Mountain Time

Good evening to you all! Sorry, the posts have been fewer and further between. My family and I just returned from a trip to Colorado. A very wonderful friend of mine and his family lent us their condo for a week in Vail. My parents and I drove out with my children and my sisters and thier families flew out. I don’t think even I understood how much I needed a break, to get away from everything for a while. Not that I did much sitting around for sure. Colorado is one of my favorite places to be. I love hiking in the mountains and enjoying the beautiful landscapes. My kids had never been to the mountains, so it was a new experience for them. I beleive Brenden’s reaction to seeing the mountains was, “Holy Smokes!”
They were entertained with swimming, bike rides, hikes, mini golf, bumper boats, trampolines, and go-carts. They both really enjoyed the gondola. It was nice for me to see them with such big smiles on their faces and watch them stare at the mountains in awesome wonder.
I told them the story about how their dad and I had almost moved to Colrado before they were born. I also reminded them that I proposed to their father on a chairlift in Colorado. They thought my proposal was pretty funny. All in all we had a great time.
But of course now we are back and the house needs cleaning, we need to get groceries, I need to go back to work-reality is back. I miss the mountains, the cooler-less humid air, whitewater rafting, and hiking up the mountain every day. Brenden did some serious hiking with us, and of course, never seemed to tire at all.
Thank you to all who helped out with our vacation-dog sitters, lawn mowers, and condo lenders. I couldn’t have done it without you.

I wish everyone a great week! I hope your all enjoying the summer for it’s going to be over before you know it.

Love and prayers,
Karen

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Mountain Time

  1. Dan

    Trips and time with your family are memories you will have forever. My brother and sisters still to this day will laugh and cry about our family trips to Wisconsin Dells and St. Louis. Your boys will have these times with grandma, grandpa, aunts, uncles and a cute little cousin for ever. Not to mention the memories the adults will have. I have to agree the mountains in Collorado are so beautiful, I plan to go back and do some hiking and take photos. It is nice to see you on the blog again. I think I speak for everyone that you time with you boys in very precious and we will wait for another post. You and your boys will be in my thoughts and prayers. Take care, Love Dan

  2. Val Hietala

    I’m happy to hear that you had a great family vacation :). You are in my thoughts and prayers. Love, Val

  3. cherilarkin@skyline.com

    Awesome, sounds like you guys had a perfect time. And a well deserved vacation. I hope that you guys have a great weekend. Mom sends her love to you & the boys. We keep you in our thoughts, prayers & hearts always.
    Cheri

  4. Paula Pilrose

    Dear Karen,
    Chris may have saved a life today. A co-worker got her colonoscopy last week and had 4 polyps removed. She got her results yesterday and one of them was pre-cancerous. Yes, her dad died from colon cancer, but he was 70. Chris was not. With the memory of him near, she had that unpleasant test – at age 42. Had she waited until the generally recommended age 50, it may have been too late.
    God bless you and the boys. You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Paula

  5. Anonymous

    Matt Hawkins is in town!
    Tuesday, August 30 · 6:00pm – 10:00pm
    Location
    Kelley Park
    6855 Fortino St.
    Created By
    Stephanie Ybarra
    More Info
    If I have forgotten any one or you know someone who would like to come PLEASE spread the word! I picked a park but if one of you want to have it at your house by all means we can do that too! Kids are welcome. Also if any of you have Karen’s info please invite her and the boys.

    I hope you ALL can make it as I really want to see all your faces and perhaps hump your leg : )

Leave a Reply

