Changes

Hello to everyone! Happy MEA for those of you in Minnesota. My kids were bored by noon today, so it was time for them to start fighting. Fun for all! We have had a tough month. Fall was always Chris’s favorite time and we have a lot of memories we’re dealing with. We’ve had an emotional month with Chris’s birthday-it hit us all hard. I’ve had many emails and phone calls letting me know that people are thinking of him or missing him. It’s comforting to hear that I’m not the only one. After 7 months, we are still adjusting to life without him. It’s alot of changes to go through. I also quit my job after 19 years at Proex. It was time to do something that I could spend more time with my boys and not be working as many weekends.
So, we are going through many changes and still trying to cope with our loss. I’ve had people who have lost loved ones recently asking me when does the pain get better? I always begin my reply with, “It’s different for everyone.” It’s not a question I can really answer, just that with me, it goes in waves. I’ll be fine for a while, and then WHAM! Something will trigger the grief. It seems that way for my kids, too. But they are young and don’t have as many memories and younger kids live more in the moment-not as much in the past or future. I find myself wondering what Chris would think about different decisions I make. But he’s not here, so I hope he would approve of how I’m handling everything. I’m just trying to do my best.
I hope everyone has a great weekend. I heard it’s suppose to be nice, at least here in Minnesota. Best enjoy it before it gets too cold!For those of you not counting yet, it’s 65 days until Christmas!(Brenden’s birthday is the week before, so my household has been counting down for a while now!)

Love and prayers,
Karen

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Changes

  1. Kelli Lish

    Not only would Chris approve of how you are handeling everything he would be (and is) RIDICULOUSLY proud of you. I hope your new job is going well and that you are enjoying your job-free weekends. Love and prayers back at ya!

  2. Karen-
    You are truly an amazing woman. You are an inspiration to me-I respect and admire you, and enjoy reading your updates.

    Wishing the best for you & your boys!

    -Michelle

  3. Cheryl Stainer

    Obviously I only got to know Chris through his posts. There were a couple of times I remember him being in absolute awe in your ability to keep going no matter the situation. I know he would be proud of you and the boys. I know that he did not wish for you to have to make these decisions on your own. I’m praying that God would guide your every step and that you would feel that you could breath a little easier and find a little more peace.

    Cheryl

  4. Randy & Kelli

    Hey Karen and boys! I’m sitting in my deerstand missing Chris and hoping you guys are coping. It sounds like your doing a phenomenal job!

    I just wanted to let Darrell and Dave know I’m thinking about them during deer season–I’m sure it’s been strange and difficult to not have him at deer camp. I remember him coming up before opener to hang out. A couple times we went to Bemidji’s sporting goods store and eating the hunter’s chili. He made it to Bemidji one season to see Allie the day after she was born before heading back south to deer camp

    Randy.

Leave a Reply

