  3. Jeannie G

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAXSON!!!!

    I hope you all have a long, fun, birthday- celebrating weekend.

Leave a Reply

