Happy Birthday

For those of you who may not know, today is Chris’s birthday. He would have been 43. Chris made a request to his two sons that for his birthday, we visit him at the cemetery and then go to Outback Steakhouse for dinner. Brenden, Jaxson and I did that last night. I took the boys to the North Shore this past weekend to have some down time. Chris loved to go up there at all different times of the year. My sisters and their families joined us. We had beautiful weather and did some fun activities. We did a lot of hiking, some shopping, went down the alpine slide, the boys and their uncles did a lot of football playing, and of course the boys went swimming. We also hit the beach and searched for some agates. It was a great weekend and the colors were stunning. When we got back yesterday, we decided to go to the cemetery. As always, it’s so emotionally draining for me. I think it was the hardest trip for the boys as now they’re starting to understand what’s missing in their life and how Dad is really gone and not coming back. I brought flowers and instead of just placing them by the headstone, Jaxson broke the bouquet apart and put the flowers around the outline in the grass where the casket was put into the ground. I asked what he was doing and he said “surrounding Daddy in the flowers.” It was very touching, yet heartbreaking. Another shot to my heart was seeing Brenden cry. He hasn’t at the cemetery since the funneral, but did yesterday. It’s so hard to watch them mourn their father and wishing I could just take away their pain. We went to Outback afterwards, and Jaxson at too much bread and rootbeer.
Tonight, we went for a walk and were treated to a beautiful sunset. We decided that God gave Chris that sunset to share with us on his birthday. Brenden made the comment, “Dad was a really nice guy, otherwise God wouldn’t have given Dad that beautiful sunset for his birthday.” What great kids I have!
I hope you are all having a wonderful fall. I’m trying to get the kids outside as much as possible with the warmer weather. School is in full swing, although Jaxson has missed more than his share with different sicknesses. Send Chris up a “Happy Birthday!” tonight. I’m sure we’re all thinking about him on this day!

LOL,
Karen, Brenden and Jaxson

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Happy Birthday

  1. Dan

    Thanks you Karen.
    Happy Brithday Chris.

  2. Chuck and Dianne

    Happy birthday Chris. We miss you

  3. Miriam

    Thinking of you and the boys today, Karen, and sending prayers your way. Thank you for continuing to share on this site. God bless you as you continue to grieve Chris’ loss with your boys. They were blessed to have Chris as a father, and they are equally blessed to have you for a mother!!!

  4. Todd Welch

    Not a day goes by that I don’t think about Chris and your family. I was thinking nearly the same thing about the beautiful day; that Chris is giving that to us as a gift.

  5. Suzy welch

    Chris is always in my prayers and thoughts as well as you and the boys. I shared memories of him yesterday while I was at work.

    I think about u and the boys often. Thank u fir letting us know how your doing. I find myself crying at times reading your posts. Hugs to you and the boys.

    God bless

  6. Jeannie G

    I thought about Chris throughout the day yesterday, and sent up a happy birthday wish to him. I remember last year we made a big deal of his birthday at work. It seems unreal that it’s been a year since then, and even more unreal that he’s not here for this birthday. I’m so sad for you and the boys Karen. I’m sure you’re doing a great job of supporting them through all of this. I miss him so much, but I do believe he’s in heaven and we’ll all meet again someday. God bless you, the boys, and all the family and friends who are missing him.

  7. Paula

    I too thought of Chris on Tuesday – and like Jeannie, remembered how we made it a big deal last year. All of us at Pictura sent up a “Happy Birthday” to Chris – we still feel his presence very much in our halls.
    God bless you and the kids and your family.

  8. Val Hietala

    Chris was in my thoughts all day on Tuesday, along with you, Brenden and Jaxson. I’m sure he was looking down on you and your little guys as you celebrated his Birthday. You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    God Bless You all!

  9. Patty

    Hi Karen,
    I always feel drawn to the blog to check in on you and the boys and feel after the recent post I need to at least respond. It is no wonder that Chris put up a heck of a fight and that you are mourning him so…..true love that the two of you had is not always found by everyone. You are an amazing woman and are doing a fabulous job in raising your sons. Chris was definitely shining down on you and and most likely had something to do with the glorious sunset.
    With love and prayers,
    Patty

  10. Kent and Joy

    Thank You for the update Karen. Hope this finds you and the boys doing well. Hope you had a great birthday Chris! We miss you too.
    Love to your whole family,
    Kent and Joy

  11. Theresa Connelly

    Thank you for sharing part of your lives with us Karen. You have such a special family and it is heartbreaking and heartwarming to hear how you are all coping. I know Chris would be so proud of you guys. I saw the heads up on his Birthday on Facebook and knew that he was probably having his own celebration in Heaven, while he continues to watch over everyone – especially you and the boys. Happy Birthday Chris and many happy days ahead to you and the boys!
    God Bless,
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

