Connections

Hello to all! I know, two posts within one week-insane! But alot going on in our world right now. Today marks six months since Chris passed away… half a year. As I’ve said before, at times it seems like yesterday, yet a lifetime ago. I beleive it’s because my life has been so dramatically altered since he died-nothing’s the same. I live differently, I look at things differently and I’m not the same person I was a year ago. I try so hard to be both mom and dad to my children, and succeed at times…fail miserably at others. My children have recently been asking more about their father again-what he looked like at their age, how many states in America he had been to, what sports he played growing up, & things he enjoyed as a child. They are looking for them similarites and diferences between Chris, their brother and their mother. They seem so happy when something they enjoy is something that Chris liked–they’re looking for connections. I hope this continues as they have not talked about him alot until recently.
Last Sunday was a tough day for us. September 11th was dificult to explain to my children as they don’t understand why anyone would want to fly a plane into a builing and die doing it. They don’t understand terrorism, nor do I want to scare them, but they need some background on that horrible day. We watched some of the ceremonies, and I tried my best to explain to them what happened without confusing them. I think they finally started to grasp the scope of it when some children were saying the names and then started saying how they missed their father and would never forget him. Brenden and Jaxson looked at me and asked, “Their dad died?” I told them, “Yes, about 3000 kids lost their parents that day.” They made that connection–they can understand what it’s like to lose your father. Then I decided we had enough for the morning and went to the zoo for a while.
We’ve got a few more tough days coming as my wedding anniversary is Sept. 18th. We would have been married for 12 years.
On a happy note, they kids have had a good start to the school year. They seem to enjoy their classes so far. I hope everyone has a great weekend-last official weekend of summer!
Love and Prayers,
Karen

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Connections

  1. Jeanie Johnson

    Just know the boys are so lucky to have you as their mom. We all fail at times so don’t beat yourself up. Tell the boys their dad was “the cream of the crop” in Bemidji. No better boy/man was there then their dad!!! The boys have their dad’s genes so they can grow up to be as wonderful a man as their dad. Hope that makes them smile. Keep on Keeping on. And when you get tired just lay in bed and rest in the arms of your heavenly father. You are one amazing lady. God’s peace to you. Jeanie from Bemidji. (Gina’s mom)

  2. Dan

    Karen, you and I talk just about everyday and we share stories about lives and our families. The other day I was thinkng about Chris, you and your boys. I remembered a song that touches my heart. It is a song called “Song For Dad” it is by Keith Urban. For me the song hits home because their are things I do that my dad had done. Your boys can help being like their father. which is not a bad thing. I bet over the years both of your boys will do things and say things that will remind you of Chris.
    I have seen you be both mother and father, are you are doing your best. Karen, your best is GREAT! Your boys are lucky have both you and Chris for parents.
    BIG HUG!

  3. Jeannie G

    Karen, thanks for posting and letting us know how you’re doing. Sounds like this is a tough season for all of you. I’ve been downsized from Pictura as of August 10th, which for some reason makes me think about and miss Chris more than ever. I think about you and the boys a lot too, and I pray that the boys grow up knowing their dad was a REALLY special man who loved them so much and is watching over them. Fortunately they have a mom who puts them first and will help them remember and stay connected.
    Hang in there, take it one day at a time, and if you ever need anything please give a call. God bless all of you and give you strength and peace!

  4. Mary Nelson

    Hi Karen,
    You and your beautiful boys are in my prayers today. I know it is Chris’s birthday, We all miss him at Pray for the Cure, but the profound influence he had on the group and many who attended lives on. Please let me know if I can do anything, or if Hosanna! can do anything as you continue on this journey. Bless you, Pastor Mary

Leave a Reply

